Master of Chaos
Master of Chaos

Master of Chaos – #BACH-EN036

“Dark Magician” + 1 “Chaos” or “Black Luster Soldier” Ritual Monster
If this card is Fusion Summoned: You can target 1 LIGHT or DARK monster in your GY; Special Summon it. You can Tribute 1 LIGHT and 1 DARK monster; banish all monsters your opponent controls. If this Fusion Summoned card is destroyed by battle or card effect: You can target 1 Spell in your GY; add it to your hand. You can only use each effect of “Master of Chaos” once per turn.

Date Reviewed:  April 8th, 2022

Rating: 3.30

Ratings are based on a 1 to 5 scale. 1 is awful. 3 is average. 5 is excellent.

Reviews Below:

KoL's Avatar
King of

Hello Pojo Fans,

Master of Chaos is the cover card for Battles of Legend and the final card of our week.

New Fusion Monster for Dark Magician players to potentially play (as if there weren’t enough already). Dark Magician and a “Chaos” or “Black Luster Soldier” Ritual Monster grants some flexibility, but in a Dark Magician deck you are using Illusion of Chaos as your fodder for this summon. Special Summon of Dark Magician most likely, however you could use this to summon any LIGHT or DARK you have in your grave, and in the Dark Magician archetype that means A LOT of targets. No effect negation of the monster summoned by that effect, even better.

Banish all opponent monsters by tributing a LIGHT and a DARK is a good effect if there are at least two monsters on the field, you gotta make that double tribute worth while. Dark Magician archetype Special Summons a lot but having to tribute two monsters to banish all monsters your opponent controls is a lot only because the likelihood of some form of negation happening increases with the more monsters on the field. There will be times though when that won’t happen and the double tribute to banish all works out in your favor. Also, can’t really think of many LIGHT monsters other than Timaeus that you are summoning on the regular in this archetype. Maybe something from the Extra Deck but isn’t that to link climb further?

Replacing itself with any Spell in your grave upon destruction while it was Fusion Summoned is better than if it specified “Dark Magician” in the card text because sometimes you want to go after something like Desires or Raigeki, however it needs to be Fusion Summoned to get that effect so if you Special Summon this back with something like another copy of itself or Monster Reborn you won’t get that add-back ability.

Capability of having 5500ATK on the field upon its Fusion Summon and successful Special Summon of a monster of yours, Master of Chaos isn’t a bad Fusion Monster, it’s just that Dark Magician have so many other options and the Extra Deck is pretty bogged down. Dragoon, Dragon Knight (both forms), Cavalry, Amulet, The Dark Magicians, there’s so many and the need to run at the very least Illusion of Chaos make this Fusion Monster optional in my opinion in a dedicated Dark Magician build.



Until Next Time

Crunch$G Avatar

Alright, now we got the card that should put the context in the Throwback Thursday card this week: Master of Chaos.

Master of Chaos is a Level 8 DARK Spellcaster Fusion with 3000 ATK and 2500 DEF. Good stats and a great Type/Attribute combo to have. Fusion Materials are Dark Magician alongside any Chaos or Black Luster Soldier Ritual Monster (you get two archetypes cause Black Luster Soldier is Chaos Solider in the OCG). I mean, it’s not hard to do, but I know you don’t want to run Dark Magician and any BLS Rituals in the same Deck. There’s still some Chaos Rituals that synergize with Dark Magician, so at least those are more fitting Fusion Materials to justify running at least. Upon being Fusion Summoned, you can target a LIGHT or DARK monster in your graveyard and Special Summon it. Most of your monsters in the Dark Magician Deck are DARK Attribute, but you got some LIGHTs now as we saw this week with Timaeus. Maybe your Chaos Ritual is a LIGHT as well, you could maybe be using the Blue-Eyes Chaos Rituals. Second effect triggers by tributing a LIGHT and DARK monster, banishing all monsters the opponent controls. A massive blowout effect for Dark Magician to have if you do find the space to fit in a LIGHT monster and end up summoning it to trigger this to begin with. You would maybe want to try and summon another DARK monster as well so you don’t have to tribute this, but sometimes you’ll have to do what you have to do. Final effect triggers if this was Fusion Summoned and later destroyed by battle or card effect, letting you recover any Spell from the grave to your hand. Nice to be able to recover generic Spells, but in Dark Magician I can see this mostly recovering the archetypal Spell Cards since those have more benefits in a Dark Magician strategy in more situations. Overall it’s a decent card, mainly to summon off The Eye of Timaeus otherwise the Deck might get more bricky with both Ritual and Fusion support for Dark Magician in the Deck, but it is probably fine on a casual level still, so that’s nice.

Advanced Rating: 3.25/5

Art: 5/5 I’d hope a Fusion of Dark Magician and Black Luster Soldier looked cool.

