The Great Hall
- Daily Prophet (News)
- Message Board
- O.W.L.'s (Polls)
- Apparate (Links)
- Owl Post (Contact Us)


Star Ledger Special


Muggle Studies
Video Games
- Message Board
- Game Boy Color
- Game Boy Advance
- P.C. Version

The Movies
- Interviews
- Movie Introduction
- The Cast
- Rumored Cast
- Release Dates
- DVD Spolier
- Movie Images


TCG Dueling Club

Weighing of the Wands
- Base Price Guide
- QC Price Guide
- DA Price Guide
- AH Price Guide
- CS Price Guide
- Promo Price Guide

Restricted Section
- Base Set List
- Base Set Spoiler
- Quidditch Cup List
- Quidditch Cup Spoiler
- Diagon Alley List
- Diagon Alley Spoiler
- Adv at Hogwarts List
- Adv at Hogwarts Spoiler
- Chamber of Secrets List
- Chamber of Secret Spoiler

Charms Class
- Rulings Collection
- TCG Rulebook
- Card Anatomy
- Walk-Thru Tutorial
- Featured Articles

Transfiguration Class
- Deck Garage
- Card of the Day
- Featured Writers
- Tips & Strategies
- Killer Deck Reports

Featured Writers
- In Play with Steve
- Alex's CotW
- Keen Sense of Obvious

Apprentice Stuff
- Online Chat
- Apprentice Help
- Apprentice Patch
- Apprentice League


Deck Garage
Active Mechs
- Snuffles
- MadEye
- Lockhart
- Crusader
Inactive Mechs
- profpoke
- ProfLupin
- Soslow


Library
- Characters
- Book Plot/Spoiler
- Book/Chapter Pics
- Fantastic Beasts
- Spell Books


Diagon Alley
- Book Shop
- Games Shop
- Music Shop
- Toy Shop


Dark Detectors
- Downloads


Pojo Portkeys
- Magic
- DBZ
- Pokemon
- Anime'
- Yu-Gi-Oh
- About Us

 

The Wizards of the Coast's
Harry Potter TCG
Rulings from the Chat!

These are the questions and answers relating to rulings for the Harry Potter TCG from the WotC Chat. They have been arranged in a few different ways to help you find the answers you are looking for. If you would like to participate in a future WotC Chat go here and see when it will be held.
http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=harrypotter

We have fine tuned these only slightly. We tried to eliminate all abbreviations, capitalize the card types and names, and correct minor spelling/punctuation problems. Otherwise, these are exactly the way they were in the chat or by direct email contact with WotC. Pojo.com is not responsible for any interpretations created by these rulings; we are simply giving you a reference to go by.

If your answer couldn't be found here, PLEASE email MadEye and Snuffles with your question here at: Rules Question. This way we can get your answers from WotC for you and can share the findings with others. You can always call the WotC Customer Service staff (1-800-324-6496) or e-mail them at custserv@wizards.com if you don't want to participate with this site.


Last modified on November 1, 2002

INDEX

Search by:

GENERAL GAME QUESTIONS
(Card Types have a General Section and are alphabetic by card name)
ADVENTURE
CHARACTER
CREATURE
ITEM
LOCATION
MATCH
SPELL



GENERAL QUESTIONS

Q: Do I always have to draw a card at the start of my turn, even if I don't want to? (Base-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Yes. Each player must draw a card at the beginning of his or her turn. There are no exceptions to this rule. (Base-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: Can I use the last drawn card from the deck and I loose when I have no cards to draw? Or I loose as soon as I draw the last card from my pile and I can never use the last card in the pile anyhow? (August 31, 2001)
A: You lose as soon as the last card is gone. Under the deck on the play mat is should say, "If you can read this message, you have lost. (August 31, 2001)
References that apply:
A: When you have no more cards in your deck -- even if you have some cards left in your hand or in play -- you lose immediately. (Base-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: There is a card that says, "Do 2 damage to your opponent. Then draw 2 cards." What if we both have only 2 cards left in our decks? (QC-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Usually, you do everything the card says in order and then take care of the other effects. But losing the game is special, and it happens immediately whenever a player runs out of cards. So, do what the card says in order. First your opponent draws 2 cards. Now you see that he or she has run out of cards in his or her deck, so your opponent loses right away. The rest of your Spell never happens. (QC-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: My opponent wants to know how many cards I have left in my deck. Do I have to let him or her count them? (Base-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Yes. Your opponent is allowed to count how many cards you have left in your deck at any time. However, your opponent isn't allowed to look at what those cards are. Cards in your deck and in your hand are secret! (Base-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: There is a card that says my opponent can draw any number of cards. Does this mean my opponent can draw cards 1 at a time until he or she wants to stop, or does my opponent have to pick a number first and then draw exactly that many cards? (QC-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Your opponent can either pick a number first or just grab a random number of cards off the top of his or her deck. Once either of these Actions takes place, however, your opponent can't draw any more or any fewer cards. (QC-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: What is considered to be 'playing' a card? (August 31, 2001)
A: Right now, there is no difference in Harry Potter TCG between 'playing' a card and 'putting' a card into play. So any way that you either play a Spell out of your hand or get a card into play is 'playing' it. (August 31, 2001)

Q: When a card talks about discarding Lessons, does it refer them as Lesson Cards or anything that provides a lesson? (June 12, 2002)
A: Such things are talking about Lesson Cards. Non-lessons that provide power will not do. (June 12, 2002)

