Pojo's Magic The Gathering news, tips, strategies and more!

 
Bill Guerin
Level II Judge

 

Pojo's MTG
MTG Home
Message Board
News & Archives
Deck Garage
BMoor Dolf BeJoSe

Columnists
Paul's Perspective
Jeff Zandi
DeQuan Watson
Jordon Kronick
IQ
Aburame Shino
Rare Hunter
Tim Stoltzfus
WiCkEd
Judge Bill's Corner


Trading Card
Game

Card of the Day
Guide for Newbies
Decks to Beat
Featured Articles
Peasant Magic
Fan Tips
Tourney Reports


Other
Color Chart
Book Reviews
Online Play
MTG Links
Staff



Space For Rent

Judge Bill's Magic The Gathering Rulings
 

Title: Frantic Madness
Questions: 16
2.21.05 
---
 
>>>Q: I play a Frantic Search. 1 of the 2 cards I draw is Arrogant wurm. Can I discard the Wurm and then play it for it's madness cost after untap my lands?
 
-Code
 
A: Yes. The madness won't go on the stack until Frantic Search completely resolves, including the untapping of the lands.<<<
 
Q: Could you please expand on the micro-steps and stack interaction here? It seems that I would discard the Arrogant Wurm before being able to untap the lands to pay for the Madness...
 
Maybe I'm just misunderstanding the Madness mechanic and the timing between it going on the stack vs. paying for it's cost.
 
-Adrian
 
A: This one's a lot simpler than you think.
 
The madness trigger has to wait for the whole spell to resolve before you can deal with the madness trigger. So the draw, discard, and untap all happen before the madness is dealt with, as it is all one spell.
 
(This is related to Mantra 1.)
 
---
 
Q: I have a White Knight in play with Sword of Kaldra equipped, being declared as an attacker.
 
My opponent assigns his blocker, a White Knight with Prismatic Ward on him (chosen color white).
 
A: (Side note here folks ... if you have a question about a card, make sure to look up the Oracle text on Gatherer first. Looking at the actual card text on older cards is frequently confusing.)
 
Prismatic Ward
1W  
Enchant Creature   
As Prismatic Ward comes into play, choose a color.
Prevent all damage that would be dealt to enchanted creature by sources of the chosen color.
 
Sword of Kaldra
4  
Legendary Artifact — Equipment  
Equipped creature gets +5/+5.
Whenever equipped creature deals damage to a creature, remove that creature from the game.
Equip 4
 
---
 
Q: Assumption: I think the damage is dealt, activating Sword of Kaldra’s remove creature from game ability, then reduced to zero (because it is all white damage) by Prismatic Ward, stopping lethal damage (pointlessly in this instance.)
 
A: Again, looking at the actual Oracle text will prove this assumption wrong here. Prevented damage is never dealt, and anything that triggers off damage will not trigger if the damage is prevented. Your opponent's White Knight will not be removed from the game.
 
---
 
Q: Is the damage all white because it is the White Knight’s 2/2, +5/+5 (not artifact damage from Sword of Kaldra)?
 
A: Correct.
 
---
 
Q: If the assigned blocker had protection from artifacts instead of Prismatic Ward, the “remove creature from game” ability would have no affect, but the extra 5 damage would.  Is that right?
 
-Marcus
 
A: Wait ... what now? Prevention only applies to damage and targeting (in this case). Does Sword of Kaldra read target? See Mantra 3.
 
Since the Sword of Kaldra doesn't do anything that Mantra 4 tells us protection prevents, the protection from artifacts won't do anything.
 
---
 
Q: Could I use cunning bandit (or rather its flipside) to steal a creature at the end of their turn, after the end of turn step so that it starts on my side at the start of my turn, and therefore I can attack with it?  Why does this work?
 
A: No, this does not work. I've covered "at" vs. "until" end of turn effects in many past columns, including these columns.
 
---
 
Q: Can I use Stifle to counter the fading trigger (from Parallax Wave for example), so I don't need to remove a fade counter that turn and my permanent with fading survives for one extra turn?
 
A: Yes. The upkeep trigger from fading reads: "At the beginning of your upkeep, remove a fade counter from this permanent. If you can’t, sacrifice the permanent."
 
Since it starts with "at," it is a triggered ability, and can be countered by Stifle.
 
---
 
Q: Can I use Stifle to counter the "leaves play" trigger from Parallax Wave, so the creatures stay removed from the game forever?
 
-Freddy
 
A: Yes, as the "return to play ability" starts with "when," which also indicates a triggered ability.
 
Parallax Wave
2WW  
Enchantment   
Fading 5 (This enchantment comes into play with five fade counters on it. At the beginning of your upkeep, remove a fade counter from it. If you can’t, sacrifice it.)
Remove a fade counter from Parallax Wave: Remove target creature from the game if Parallax Wave is in play.
When Parallax Wave leaves play, each player returns to play all cards other than Parallax Wave he or she owns removed from the game with Parallax Wave. 
 
---
 
Q: What happens when Eradicate removes a face down morph creature?
 
A: Not much, as face down creatures have no name. Thus you won't be able to remove any cards.
 
---
 
Q: What happens if Eradicate is used to remove my face-up morph creature and I have another copy of that creature on the field face down.
 
A: Nothing. The "remove extra copies" part of Eradicate doesn't touch the in play zone.
 
---
 
Q: Now how does Eradicate interact with Clone?
 
-Mike
 
A: Clone takes the name of the thing it copies. So, for example, if Clone copied an Exalted Angel, and you Eradicated that, you would search for cards named "Exalted Angel" in their hand, library, and graveyard.
 
---
 
Q: I Blackmail my opponent and he plays Gilded Light, does he discard a card from his hand?
 
A: No. Your opponent is an illegal target when Blackmail resolves, so Blackmail will be countered.
 
---
 
Q: when you activate an ability and it has a comma in it, can your opponent respond by playing a spell? Is that considered a pause or just correct grammar?
 
A: A comma separates parts of a spell, but it is still one whole spell. You can't respond in the middle.
 
---
 
Q: For example, you activate Sensei's Top by drawing a card, then look at the top 3 before the top goes on top of your library.
 
-Omar S.
 
A: You can do this, because they are two separate abilities.
 
(You can even put the Top on top, then rearranged the top 3 including the top, by activating the two abilities in the other order.)
 
---
 
Q: Can a Genju attack, or is it always paralyzed by summoning sickness?  Same goes for Mishra's Factory...
 
A: Things like this just make me wonder if anyone actually reads my columns, or the Mantras. I just dealt with this two weeks ago.
 
It's not like this was answered a year ago.
 
---
 
Q: Dawn's Reflection ("Whenever enchanted land is tapped for mana, its controller adds two mana of any combination of colored mana to his or her mana pool."): Does this card add only those two mana of any color, or does it add the two, plus the original mana that land was originally tapped for, resulting in three mana in your pool.
 
-Ryan
 
A: Ok, so I answered this one 6 months ago. You're forgiven on this one. (Question 10 in that column.)
 
---
 
I'll end with a little hint on how you can "search my archives", similar to other judge columns:
 
Go to Google.
 
In the search box, type the card or mechanic, you are wondering about, followed by "Judge Bill site:www.pojo.com". Then hit search, and it will bring up the results from my column on pojo.com.
 
So for example, if you wanted to look at the questions about summoning sickness, you would type "summoning sickness Judge Bill site:www.pojo.com" in the search box, and you would get the following result.
 
See you Tuesday.
 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

Copyrightę 1998-2005 pojo.com
This site is not sponsored, endorsed, or otherwise affiliated with any of the companies or products featured on this site. This is not an Official Site.