Dogmatika Punishment
Dogmatika Punishment

Dogmatika Punishment
– #ROTD-EN070

Target 1 face-up monster your opponent controls; send 1 monster with an equal or higher ATK from your Extra Deck to the GY, and if you do, destroy that monster. Until the end of your next turn after this card resolves, you cannot Special Summon monsters from the Extra Deck. You can only activate 1 “Dogmatika Punishment” per turn.

Date Reviewed: 
October 20th, 2020

Rating: 3.68

Ratings are based on a 1 to 5 scale. 1 is awful. 3 is average. 5 is excellent.

Reviews Below:

KoL's Avatar
King of

Hello Pojo Fans,

Dogmatika Punishment is a solid card to have going first and even as a trap can get stuff going.

1-for-1 if you can dump a higher ATK monster from your Extra Deck to the grave (that’s why you run high ATK Extra Deck monsters with grave abilities in this archetype). This will stun your opponent and in some cases stop their turn immediately. Getting that Extra Deck monster into the grave can net you more than just a monster off the field, like with monsters like Elder Entity N’tss getting you another pop on the field. Freezing you out of the Extra Deck isn’t much of an issue as you are willingly doing that with Ecclesia. Doing this will also set up Maximus or Nexus, or could trigger on your turn for the upcoming Hashashin Dragma in Phantom Rage. Other monsters like Fossil Skull Knight and Wind Pegasus @Ignister can generate advantage for you, but like with Ecclesia you have to be careful with this card. Locking yourself out of your own Extra Deck can prevent you from triggering your Dogmatika cards to Special Summon and no one likes sitting back and waiting on your opponent to play into your hands.

Good removal card for the archetype.

Advanced-3.5/5     Art-3.5/5

Until Next Time

Crunch$G Avatar

Next up this week is a pretty cool disruptive Trap for the Dogmatika archetype: Dogmatika Punishment.

Punishment is a Normal Trap that upon activation lets you target a face-up monster the opponent controls as cost to then send an Extra Deck monster from said Extra Deck to the graveyard to destroy the monster, the catch being that you have to send an Extra Deck monster that has equal or higher ATK than the targeted monster. This is pretty simple overall and can disrupt whatever the opponent has planned while also getting an effect in the graveyard like Titanklad the Ash Dragon to search or summon a Dogmatika during the End Phase, PSY-Framelord Omega to recycle cards back to the Deck or Extra Deck, Herald of the Arc Light for a search of a Ritual-related card (though this one is probably the hardest to dump here since you’d have to destroy a very weak monster), or Elder Entity N’tss as the best target since she also pops a card upon being sent to the graveyard. There’s a restriction after you activate this card though that you cannot summon from the Extra Deck until the end of your next turn, so it’s getting around the fact you are likely dropping this on the opponent’s turn. It’s fine still since you’re likely already setup after using this card, so the restriction is fine alongside the hard once per turn. It’s a decent card to have, and you can load up on stronger Extra Deck monsters like Dragon Master Knight, Five-Headed Dragon or the Link Version, or a Barbaroid to double serve as a target for a Cyber Dragon Nova summon if the opponent is also using Dogmatika. It’s a fine 1-of since it is searchable and it does have the hard once per turn, but it certainly has its purpose.

Advanced Rating: 3.75/5

Art: 4/5 Fleurdelis is about to battle Titaniklad looks like.

Dark Paladin's Avatar

Dogmatika Punishment, a Normal Trap, is a really fun card in this Theme.  You’re able to Target a face-up Monster belonging to your opponent and discard a card with attack equal to or higher than the selected Monster.  Said Monster you sacrifice is discarded from your Extra Deck, and if you’re successful, you destroy your opponent’s Monster.  Until the End of your NEXT turn, after this card resolves, you can’t Special Summon from your Extra Deck.  That’s a bit ominous but what happens in this Theme.  Still, even though it’s a tad longer than yesterday, I still don’t see that as a huge deal.  You ARE giving up two cards to destroy one, however, you may be able to revive what you dump, or at the very least, use it in the Graveyard for another effect.  Plus, also like yesterday, you still can Special Summon from everywhere else.

Rating:  3.75/5

Art:  4/5  Someone is about to get judgement and be slain.  That’s a punishment.  

We would love more volunteers to help us with our YuGiOh Card of the Day reviews.  If you want to share your ideas on cards with other fans, feel free to drop us an email.  We’d be happy to link back to your blog / YouTube Channel / etc.   😉

Visit the Card of the Day Archive!  Click here to read over 4,000 more Yu-Gi-Oh! Cards of the Day!