Q: I didn't get any Lessons in my opening hand. What can I do? Can I draw a new hand? (Base-FAQ from WB.com)
A: No. If your opening hand has no Lessons, you do not get to draw a new hand. Remember though, that you can use an Action to draw a card. So, by using both of your Actions to draw cards, you just might get the Lessons you need! (Base-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: When I use Lesson cards to put other cards into play, are those Lesson cards "used up?" (Base-FAQ from WB.com)
A: No. Lesson cards stay on the table and can be used again, even on the same turn. One exception to this rule is if you have a card that specifically tells you to discard Lessons. For example, if you have 4 Lessons on the table, and 2 cards in your hand that require 4 Power (each) to play, you can use your 2 Actions to play them both. (Base-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: To play a card such as Weakness Potion, I need to discard 1 of my Potions Lessons from play. If I don't have any Potions Lessons in play, what happens? (QC-FAQ from WB.com)
A: If you don't have any of the type of Lessons it says to discard, then you can't play the card. Remember that only actual Lesson cards are Lessons. Items or Characters that provide Potions Power don't count. (QC-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: I played a Spell that doesn't let my opponent use Actions to play Lesson cards on his or her next turn. What if my opponent has an Item that lets him or her use an Action to put a Lesson card into play from his or her discard pile? (QC-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Using an Action to put a Lesson card into play from your discard pile is the same as using an Action to play a Lesson card from your hand. Your opponent wouldn't be able to use the Item to put a Lesson card into play from his or her discard pile because it is making him or her use an Action, and your Spell says that your opponent can't use Actions to play Lesson cards. (QC-FAQ from WB.com)
References that apply:
Q: I played a Spell that doesn't let my opponent use Actions to play Lesson cards on his or her next turn, but what if my opponent uses an Action to play a Spell that tells my opponent to put a Lesson card into play from his or her hand? (QC-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Even though your opponent had to use an Action to play the Spell, he or she didn't use an Action to play the Lesson card. Because your Spell stops your opponent only from using Actions to play Lesson cards, your opponent can use a Spell that tells him or her to put Lesson cards into play. (QC-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: If you play a Creature and can't do anything else, you don't have to use the last Action? (August 31, 2001)
A: That's correct. You do not have to use any Actions if you choose not to. You do, of course, always have to draw. (August 31, 2001)

Q: In cards like Norbert, it says discard 2 CMC Lessons, but what if you have only 1? (August 31, 2001)
A: Then you can't play it. (August 31, 2001)

Q: If I have a Creature in play that takes 6 Lessons and have 6 Lessons in play, does it stay if I play another Creature that removes Lessons from play? (February 20, 2002)
A: Yes. It's a common misconception that Creatures are tied to the Lessons used to play them. This isn't so. Once a Creature is in play it no longer matters whether or not any of the Lessons that were used to play it stay in play. (February 20, 2002)

Q: Can I play Confundus if opponent has 0 cards in his/her hand (or Ollivanders with no Item in discard pile, Mysterious Egg/Hagrid and the Stranger with no Creature in appropriate pile, Avifors with no opponent's Care of Magical Creature Lessons in play...)? (August 31, 2001)
A: You may not. You have to be able to do everything the Spell says in order to play the Spell. (August 31, 2001)

Q: Does Dungbomb prevent Damage from an Adventure that does Damage 'Before your turn?' (February 20, 2002)
A: Yes, 'before your turn,' counts as during your turn. (February 20, 2002)

Q: Are there any cards that could get Healing cards back into your hand? (March 20, 2002)
A: Nope. There are no cards (yet, anyway) that bring Healing cards back once they are in the discard pile. (March 20, 2002)
References that apply:
A: Ollivanders will allow you to put a Healing Item back in your hand from the discard pile. It reads: "Put an Item card from your discard pile into your hand." (from card)

Q: If I have a Money card in play before my turn and I discard it to use its ability, can I then play another Money card that turn? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Yes. Discarding a card from play doesn't count as playing it. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: I have a card with an ability that can be used only once per game. If the card gets returned to my hand and then I play it again, can I use the ability again? (August 31, 2001)
A: Yes. (August 31, 2001)
References that apply:
A: Yes. When a card gets returned to your hand it forgets that it was ever in play before. In the same way, if a Creature with damage counters on it gets returned to your hand, and then you play it again, it's a new Creature with no damage counters on it. (Base-FAQ from WB.com)

Reference: Uniqueness: The uniqueness rule does apply to two different unique cards that represent the same Charcater. For example, if Harry the Seeker is in play, nobody can play Harry Potter or Harry the Seeker. (Rules Card form QC Set)

Q: My starting Character says that playing a Character card uses up only 1 of my Actions instead of 2. I also have an Item that says, "You may use 2 Actions to search your deck. You may take a Character card of a Character that isn't already in play and put it into play. Then shuffle your deck." Did I just use 1 Action or 2? (QC-FAQ from WB.com)
A: You didn't use 2 Actions to put the Character card into play. Instead, you used 2 Actions to search your deck, so your starting Character doesn't give you a discount. (QC-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: If you're using Professor Severus Snape, and you have no other Potions Lessons, and your Spell tell you to discard one, what do you do? (August 31, 2001)
A: You can't play a Spell unless you actually have the Lesson cards in play to discard. (August 31, 2001)

Q: If you have 4 Unicorns in play, you could choose to use a total of 6 Actions during your turn, correct? (November 28, 2001)
A: Ooooh yeah. (November 28, 2001)

Q: Do I have to use all of my Actions each turn? (Base-FAQ from WB.com)
A: No. You can use all, some, or none of your Actions. However, once your turn is over, those Actions are gone. For example, if you used only 1 Action on your last turn, you can't use the second Action from that turn on your next turn. (Base-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: Ok this is a weird one but my friends say if I play a card that reduces them to one Action they can still play cards that take 2 Actions is this true? (March 20, 2002)
A: They are mistaken. If you don't have two Actions to spend, you are not able to play two-Action cards (like Characters and Adventures.) (March 20, 2002)

Q: What types of cards take up 2 Actions? (March 20, 2002)
A: Characters and Adventures take two Actions to play. (March 20, 2002)

Q: There are a few cards that say, "When you play this card, draw a card." Do I have to draw the card even if I don't want to? (CS-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Yes. (CS-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: What if the card makes me count something and then says, "You may draw that many cards." Can I choose to draw some number less than the number I counted? (CS-FAQ from WB.com)
A: No. You have to either draw exactly that many cards or no cards at all. (CS-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: What if a card makes both my opponent and me either draw cards or take damage, and we both don't have enough cards left in our decks? (CS-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Do what the card says in order. If it tells you to draw the cards or take the damage first, then you lose the game before your opponent gets his or her chance. If the card tells your opponent to do it first, then he or she loses. (CS-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: There are many cards that make me return Lesson cards to my hand. Do Character or Item cards that provide Power count as Lessons? (CS-FAQ from WB.com)
A: No. Only actual Lesson cards count as Lessons. (CS-FAQ from WB.com)


CARD TYPES

Adventure Cards

All Adventure Cards

Q: When you are required to discard cards in order to solve an Adventure, does it take any Actions to discard those cards? (Base-FAQ from WB.com)
A: No. You can discard cards as a "free Action" to solve an Adventure during your turn. (Base-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: If my opponent solves an Adventure after using both of his or her Actions, and the reward gives him or her 1 more Action that turn, does my opponent still get the extra Action or is it too late to add 1 in? (QC-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Your opponent still gets 1 more Action. (QC-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: Are you allowed to solve Adventures during your opponent's turn? (June 12, 2002)
A: Nope. The only time you can choose to do anything is during your turn. Specifically, after you draw your card for the turn all the way through until you say you've finished. You may still solve Adventures and use non-action abilities after you've used your last action for the turn, which can be a huge thing to know. (June 12, 2002)
References that apply:
A: You can solve Adventures and use Characters' special abilities anytime during your turn, after you draw your first card.
(DA Starter Set Rulebook)

