This card can attack your opponent directly. When
this card is sent to the Graveyard, you can Special
Summon 1 "Jinzo" from your Graveyard. Destroy it
during your End Phase.
Ratings are based on a 1 to 5 scale
1 being the worst.
3 is average.
5 is the highest rating.
Date Reviewed - 05.13.08
Today we look at Jinzo-Returner,
an interesting card that really doesn't strike me as
all that good, but let's take a look at that.We have a Level 3 monster, who is Dark and a
Machine, which makes sense, and has 600 atk and 1400
def...and can attack your opponent directly.
That, in itself, doesn't warrant
playing this card...except maybe in something like
Weenie Rush or Clown Control.However, when this card is sent to the
Graveyard, regardless of the manner, or whether from
Hand, Field, or Deck, you can Special Summon a Jinzo.
Now, we might have a worthwhile
card after all.Wait...however, Jinzo can only be Special
Summoned from your Graveyard, and is destroyed
during the End Phase.Jinzo can be used x3 right now, so in a Jinzo
Lockdown/Control, this could be useful.
Advanced:3/5Jinzo should be used more than he is, and
does have some potential.
Tuesday: Jinzo - Returner
I haven't seen a direct attacker in a while.
Though if you're playing this, you're obviously not
doing it for the direct attacking effect.
Jinzo's been seeing play off and on lately; the only
other time I can think of a Jinzo hitting the field
and not surviving past the end phase due to an
effect is when you Return it with a bunch of other
monsters -- with that trick pretty much neutered
with Return at 1 per deck and Dimension Fusion
banned, there need to be other ways to force him to
The good news is that no matter HOW the Returner
hits the Graveyard (assuming it doesn't miss the
timing), you can get back a Jinzo. The bad
news is that it's still gone at the end of the turn,
so you'd best make very good use of the one turn you
have it on the field.
I don't see any huge combos with this right off.
Maybe I'm missing something here?
Well, I am not thrilled about the new Jinzo
monsters. This is the better of the two, as it will
Special Summon a Jinzo from the grave when sent to
the graveyard. Just like Sangan, any time it leaves
the field you can claim it's effect, but from the
wording as well (don't quote me on this) you get it
whenever it is sent to the graveyard. As in a
discard or sent from the deck to the graveyard. An
aggro Phoenix Wing Wind Blast discarding this guy
and claiming you a Jinzo is just insane.
I guess if you are running Jinzo heavy in the new
format, this guy is for you. The combos are great,
and he can even attack an opponent directly to boot.
His stats however, would make the original Jinzo
blush with shame. 1400 DEF and 600 ATK are not the
makings of an aggro beast. If someone can make him
work, please do. I just don't really see the use.
Jinzo - Returner
Well I decided to crawl out of my
little hole in the ground to review a card I
Jinzo - Returner is a card that
simple makes Jinzo decks. It’s a Dark (yay) 600/1400
Machine that if played right, will never have to hit
the field. You see, Jinzo Returner’s effect is great
just because it never has to hit the field. As I
understand, you can Foolish Burial this guy to bring
Jinzo back. As long as I’m understand that
correctly, that’s awesome.
Granted not nearly as many traps
are played today, since they’re considered slow
compared to Spell Draw cards (IE: Destiny Draw,
Allure of Darkness, Trade In). However, prevent your
opponent from Dark Bribing pretty anything you have
is just lovely. It also puts a hurtin’ on decks
running multiple copies of Reckless Greed.
All in all, Jinzo - Returner is
just the bee’s knees when it comes to Jinzo decks.
Utilize it with Monster Gate/Reasoning and Foolish
Burial for a simply lovely Jinzo swarm. I hope to
see Jinzo decks taking SJC's and Regionals all over.
Would really be nice to face something other than
Traditional: 2/5 (Since Jinzo
decks probably aren’t the most viable here)
Advanced: 5/5 (In a Jinzo deck)
- Bob Dole
Tuesday - Jinzo - Returner
We're continuing to review cards from Light of
Destruction this week, and today we're reviewing
Jinzo - Returner, a card that received a decent
amount of hype before it was released at the Sneak
Previews. Now that it is widely released, I
would like to point out that people have calmed down
about this card. Let's go through the review to
exploit this card's potential points and weaknesses.
Jinzo - Returner's first effect isn't too great;
we've seen many cards with the same effect in the
past. However, the second effect is getting there.
When Jinzo - Returner is sent to the Graveyard,
its owner may Special Summon 1 Jinzo from
his/her Graveyard. I'd like to point out some
rulings for this card. If the Jinzo that was Special
Summoned by Jinzo - Returner's effect is destroyed
and sent to the Graveyard, it is not sent to the
Graveyard, and even if it is flipped face-up
afterwards, it still is not sent to the Graveyard.
Also, if Jinzo - Returner and Jinzo are sent to the
Graveyard at the same time (via cards like Future
Fusion), then Jinzo - Returner's effect can
be activated at that time. If multiple Jinzo -
Returners and Jinzos are sent to the graveyard at
the same time, their effects start a chain. Jinzo
being sent to the Graveyard because of Jinzo -
Returner's second effect does not start a chain.
This card's ATK and DEF points aren't too great, and
players most likely won't even consider wasting a
card to power it up. The fact that it's a
DARK-attribute monster opens up opportunities for
DAD decks, because it helps them as they're already
most likely running a Jinzo. Jinzo - Returner is a
Machine-type, so running this card in a Chimeratech
deck isn't horrible with Overload Fusion and using
the aforementioned card ruling that involved sending
Jinzo and Jinzo - Returner to the Graveyard at the
same time. This card is also a level 3 monster, but,
in the current format, this particular stat won't
stand out or be useful in any way.
When Jinzo - Returner is Brilliant
I think that it's pretty obvious when Jinzo -
Returner can be brilliant. As it's name suggests,
Jinzo - Returner would only be played alongside a
couple copies of Jinzo. When used in decks that
include Jinzo, Jinzo - Returner is pretty brilliant.
I think that's all that needs to be said.
When Jinzo - Returner is the opposite of Brilliant
Another obvious one here; Jinzo - Returner is only
brilliant when played with a Jinzo or two, and,
anywhere else, he's not.
Copyrightę 1998-2008 pojo.com
This site is not sponsored, endorsed, or
otherwise affiliated with any of the companies or
products featured on this site.
This is not an Official Site.