Pojo's Naruto Card of the Day
Naruto Message Board you can:
Trade Cards (with an eBay type rating system), talk about
discuss upcoming and past tourneys, converse on
the anime &
based on a 1 to 5 scale.
1 being the worst.
3 = average.
5 is the highest rating.
Today's card is an exclusive from Set 22. This one
is a new Turn-0 version of Sakon. With the fitting
effect name [DUPLICITY], this Sakon allows you to
remove one Chakra from both players' Chakra Areas
during the Mission Phase. At the end of the turn the
cards come back to their respective areas. Thing is
that if you read it right, the effect can be
activated during your turn AND you opponent's turn
too. This helps Chakra Control, though I've got a
hunch that the Sound Four may have a new strategy in
this set. It's a good choice for Limited, and could
be good in Constructed. Try it and see!
All right, today we kick off our first set 22
preview which will be a "Sound Four" theme. As an
old player of Sound Four back in the day (which is
surprisingly a great deck in unlimited), I'm looking
forward to what these new cards will bring to this
mostly subpar theme.
The new Sakon has been completely redone. Like the
other Sound 4 ninjas, he's been moved from the turn
3 slot into a more early slot. His new stats are
nothing terribly special and he has competition with
the highly played Hotaru and Tracking Ninja for the
turn 0 slot. The only thing going for Sakon is his
effect which I find interesting. It can help trigger
effects like the new Jugo's, as well as constantly
give your opponent 1 less chakra since the effect
can trigger during eith player's turn. If you're
lucky with the timing, you can screw your opponent's
curve by removing their Ambush ninjas.
Sakon is a pretty interesting card, but I'm not sure
how much play he will see. Currently, there are two
good versions of him (State 1 one and Set 18) which
will be legal after rotation, so this Sakon will
probably see little play.
Today we have a special preview from Set 22 Weapons
of War. This Sakon is a turn 0 drop with an ok 3/1
healthy and a bad 0/0. During the Mission Phase you
can remove a Chakra from both players Chakra until
the end of the turn. Now I'm assuming this effect
can only be used once. If this is the case, it's
effect I can see being a nuisance when its the
controller of Sakon's turn because it could stop
your opponent from playing a certain jutsu for a
turn if you are scared of one but aside from that it
wouldn't have any other use. If you can use its
effect more than once then this card is like a
mini Overwhelming Vengence Sasuke which is great for
Chakra control. Unless the remove from play zone
gets more support, this card could have potential.
Nick 2008 Stone
Another sound four ninja...Bandai sure loves the
characters that survived for a whole twenty
episodes, don't they? Anyway, Sakon is a pretty
average turn 0 drop. I don't assume you'll use him
for his 1 support too often, but hey, maybe you'll
need some basic support for Lady Hotaru on turn 1.
(She's pretty much your optimal 0 in most decks...)
As for his effect, it's kind of nifty. It can be
played on either player's mission phase for no cost.
He's great to disrupt your opponent's ambush based
curve (if you can get them to play a mission before
deployment and chain with his effect). There is one
other fun use for him. If your opponent plays Make
Out Tactics on turn 1 to search for their turn 0
ninja, You can chain his effect to burn that chakra
they charged for the mission. The mission won't do
them any good, because they'll have no chakra to
search with! Also, since Bandai introduced the "Do
As Much As You Can" rule, you don't actually have to
have any chakra to use his effect.
I'm curious as to why he didn't get ambush, however.
If not ambush, why not a valid effect?
Copyrightę 1998-2011 pojo.com
This site is not sponsored, endorsed, or
otherwise affiliated with any of the companies or
products featured on this site.
This is not an Official Site.