Q: There are many Adventure cards that say I can play them only if I have a certain amount of Lessons in play. Do Items or Characters that provide Power count as Lessons in play? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: No, only actual Lesson cards count as Lessons. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

 

4 Privet Drive

Q: Can the Spells, Apparate or Logic Puzzle, be used to get rid of the Adventure, 4 Privet Drive, that prevents Spells? (March 6, 2002)
A: No. (March 6, 2002)

 

Diagon Alley

Q: For the reward on Diagon Alley, do you just draw until you want to stop, or do you have to decide how many you want to draw before you start? (May 05, 2002)
A: You must decide how many cards you want to draw, then draw them all at once. No draw-look-decide Action, I'm afraid. (May 05, 2002)

 

Hagrid Needs Help

Q: If you had Hagrid Needs Help in play, would that basically prevent your opponent from playing Adventures or Characters until they solve it? (November 14, 2001)
A: Unless they have either Fred and George Weasely or Ron Weasley in play to reduce how many Actions it takes to play a Character or an Adventure. (November 14, 2001)

Q: So you can solve Pep Talk before it makes you draw the card? (November 28, 2001)
A: Yes. Solving an Adventure may be done before you take any of your Actions. Once Pep Talk is gone, you can start using your Actions normally right away. The effect of Pep Talk doesn't last the whole turn like with some other cards (Hagrid Needs Help, for example.) (November 28, 2001)

Q: The card Hagrid Needs Help says that you lose an Action the turn it is solved. Yet, if I play or use a card that discards it, do I still get one Action taken away? (February 20, 2002)
A: If you begin your turn with Hagrid Needs Help stealing an Action from you, you've lost the Action no matter what you do. (February 20, 2002)
A: "No matter what you do" means neither Prof. Minerva McGonagall's special ability nor a spell card will prevent you from losing an action. (Email September 03, 2002)

Q: Can you take damage as opposed to having damage done to you? For instance, you need to take 8 damage to solve Hagrid Needs Help. Since this is damage that you are taking and it is not being done to you, can you still use Hospital Dormitory to prevent any of this damage? (Email September 03, 2002)
A: Yes. Read Hagrid Needs Help as saying: "Assign 8 damage to yourself." Once you assign the damage, you are free to prevent any of it and it will still count towards solving the Adventure.. (Email September 03, 2002)

Q: Can you take damage as opposed to having damage done to you? For instance, you need to take 8 damage to solve Hagrid Needs Help. Since this is damage that you are taking and it is not being done to you, can you still use Hospital Dormitory to prevent any of this damage? (Email September 03, 2002)
A: Yes. Read Hagrid Needs Help as saying: "Assign 8 damage to yourself." Once you assign the damage, you are free to prevent any of it and it will still count towards solving the Adventure.. (Email September 03, 2002)

Q: If my opponent plays this card against me, do I have to wait until they have hit me with a total of 8 damage or can I just flip over 8 cards and solve the adventure, even though there were no cards that really caused that damage in the first place? In other words, do I have to wait until my opponent hits me with 8 damage or can I damage myself? (Email October 11, 2002)
A: You must take 8 damage all at once from the Adventure to solve it. The Adventure does not count the amount of damage you receive from other sources when it is in play and then automatically solve itself when you take a total of 8. You must announce that you are solving the Adventure and take 8 damage from the adventure to solve it. (Email October 11, 2002)

Q: If I play a match and my opponent plays Hagrid Needs Help, and I choose to solve it, does the 8 damage go towards the match? (Email November 1, 2002)
A: Yes, it does! (Email October 11, 2002)

 

Human Chess Game

Q: If I play Human Chess Game, my opponent can't play any cards if I don't play any cards, correct? However, my opponent can still use Actions, like drawing a card, solving the Adventure, trying to win the Match in play and using a Character's ability, so long as it doesn't entail putting a card into play, correct? Is there anything else my opponent can do? (November 28, 2001)
A: You are correct. As for Actions that don't count as playing cards...I think your list is complete, though it wouldn't surprise me if there was something else...using card abilities like Cage's... (November 28, 2001)

Q: If you opponent has Human Chess Game and you have The Sorting Hat in play, can use uses its ability to get a wizard/witch or would chess game prevent it? (November 28, 2001)
A: As there is no difference between playing and putting a card this is new question, but I think the rules for Hermione Granger and Remembrall pretty much set the groundwork. (November 28, 2001)
References that apply:
Q: You have 2 Lesson cards, Hermione Granger and Remembrall in play. After drawing your card at the start of your turn you decide to use Remembrall and put a Lesson card from your discard pile into play. Since this is considered an "Action" according to Remembrall, can you now use Hermione Granger's special ability to play another Lesson card? Or only when you play a Lesson card from your hand? (August 31, 2001)
A: There is no difference in 'playing' and 'putting' a card in play, so if it says, "when you play a Lesson card," which Remembrall lets you do, from your discard pile, Hermione Granger would let you get an extra Lesson from there if you had one. (November 14, 2001)

Q: When the Human Chess Adventure is 'in play' and Draco Malfoy is your starting Character, does discarding cards to use his special power considered 'playing a card?' (February 20, 2002)
A: No that does not count as playing a card. (February 20, 2002)

Q: If you have Human Chess Game in play and you discard Eel Eyes and Beetle Eyes to put Bulgeye Potion in play, does that count towards playing a card for Human Chess Game? (March 20, 2002)
A: Yes. Putting a card into play and playing a card is the same thing. (March 20, 2002)

Q: If I use the Draco's Trick card on an Adventure card like Human Chess Game, which says for the opponent's Reward "Your opponent may draw 3 cards," who gets to draw the cards? Me? Or my opponent? (Base-FAQ from WB.com)
A: You do. Draco's Trick basically changes it so that you get the reward instead of your opponent. If it said you take 3 damage, it would be your opponent that would take that damage. (Base-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: If I play Human Chess Game, can my opponent play a card that same turn since I just played Human Chess Game? (May 05, 2002)
A: Yes. You played Human Chess Game so they'll be able to play a card no matter what. (May 05, 2002)