Dark Paladin's Avatar

Now THIS guy, looks like…Master of Chaos (who almost took Toon enough to be a Toon) is a Dark/Spellcaster (excellent), Level 8, with BLS stats for atk/def.  You need specifically Dark Magician but than any other Black Luster Soldier Ritual Monster.  You likely aren’t using BOTH regardless of how this Deck is built, but it shouldn’t be a difficult Fusion to pull off for you.  Free Targeted Light or Dark Special Summon from your Grave upon Fusion Summon is awesome.  (Alone that could/should easily bring your DM to the Field you used to bring this out, and that’s amazing).  Tributing a Light and Dark Monster of yours lets you remove all Monsters your opponent controls.  That seems a little pricey, even if in tune with Chaos ways of doing things, but giving up 2 for anything more nets you great advantage equal to X+1 there (being 2 to start, of course).  Destruction by Battle or Card Effect (again, the Fusion Summon rule applies here) in more DM manner nets you a Magic card (ANY Magic) back from your Grave to your Hand.  That Effect does Target, but most do, so I’m not upset about that.  This guy is definitely an extender and combo oriented card itself, despite having the 3000 atk body, too.  Fun, fast, and actually pretty useful.

Rating:  3.75/5

Art:  5/5  You know he’s one badass Magician

Mighty Vee

Finishing off the week is the cover card of Battle of Chaos, the appropriately-named Master of Chaos, a level 8 DARK spellcaster fusion monster. To fusion summon it, you’ll need a Dark Magician and either a Chaos monster or a Black Luster Soldier ritual monster. While the idea is clearly to fuse Dark Magician with a Black Luster Soldier in a weird hybrid deck, there’s no need to do so when Illusion of Chaos, an excellent card for Dark Magician on its own, will fulfill the Chaos ingredient. Alternatively, Eye of Timaeus can cheat it out just fine. Like its inspiration, Master of Chaos has 3000 attack and 2500 defense, which are standard for a level 8 monster.

All 3 effects of Master of Chaos are a hard once per turn, so you won’t get much out of summoning multiple copies of this guy (not that summoning it is that easy). Upon being fusion summoned, you can special summon a LIGHT or DARK monster from your graveyard. Usually, you’ll be using a Dark Magician as a fusion material, so at the very least you’ll be bringing that back, though you can bring back any LIGHT or DARK monster to suit your needs. This leads into its second effect, which lets you tribute a LIGHT and a DARK monster to banish all cards your opponent controls. This is some pretty strong removal, as very few cards will dodge a non-targeting banish. Tributing a LIGHT and DARK monster is a tall order, but fortunately Master of Chaos itself can be used as the DARK monster in a pinch. As for the LIGHT monster, there’s always spare Effect Veilers or, coincidentally, Timaeus the Dragon of Destiny, which you may have used to summon Master of Chaos. Finally, taking a page out of Dark Magician of Chaos’s book, you can add a spell card back to your hand from your graveyard if Master of Chaos is destroyed by battle or card effect while it was fusion summoned. While you’re probably losing if Master of Chaos got destroyed, Dark Magician decks do appreciate recycling their spells so you can possibly bounce back next turn. Master of Chaos isn’t a bad card, though it’s too resource-intensive to justify summoning it regularly. I can see it as a niche board wiper when you’re in a pickle to hopefully level the playing field.

Advanced: 3/5

Art: 4.5/5 Reminds me of Dark Flare Knight– when are we getting a retrain of THAT guy?



This whole week of reviews has been leading up to this, the cover card of Battle of Chaos, Master of Chaos! Cover cards should mean something, you know? They sort of showcase what exactly the booster pack is about. So does Master of Chaos live up to the hype…?
First of all, he’s a fusion monster: one that requires the Dark Magician and either a “Chaos” Ritual monster or a “Black Luster Soldier” Ritual monster. Well I suppose I have my answer from my previous review as to why anyone would run Super Soldier over Envoy of the Beginning.

These are tight requirements, so let’s see if Master of Chaos’s effects are worth it.
First of all, he has BLS stats, so perfectly on par with a Blue Eyes. Honestly, I feel like for all the investment put into this card, he should have slightly higher stats, but I digress.
He does have 2 pretty good effects – each one reminiscent of the type of cards used to summon him. His “BLS” themed ability allows him to Banish all opposing monsters by tributing a Light or Dark monster. This is an easy effect to pull off given that Master of Chaos revives a Light or Dark monster upon summon (at the very least, pulling back the Dark Magician used to summon him).

Banishing an entire field is really great as it gets around both Targeting and Indestructible cards. Master of Chaos’s “Chaos” themed ability allows him to recur a Spell from the GY whenever he’s destroyed.

I’m mixed on this guy. The nuking ability along with the ability to pull back ANY spell immediately upon destruction are 2 amazing effects. Not only is he a threat to your opponent by leaving him on the field, but they’re also incentivised to NOT get rid of him since Spell cards can be quite powerful as well. Still, as strong as this card is, he does have a hefty summoning condition. Even within the Dark Magician archetype, fusion summoning this guy properly can be a chore – though I suppose that’s what Verte Anaconda is for.
Overall, I think he’s pretty balanced. In the right circumstances he can be a game changer, so I think he’s worth trying out in a Dark Magician deck.

Advanced Rating – 3/5
Art – 4/5

We would love more volunteers to help us with our YuGiOh Card of the Day reviews.  If you want to share your ideas on cards with other fans, feel free to drop us an email.  We’d be happy to link back to your blog / YouTube Channel / etc.   😉

Visit the Card of the Day Archive!  Click here to read over 4,000 more Yu-Gi-Oh! Cards of the Day!