Judge Bill


Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers  
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage
Jason's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Community
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

August 5, 2004  Title: Cards of the Week
Questions: 8 + COTD explanations
 
---
 
First, the Cards of the Day for the rest of the week. Consider this a sneak preview, but since these cards have some rules issues, I've been asked to go through them.
 
---
 
Tuesday - Suq'Ata Lancer
 
Flanking is the second most asked about ability (banding being the first), and it is actually rather simple. Flanking only has to do with combat.
 
If you attack with a creature that has flanking, and it is blocked, you look at the blocking creature. If the blocking creature does not have flanking, it gets -1/-1 for each instance of flanking on the attacker. One instance of flanking on the defender will prevent all instances of flanking from triggering.
 
Yes, triggering. Flanking is a triggered ability (since it uses the word "whenever"), so it uses the stack. That means you can respond to flanking triggering by playing other spells or abilities.
 
Remember: If flanking kills the blocking creature, the attacking creature is still blocked.
 
If there are multiple blocking creatures to a flanker, you check each individually, and each creature will get the penalty if it doesn't have flanking.
 
The flanking penalty is applied before damage is put on the stack.
 
The flanking ability does NOT use the word "target," so protection will not prevent it from getting the -1/-1.
 
Example: Suq'Ata Lancer attacks. It is blocked by Grizzly Bears. Since Grizzly Bears does not have flanking, flanking triggers. Upon resolution of the trigger, the Grizzly Bears will get -1/-1, making them 1/1.
 
Example: Suq'Ata Lancer attacks. It is blocked by Llanowar Elves. Llanowar Elves does not have flanking, so it will get -1/-1 from the trigger. This will make the Elves 0/0, and they will die before damage is put on the stack. (The Suq'Ata Lancer is still blocked and will not deal damage).
 
Example: Suq'Ata Lancer attacks. It is blocked by Shadow Rider. Since Shadow Rider has flanking, the flanking on Suq'Ata Lancer will not trigger.
 
Example: Suq'Ata Lancer attacks, and Jabari's Banner is used on it before blockers are declared. It is blocked by Grizzly Bears. Since Grizzly Bears does not have flanking, flanking will trigger twice, giving the Grizzly Bears 2 separate instances of -1,-1. The Grizzly Bears end up at 0/0 (and dead).
 
Example: Suq'Ata Lancer attacks, and Jabari's Banner is used on it before blockers are declared. It is blocked by Shadow Rider. Since Shadow Rider has flanking, there is no flanking trigger at all, even though Suq'Ata Lancer has 2 instances of flanking and Shadow Rider only one.
 
Example: Suq'Ata Lancer attacks. It is blocked by Hill Giant and Grizzly Bears. Since neither of the blockers has flanking, they each get affected by a separate flanking trigger. When both resolve, the Hill Giant will be 2/2, and the Grizzly Bears 1/1.
 
---
 
Wednesday - Dance of Many
 
First, the Oracle text ...
 
Dance of Many
{U}{U}
Enchantment
When Dance of Many comes into play, put a token into play as a copy of target nontoken creature.
When Dance of Many leaves play, remove the creature token from the game.
When the creature token leaves play, sacrifice Dance of Many.
At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice Dance of Many unless you pay {U}{U}.
 
All 4 abilities of Dance of Many are triggered abilities (signified by the words "when" and "at"). Therefore, each ability uses the stack.
 
Yes, that means you can Stifle any one of these abilities. (If you Stifle the mana payment requirement [4th ability], it will only not occur for that turn. It will happen again next turn.)
 
One of the tricks used with the nightmares from the Torment set also works here. You can bounce/sacrifice the Dance of Many card before it creates the token creature. The token creature will never leave as a result of that Dance of Many, since the leaves play ability will have already resolved.
 
The token is an EXACT copy of the chosen creature. That means that token's converted mana cost will be the converted mana cost of whatever it copied. The token's converted mana cost will NOT be 0 (unless it copied a creature with a converted mana cost of 0).
 
---
 
Thursday - Frankenstein's Monster
 
Again, let's start with the Oracle text ...
 
Frankenstein's Monster
{X}{B}{B}
Creature -- Monster
0/1
As Frankenstein's Monster comes into play, remove X creature cards in your graveyard from the game. If you can't, put Frankenstein's Monster into its owner's graveyard instead of into play. For each creature card removed this way, Frankenstein's Monster comes into play with a +2/+0, +1/+1, or +0/+2 counter.
 