 

Hut on the Rock

Q: Is there any way I can solve this Adventure before I have to discard a card from play? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: No. The discard happens during the "before your turn" step, and you are not allowed to solve Adventures until after you've drawn the card at the start of your turn. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Into the Forbidden Forest

Q: If Rubeus Hagrid is used in conjunction with Into the Forbidden Forest do 2 Damage Creatures get the bonus of Hagrid s ability? (November 14, 2001)
A: Yes, if it is during your turn, you may choose the order that your cards are adjusted; Hagrid only requires the Creature to deal 3 Damage, so with the Forbidden Forrest it does deal 3. And then raised to 5. (November 14, 2001)

Q: When playing Welsh Green Dragon, does the initial 6 damage when it is played get the Rubeus Hagrid
or Into the Forbidden Forest bonus? Also, does Welsh Green Dragon actually do the damage? Since it simply says do 6 damage to your opponent when this card comes into play? (Email September 03, 2002)
A: Yes and yes. (Email September 03, 2002)

 

Letters From No One

Q: If your opponent has Letters From No One in play, can you discard your books to draw 3 cards or not? (March 20, 2002)
A: No. You may only use a draw card Action, and not use an Item (even if part of the Item's ability is to draw cards.) (March 20, 2002)
References that apply:
A: No, again the action is to discard it, not to draw the 3 cards. (Which is effect, but not what the action does.) Think of "Item use" as it's own sort of action...an "Item Use action". Nothing that restricts what sort of action you can do, will allow it. Nothing that looks for a specific type of action will recognize it either. (June 12, 2002)

Q: If your opponent has Letters From No One in play, can you use Harry Potter's ability to draw 2 cards per Action instead of one? (May 05, 2002)
A: Yes. Harry Potter's ability is still an Action to draw cards. Like the earlier question covered, using an Item to draw cards would NOT be allowed. (May 05, 2002)

 

Lockhart's Lecture

Q: The Effect on Lockhart's Lecture is "Whenever you use an Action to play a Spell, your opponent says, 'Brilliant!' If your opponent forgets, he or she takes 3 damage at the end of the turn." How long do I have to wait for my opponent to say, "Brilliant?" (CS-FAQ from WB.com)
A: You need to give your opponent a reasonable amount of time to say it. If you go too fast, he or she can tell you to wait. (CS-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: When do I need to point out that my opponent forgot? Right away or at the end of the turn? (CS-FAQ from WB.com)
A: You don't need to point out he or she forgot until the end of the turn. (CS-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: What if I play 2 Spells in 1 turn and my opponent forgets both times? (CS-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Your opponent will take only 3 damage no matter how many times he or she forgot in 1 turn. (CS-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Meeting Fluffy

Q: Can my opponent solve this if he or she has fewer than 3 cards in play other than his or her starting Character? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: No. Your opponent must have at least 3 cards in play for you to choose from. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: If my opponent solves this Adventure after he or she has taken his or her last Action, does my opponent still get the 1 Action from the reward or does he or she just miss out? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Your opponent still gets to take the 1 Action. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Midnight Duel

Q: What if my opponent doesn't have any other cards in his or her hand? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Then your opponent can't play a Creature or Spell card from his or her hand. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Peeves Causes Trouble

Q: If my opponent played Peeves Causes Trouble and I'm using Harry Potter's special ability to draw two cards instead of one, do I get 1 Damage or 2 Damage, per cards drawn during such Action? (August 31, 2001)
A: You just take 1. Peeves Causes Trouble deals 1 Damage when 1 or more cards are drawn. (August 31, 2001)

 

Pep Talk

Q: If I have a Pep Talk in play, and I play Fouled! on my opponent, does he use his first (and only) Action to draw his card and his turn is over? (November 28, 2001)
A: That's correct, though the player may solve the Pep Talk and then use the Action normally. (November 28, 2001)

Q: So you can solve Pep Talk before it makes you draw the card? (November 28, 2001)
A: Yes. Solving an Adventure may be done before you take any of your Actions. Once Pep Talk is gone, you can start using your Actions normally right away. The effect of Pep Talk doesn't last the whole turn like with some other cards (Hagrid Needs Help, for example.) (November 28, 2001)

 

Riding the Centaur

Q: With Riding the Centaurs in play, can your opponent solve this after drawing his or her first card and before his or her creatures do their damage? (Email September 03, 2002)
A: Yes. (Email September 03, 2002)

 

Snape's Bias

Q: When you have Snape's Bias played against you, is it ok to discard books to draw cards? (May 05, 2002)
A: Yes, using the ability of a card doesn't count as "spending an Action to draw a card" You're spending the Action to use the ability, not draw the cards directly. (May 05, 2002)

 

Stoat Sandwiches

Q: If my opponent already has Unicorn Horn, which is a Healing item, in play when I play this Adventure, can he or she use an Action to discard it? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Yes. Using a card's ability while it is in play does not count as "playing" it. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Unusual Pets

Q: Scabbers says it comes back to your hand during your opponent's turn. So Scabbers shouldn't go back during their turn when they could solve my Adventure, right? (May 05, 2002)
A: I missed that. Correct. If you discard him during your own turn, he stays in the discard pile. (May 05, 2002)
Previous Ruling Overruled:
Q: If your opponent decides to discard Scabbers to solve your Unusual Pets, would it go back to his/her hand? (May 05, 2002)
A: Yes. Scabbers doesn't care why he was discarded from play, so he'll come back. (May 05, 2002)

Character Cards

All Character Cards

Reference: Uniqueness: The uniqueness rule does apply to two different unique cards that represent the same Character. For example, if Harry the Seeker is in play, nobody can play Harry Potter or Harry the Seeker. (Rules Card form QC Set)

Q: What does it mean when a Character card says, "Provides (blue heart)?" (Base-FAQ from WB.com)
A: It means that it counts just like that Lesson. For example, if you have 4 Lesson cards, and that Character card in play, you could use cards that require 5 Lessons. (Base-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: How do you use Character cards? I know you play them for two Actions but once they are down do you simply announce using it's ability and then do it? And is this over and above your regular Actions? Also if you have a number of Characters down can you use each of their abilities on the same turn so in theory you could use 4 or 5 different abilities on the same turn? (August 31, 2001)
A: You can have lots of Characters in play at once, and they all give you access to their special abilities. They work just like they were your starting Character, but they can get discarded from play by an effect. (August 31, 2001)

Q: Can Character's use their abilities that don't require Actions even after they've used up all their Actions for that turn? (February 20, 2002)
A: Absolutely! Your turn isn't over until you say it is. (February 20, 2002)

Q: I have a Character card that isn't either a Witch or a Wizard. Can I use it as my starting Character anyway? (Base-FAQ from WB.com)
A: No. Your starting Character has to be able to cast Spells, so it needs to be a Witch or a Wizard. Any Characters that aren't Witches or Wizards (like Hagrid or Nearly Headless Nick for example) need to be played in your deck and not as a starting Character. Remember that you don't need any Lessons to play a Character card, but it takes 2 Actions. (Base-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: If my opponent plays Cobbing on me, can I discard my starting character? Since it doesn't say (except his or her starting character)... (June 12, 2002)
A: The rulebook states that you can never lose your starting character. The text is included on the cards to remind people, but doesn't actually need to be there. (June 12, 2002)

Q: Once I heard that the "Fred and George Weasley" and "The Weasley Twins" could be in play at the same time cause the title of the cards is different, even though they are the same characters. However, everyone knows that other characters with different names could not be in play at the same time. Can you tell me if both these cards can be in play at the same time, other then as both of them being starters. (Email November 1, 2002)
A: On page 4 of the Quidich rule book it states that you cannot have more than one copy of a character in play even if the card names are different. (Email November 1, 2002)

 

Albus Dumbledore

Q: Can I use Albus Dumbledore's ability if I have only 3 Lessons in play but also have an Item that produces Power? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: No, only actual Lesson cards count as Lessons. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Angelina Johnson

Q: Angelina Johnson says, "Before each of your turns, if there is a Match in play, you get 1 more Action that turn." What if I win the match before I take any Actions? Do I still get the extra Action? (CS-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Yes. The first thing you do on your turn is figure out how many Actions you'll get that turn. Once that is determined, only effects that specifically say they either add or subtract Actions will change that number. (CS-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Arthur Weasley

Q: Arthur Weasley says, "Once per turn, you may use an Action to choose 1 of your Items in play and do damage to your opponent equal to its printed Power cost." What if I also have Dumbledore's Office (all Item cards need 3 less Power to play) in play? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: You do damage equal to the number that is actually printed on the Item card. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: I have Arthur Weasley and a Nimbus Two Thousand in play. I use Arthurs ability and choose the Nimbus. Do I get the 2 damage bonus for a Quidditch Item doing damage or is Arthur's ability doing the damage? (Email October 16, 2002)
A: Arthur is doing the damage, not the N2K. No extra damage. (Email October 16, 2002)

 

Draco Malfoy

Q: Can Draco Malfoy's ability be activated more than once per turn? Can a player use both turns to discard an opponent's card? (August 31, 2001)
A: Draco Malfoy's ability CAN be used more than once per turn. As many Actions as you've got, that's how many times his ability may be used. (August 31, 2001)

Q: When the Human Chess Adventure is 'in play' and Draco Malfoy is your starting Character, does discarding cards to use his special power considered 'playing a card?' (February 20, 2002)
A: No that does not count as playing a card. (February 20, 2002)

 

Draco Malfoy, Slytherin

Q: Does Draco Malfoy, Slytherin only work for one Item each turn? (March 20, 2002)
A: Correct. You may use Draco Malfoy, Slytherin's ability once per turn. (March 20, 2002)

A: No, for Draco Malfoy, Slytherin it is actually the action of playing the item. With Eel Eyes and Beetle Eyes the action is to discard them (it does say to put Bulgeye Potion into play, but that is the "effect", not the "action"). (June 12, 2002)
Previous Ruling Overruled:
Q: Draco Malfoy, Slytherin states that when you play an Item, you get one extra Action once per turn... if i sac my Beetle Eyes and Eel Eyes to get the Bulgeye Potion, does that count towards getting an extra Action? (March 20, 2002)
A: Yep. You're playing an Item, so you get an extra Action. (March 20, 2002)

 

Fred and George Weasely

Q: If you had Hagrid Needs Help in play, would that basically prevent your opponent from playing Adventures or Characters until they solve it? (November 14, 2001)
A: Unless they have either Fred and George Weasely or Ron Weasley in play to reduce how many Actions it takes to play a Character or an Adventure. (November 14, 2001)

Q: Using Fred and George Weasley as my starting Character card, if I replace an Adventure with another Adventure that has the same name, does my opponent have to start solving the Adventure all over again or does my opponent get to count what he or she has already done (like skipping Actions) toward the new Adventure? (QC-FAQ from WB.com)
A: It's a brand-new Adventure, so your opponent has to start all over. (QC-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Harry Potter

Q: If my opponent played Peeves Causes Trouble and I'm using Harry Potter's special ability to draw two cards instead of one, do I get 1 Damage or 2 Damage, per cards drawn during such Action? (August 31, 2001)
A: You just take 1. Peeves Causes Trouble deals 1 Damage when 1 or more cards are drawn. (August 31, 2001)

Q: If your opponent has Letters From No One in play, can you use Harry Potter's ability to draw 2 cards per Action instead of one? (May 05, 2002)
A: Yes. Harry Potter's ability is still an Action to draw cards. Like the earlier question covered, using an Item to draw cards would NOT be allowed. (May 05, 2002)

 

Harry, Second Year

Q: Do I write down the name of the card before or after I see the other player's starting character? (Email October 11, 2002)
A: After. (Email October 11, 2002)

Q: Harry, Second Year is my starter. I have written down Steelclaw on a piece of paper. My opponent plays Steelclaw and I reveal the paper and heal 20 cards. If my opponent plays another Steelclaw can I reveal the paper again and heal 20 more cards? (Email October 16, 2002)
A: Yes, you can reveal it again to heal another 20. (Email October 16, 2002)

 

Hermione Granger

Q: You have 2 Lesson cards, Hermione Granger and Remembrall in play. After drawing your card at the start of your turn you decide to use Remembrall and put a Lesson card from your discard pile into play. Since this is considered an 'Action' according to Remembrall, can you now use Hermione Granger's special ability to play another Lesson card? Or only when you play a Lesson card from your hand? (August 31, 2001)
A: There is no difference in 'playing' and 'putting' a card in play, so if it says, "when you play a Lesson card," which Remembrall lets you do, from your discard pile, Hermione Granger would let you get an extra Lesson from there if you had one. (November 14, 2001)