This creature uses the word "as" for its coming into play ability. That means you remove the X creature cards as Frankenstein's Monster is resolving (before it comes into play).
 
You must remove EXACTLY X creature cards in your graveyard from the game. You can not remove more than X.
 
The creature cards are chosen on resolution of the Frankenstein's Monster spell (as the ability has its effect). You do not choose the specific cards until that time. However, then number of creature cards to be removed is chosen as a part of playing Frankenstein's Monster, since the variable X is a part of the cost of Frankenstein's Monster.
 
If you can not remove X creature cards from the graveyard, Frankenstein's Monster is put directly into the graveyard. It never comes into play (so things like Pandemonium will never trigger).
 
Frankenstein's Monster uses 3 different types of counters. Make sure you have some way of keeping them straight.
 
---
 
Friday - Lifeline
 
Lifeline
{5}
Artifact
Whenever a creature is put into a graveyard from play and another creature is in play, return the first creature from that graveyard to play under its owner's control at end of turn.
 
If all creatures (assuming there is more than one creature in play) in play go to the graveyard at the same time (for example, Wrath of God), all creatures will be returned to play at end of turn. This is because Lifeline has to "look back" to see what was in play right before it triggered, and since there were other creatures in play, Lifeline will trigger.
 
If Lifeline is animated when you cast said Wrath of God (for example, March of the Machines is out), it will come back.
 
If a creature goes into a player's graveyard during the end step (for example, Ball Lightning), and another creature is in play, the creature will come back at the end of the next turn. This is because "at end of turn" triggers have already happened, and it has to wait for the next time "at end of turn" comes up, which is the next turn.
 
(Please, DO NOT CONFUSE THIS with "UNTIL end of turn." An "UNTIL end of turn" effect will always wear off on the turn it is generated.)
 
---
 
Now, on to the questions ...
 
Q: After you attach a equipment to a creature, can you equip it to a different one by paying the equip cost?
 
-Ask
 
A: Yes, any time you can play the equip ability.
 
---
 
Q: Does any, an or a also mean target?
 
A: No. See Mantra 3.
 
---
 
Q: If I attack with a creature, after I declare my attack, can they tap it with an icy Manipulator?
 
A: Sure. But it will still be attacking. Tapping or untapping an attacking creature does not remove it from combat.
 
(And they're also tapping a tapped creature usually, which really doesn't do much.)
 
---
 
Q: And also when I block, can they tap it?
 
-Omar S.
 
A: Sure, but the blocker will still do combat damage. Tapping or untapping a blocking creature does not remove it from combat.
 
---
 
Q: I have Mycosynth Lattice in play. I put 7 colorless mana in my mana pool, and play Solarion.  Since the colorless mana can be used for mana of any color, can I declare all 5 colors to be represented in my mana pool, and thus put 5 +1/+1 counters on Solarion?
 
-BMoor
 
A: No. Even though Mycosynth Lattice lets you use mana as mana of any color, it is not actually mana of that color. It still is mana of the color that it originally was. So Solarion will get no counters in this instance, since no colored mana was used to cast it.
 
---
 
Q: How does Mirari work?
 
-Rodolfo P.
 
A: If you have Mirari out, and you play an instant or sorcery, Mirari will trigger. When Mirari's trigger resolves, you may pay 3 mana. If you do, you get to copy that spell, and choose new targets for that copy if you want. (You do not have to choose new targets if you don't want to.)
 
---
 
Q: I have a legend out. If I change its creature type to, say, sliver, then bring out the same creature and itís the same legend do I have to get rid of it?
 
-JGrayK
 
A: No. You do not have 2 legends of the same name. You have 2 creatures of the same name, only one of which is a legend. They both stay out.
 
(BUT, if the type change is only temporary on the first creature [say like with Imagecrafter], then when the type change wears off, you will have 2 legends with the same name. You will bury the one that had its creature type changed, since it has been a legend for the shortest amount of time.)
 
---
 
Q: If I play Illusions of Grandeur, I gain 20 life, Then I donate it to the Player B. Then I destroy it with Disenchant. Do they lose 20 life because of the loss of Illusions?
 
-John M.
 
A: Yes. I hear that this was a pretty good deck a few years ago.
 
See you Friday.
 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 2001 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.