Q: If you opponent has Human Chess Game and you have The Sorting Hat in play, can use uses its ability to get a wizard/witch or would chess game prevent it? (November 28, 2001)
A: As there is no difference between playing and putting a card this is new question, but I think the rules for Hermione Granger and Remembrall pretty much set the groundwork. (November 28, 2001)
References that apply:
Q: You have 2 Lesson cards, Hermione Granger and Remembrall in play. After drawing your card at the start of your turn you decide to use Remembrall and put a Lesson card from your discard pile into play. Since this is considered an "Action" according to Remembrall, can you now use Hermione Granger's special ability to play another Lesson card? Or only when you play a Lesson card from your hand? (August 31, 2001)
A: There is no difference in 'playing' and 'putting' a card in play, so if it says, "when you play a Lesson card," which Remembrall lets you do, from your discard pile, Hermione Granger would let you get an extra Lesson from there if you had one. (November 14, 2001)

 

Hermione, Potion Maker

Q: What does Hermione, Potion Maker do? (CS-FAQ from WB.com)
A: She lets you play 2 Lessons of different types for only 1 Action. For example, you can play 1 Potions Lesson and 1 Charms Lesson at the same time. If you have only 1 type of Lesson in your hand (for instance, only Potions), you can't use her ability. (CS-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Molly Weasley

Q: Molly Weasley lets me search my deck for "a Character card for a Weasley character." Which Character cards count? (CS-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Here is the current list of Character cards for Weasley characters (listed by set):
 - Base Set: Ron Weasley
 - Quidditch Cup: Fred & George Weasley
 - Adventures at Hogwarts: Ron the Brave
 - Chamber of Secrets: Arthur Weasley, Ginny Weasley, Molly Weasley, Percy Weasley, Ron, Youngest Brother, and The Weasley Twins. (CS-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Neville Longbottom

Q: If you have a Damage dealing Adventure in play, and Neville Longbottom as the opposing Character, does the Damage done before the turn count towards Neville Longbottom? (March 6, 2002)
A: Yes it does. (March 6, 2002)

 

Oliver Wood

Q: If I have Oliver Wood in play (unused) and my opponent has a Potions Ingredients, when I play a Quidditch Spell that Damages him, does he have to choose to prevent the Damage first or do I have to choose to use Wood or not first? (November 28, 2001)
A: You don't have to choose to use Wood's ability until after you know your Spell has dealt Damage. If Potion Ingredient is used, Wood simply wouldn't use his ability. (November 28, 2001)

 

Peeves

Q: Can I use Peeves's ability even if I have no cards in my hand to discard? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Yes, you still have a hand even if there are no cards in it. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: What happens if I use Peeves's ability and both my opponent and I have fewer than 7 cards left in our decks? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Do what the card says in order. First you discard your hand and draw 7 cards. Since you run out of cards in your deck, you lose the game. The rest of the Peeves effect never happens. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Percy Weasley

Q: Percy Weasley says, "At the end of each of your opponent's turns, if he or she played a non-Lesson card that turn, he or she takes 1 damage." What if my opponent played 2 non-Lesson cards? (CS-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Your opponent takes only 1 damage no matter how many non-Lesson cards he or she played in one turn. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Prof. Minvera McGonagall

Q: The card Hagrid Needs Help says that you lose an Action the turn it is solved. Yet, if I play or use a card that discards it, do I still get one Action taken away? (February 20, 2002)
A: If you begin your turn with Hagrid Needs Help stealing an Action from you, you've lost the Action no matter what you do. (February 20, 2002)
A: "No matter what you do" means neither Prof. Minerva McGonagall's special ability nor a spell card will prevent you from losing an action. (Email September 03, 2002)

 

Professor Quirinus Quirrell

Q: With the new 2-part Items, if an Item is played, removed via Professor Quirinus Quirrell's power or Spell, and then later replayed, does the initial effect get used again? (March 20, 2002)
A: Absolutely. Each time the Item is put into play it will do its 'when you play this card' ability. (March 20, 2002)

 

Professor Severus Snape

Q: If you're using Professor Severus Snape, and you have no other Potions Lessons, and your Spell tell you to discard one, what do you do? (August 31, 2001)
A: You can't play a Spell unless you actually have the Lesson cards in play to discard. (August 31, 2001)

Q: If I start with Professor Severus Snape, have 3 Transfiguration Lessons in play, and I have the Potion from Professor Severus Snape, can I play a card that needs to discard a potion? (February 20, 2002)
A: You just can't play the card. If you don't have a Potions LESSON you can't discard a Potions Lesson. Just having Potion power isn't good enough. (February 20, 2002)

 

Ron Weasley

Q: If you had Hagrid Needs Help in play, would that basically prevent your opponent from playing Adventures or Characters until they solve it? (November 14, 2001)
A: Unless they have either Fred and George Weasely or Ron Weasley in play to reduce how many Actions it takes to play a Character or an Adventure. (November 14, 2001)

 

Rubeus Hagrid

Q: Regarding Rubeus Hagrid, whenever 1 of your Creatures does 3 or more Damage to your opponent; it does 2 more Damage than it normally would. Would it do 2 more Damage times the number of 3+ Damage Creatures (all) or just 2 more Damage once? (August 31, 2001)
A: Each Creature will deal the additional Damage. (August 31, 2001)

Q: If Rubeus Hagrid is used in conjunction with Into the Forbidden Forest do 2 Damage Creatures get the bonus of Hagrid s ability? (November 14, 2001)
A: Yes, if it is during your turn, you may choose the order that your cards are adjusted; Hagrid only requires the Creature to deal 3 Damage, so with the Forbidden Forrest it does deal 3. And then raised to 5. (November 14, 2001)

Q: Just for clarification, can your starting Character be any Character or does it have to be a Witch or a Wizard? (February 20, 2002)
A: Your starting Character MUST be a Witch or Wizard. Non Witch/Wizard Characters may not be starting Characters, so no Rubeus Hagrid to start the game. (February 20, 2002)

Q: When playing Welsh Green Dragon, does the initial 6 damage when it is played get the Rubeus Hagrid
or Into the Forbidden Forest bonus? Also, does Welsh Green Dragon actually do the damage? Since it simply says do 6 damage to your opponent when this card comes into play? (Email September 03, 2002)
A: Yes and yes. (Email September 03, 2002)

 

Seamus Finnigan

Q: If you had Seamus Finnigan and 4 Unicorns, you could use 7Actions a turn, right? (November 28, 2001)
A: Yep! (November 28, 2001)

 

The Famous Harry Potter

Q: The Famous Harry Potter card says that if I have four cards or less in my hand, I may draw an extra on my turn, do I have to declare that before I draw my first one? (March 20, 2002)
A: You actually draw the card for The Famous Harry Potter before your normal draw takes place (before your turn) so no, you wouldn't get to see your normal draw. (March 20, 2002)

Creature Cards

Black Bat

Q: This card reads: "When you play this card, do 2 damage to your opponent." Does the Black Bat actually do this damage or am I doing it to my opponent? (Email October 11, 2002)
A: The Bat is doing it. (Email October 11, 2002)

 

Kelpie

Q: When playing cards like the Kelpie, where they protect you from Spells, can you explain how its Health is affected by attacks? (August 31, 2001)
A: You keep track of the Damage a Creature has taken with counters (or whatever's handy.) When the total amount of Damage the Creature's taken reaches its Health, the Creature is discarded. (August 31, 2001)

Q: When I play Toe Biter on my opponent and his/her Pet Toad (or Kelpie with at least 3 Damage counters) in play, can Pet Toad/Kelpie manage to absorb both the Damage it got from Toe Bitter and redirected Damage from my opponent; or first the opponent gets the Damage which he/she can redirect to Pet Toad, it dies and the 2 Damage to Pet Toad just 'fizzle out?' (August 31, 2001)
A: Do everything in the order the card says. If the Creature that's taking the Damage meant for the deck survives, then it may also take the Damage meant for Creatures. If it doesn't survive, another Creature must take the Damage. (August 31, 2001)

 

Marble Gargoyle

Q: If I have Rubeus Hagrid as a Character and my opponent has no Creatures in play, how much damage does the Gargoyle do? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: It depends on the order in which you use the effects. The smart thing to do would be to use the Gargoyle first, making it do 5 damage, and then use Rubeus Hagrid, pumping it up to a total of 7. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: If my opponent has either a Sandstone Gargoyle or Marble Gargoyle in play and I have no Creatures in play and my opponent plays Dog Bite and chooses his Gargoyle, do they get the "no Creature" bonus or do they just do the "Damage each turn?" (Email September 03, 2002)
A: Since Dog Bite says that the Creature does the damage, the Gargoyle's bonus will apply. (Email September 03, 2002)

 

Norbert

Q: In cards like Norbert, it says discard 2 CMC Lessons, but what if you have only 1? (August 31, 2001)
A: Then you can't play it. (August 31, 2001)

 

Pet Toad

Q: When I play Toe Biter on my opponent and his/her Pet Toad (or Kelpie with at least 3 Damage counters) in play, can Pet Toad/Kelpie manage to absorb both the Damage it got from Toe Bitter and redirected Damage from my opponent; or first the opponent gets the Damage which he/she can redirect to Pet Toad, it dies and the 2 Damage to Pet Toad just 'fizzle out?' (August 31, 2001)
A: Do everything in the order the card says. If the Creature that's taking the Damage meant for the deck survives, then it may also take the Damage meant for Creatures. If it doesn't survive, another Creature must take the Damage. (August 31, 2001)

Q: If I have a Pet Toad in play and my opponent plays a Malevolent Mixture can I choose to have the Pet Toad absorb all the damage and be removed from play or can I only choose to have the Pet Toad absorb one of the damage and I have to take the remaining nine damage? Another way to ask it: Does Pet Toad absorb ALL the damage from a chosen spell card or only as much damage as will reduce his health down to zero leaving the player to take the rest?' (Email September 03, 2002)
A: It absorbs all of the damage. (Email September 03, 2002)

 

Scabbers

Q: Scabbers says it comes back to your hand during your opponent's turn. So Scabbers shouldn't go back during their turn when they could solve my Adventure, right? (May 05, 2002)
A: I missed that. Correct. If you discard him during your own turn, he stays in the discard pile. (May 05, 2002)
Previous Ruling Overruled:
Q: If your opponent decides to discard Scabbers to solve your Unusual Pets, would it go back to his/her hand? (May 05, 2002)
A: Yes. Scabbers doesn't care why he was discarded from play, so he'll come back. (May 05, 2002)

 

Sandstone Gargoyle

Q: If I have Rubeus Hagrid as a Character and my opponent has no Creatures in play, how much damage does the Gargoyle do? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: It depends on the order in which you use the effects. The smart thing to do would be to use the
Gargoyle first, making it do 3 damage, and then use Hagrid, pumping it up to a total of 5. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: If my opponent has either a Sandstone Gargoyle or Marble Gargoyle in play and I have no Creatures in play and my opponent plays Dog Bite and chooses his Gargoyle, do they get the "no Creature" bonus or do they just do the "Damage each turn?" (Email September 03, 2002)
A: Since Dog Bite says that the Creature does the damage, the Gargoyle's bonus will apply. (Email September 03, 2002)

 

Unicorn

Q: If you have 4 Unicorns in play, you could choose to use a total of 6 Actions during your turn, correct? (November 28, 2001)
A: Ooooh yeah. (November 28, 2001)

Q: If you had Seamus Finnigan and 4 Unicorns, you could use 7 Actions a turn, right? (November 28, 2001)
A: Yep! (November 28, 2001)

 

Welsh Green Dragon

Q: When playing Welsh Green Dragon, does the initial 6 damage when it is played get the Rubeus Hagrid
or Into the Forbidden Forest bonus? Also, does Welsh Green Dragon actually do the damage? Since it simply says do 6 damage to your opponent when this card comes into play? (Email September 03, 2002)
A: Yes and yes. (Email September 03, 2002)

Item Cards

All Item Cards

Q: With the 2-part Items, if an Item is played, removed via Professor Quirinus Quirrell's power or Spell, and then later replayed, does the initial effect get used again? (March 20, 2002)
A: Absolutely. Each time the Item is put into play it will do its 'when you play this card' ability. (March 20, 2002)

 

Beater's Bat

Q: If you play Beater's Bat, which is use an item that says, use an action to discard a card from hard to do 2 damage to your opponent. Muddy Practice says that you discard a card from your hand 5 times to solve. Can the times you use beater's bat count towards the solving of Muddy Practice? (Email November 1, 2002)
A: Each needs to be paid for separately. Discarding is a payment that has to be paid separately. (Email November 1, 2002)

 

Beetle Eyes

Q: The Beetle Eyes and Eel Eyes Items state that you can discard them, take a Bulgeye Potion from your deck, and put it into play. Does the player still have to meet the Lesson requirement to do this? (March 20, 2002)
A: No. Those cards allow you to put the card into play so you don't need the normal requirements. (March 20, 2002)

Q: If you have Human Chess Game in play and you discard Eel Eyes and Beetle Eyes to put Bulgeye Potion in play, does that count towards playing a card for Human Chess Game? (March 20, 2002)
A: Yes. Putting a card into play and playing a card is the same thing. (March 20, 2002)

A: No, for Draco Malfoy, Slytherin it is actually the action of playing the item. With Eel Eyes and Beetle Eyes the action is to discard them (it does say to put Bulgeye Potion into play, but that is the "effect", not the "action"). (June 12, 2002)
Previous Ruling Overruled:
Q: Draco Malfoy, Slytherin states that when you play an Item, you get one extra Action once per turn... if i sac my Beetle Eyes and Eel Eyes to get the Bulgeye Potion, does that count towards getting an extra Action? (March 20, 2002)
A: Yep. You're playing an Item, so you get an extra Action. (March 20, 2002)

Q: I play Swelling Potion, which says that during my opponent's next turn, he or she can't use Actions to play Item cards. During my opponent's next turn, he wants to discard Eel Eyes and Beetle Eyes from play to search his deck for a Bulgeye Potion and put it into play. I know that putting a card into play is the same as playing it, so I don't think he can do this. Can he? (DA-FAQ from WotC)
A: The answer to this is similar to the above answer: Because your opponent is only using the Action to search his deck, Swelling Potion doesn't stop him from putting the Bulgeye Potion into play. (DA-FAQ from WotC)

 

Bludger

Q: If I have a Match in play with three damage left on it, but I have two Bludgers in play, do they both do damage before my turn, or just one? (May 05, 2002)
A: They BOTH deal damage. Bludgers are STRONG! (May 05, 2002)

 

Bulgeye Potion

Q: The Beetle Eyes and Eel Eyes Items state that you can discard them, take a Bulgeye Potion from your deck, and put it into play. Does the player still have to meet the Lesson requirement to do this? (March 20, 2002)
A: No. Those cards allow you to put the card into play so you don't need the normal requirements. (March 20, 2002)

Q: If you have Human Chess Game in play and you discard Eel Eyes and Beetle Eyes to put Bulgeye Potion in play, does that count towards playing a card for Human Chess Game? (March 20, 2002)
A: Yes. Putting a card into play and playing a card is the same thing. (March 20, 2002)

A: No, for Draco Malfoy, Slytherin it is actually the action of playing the item. With Eel Eyes and Beetle Eyes the action is to discard them (it does say to put Bulgeye Potion into play, but that is the "effect", not the "action"). (June 12, 2002)
Previous Ruling Overruled:
Q: Draco Malfoy, Slytherin states that when you play an Item, you get one extra Action once per turn... if i sac my Beetle Eyes and Eel Eyes to get the Bulgeye Potion, does that count towards getting an extra Action? (March 20, 2002)
A: Yep. You're playing an Item, so you get an extra Action. (March 20, 2002)

Q: I play Swelling Potion, which says that during my opponent's next turn, he or she can't use Actions to play Item cards. During my opponent's next turn, he wants to discard Eel Eyes and Beetle Eyes from play to search his deck for a Bulgeye Potion and put it into play. I know that putting a card into play is the same as playing it, so I don't think he can do this. Can he? (DA-FAQ from WotC)
A: The answer to this is similar to the above answer: Because your opponent is only using the Action to search his deck, Swelling Potion doesn't stop him from putting the Bulgeye Potion into play. (DA-FAQ from WotC)

 

Cage

Q: If I play Human Chess Game, my opponent can't play any cards if I don't play any cards, correct? However, my opponent can still use Actions, like drawing a card, solving the Adventure, trying to win the Match in play and using a Character's ability, so long as it doesn't entail putting a card into play, correct? Is there anything else my opponent can do? (November 28, 2001)
A: You are correct. As for Actions that don't count as playing cards...I think your list is complete, though it wouldn't surprise me if there was something else...using card abilities like Cage's... (November 28, 2001)

 

Comet Two Sixty

Q: I have a question about cards that prevent damage such as Comet Two Sixty. Now even though my opponent controls the turn order, do I declare what damage I am preventing? For instance... if they have an adventure or location that makes their creatures deal more damage, can I prevent the first damage with the Comet Two Sixty or other damage reducing items and spells? (June 12, 2002)
A: You may always choose the damage being prevented, unless the card says otherwise. In fact, you should always be clear about what damage you are preventing if numerous things (like creatures) are dealing damage at once. (June 12, 2002)

 

Dragon-Hide Gloves

Q: Dragon-Hide Gloves, does that prevent 1 Damage per each Creature so if your opponent had 6 Creatures doing Damage it would prevent 6 Damage? (March 20, 2002)
A: Yes, that's correct, assuming each Creature was dealing at least 1 point of Damage each. (March 20, 2002)

Q: Eeylops Owl Emporium says, "Whenever an Owl does damage, it does 1 more damage." Does this mean it does 1 damage twice or 2 damage at once? If I have Dragon-Hide Gloves out (whenever a Creature damages me, I prevent 1 of that damage) and my opponent hits me with a 1-damage Owl, do I take 1 damage or do I get to prevent each point and take nothing? (DA-FAQ from WotC)
A: Any effect that makes a card do more damage still means that the card does damage once -- it just does more than it normally would. In the example above, Eeylops Owl Emporium makes the Owl do 2 damage, your Dragon-Hide Gloves prevents 1 of that damage, and you take 1 damage. (DA-FAQ from WotC)
A: It does 2 damage at once. First figure out the base damage (1), then figure out any way to make the damage bigger (2), then apply any reduction or prevention effects (1). (Email September 03, 2002)

Q: Dragon-Hide Gloves states that whenever a Creature does damage to you, prevent one of that damage, so does that mean that if a Creature only does one damage that I have to take it? (June 12, 2002)
A: If the Creature is dealing one damage, and you can prevent one of that damage, you may stop all the damage the Creature deals. (June 12, 2002)

 

Dumbledore's Watch

Q: Can I choose not to discard all cards from play? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: No. If the Watch is in play before your turn, you must do what it says. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: Let's say I play Dumbledore's Watch, and the location Potions Dungeon is out. My opponent and I both have potions lessons in play. At the beginning of my next turn, Dumbledore's Watch goes off. In what order are the cards cleared from the table?
Supposedly the person whose turn it is chooses the order in which things take effect, when there is ambiguity. If this is the case, I would choose the following order, in terms of which cards are cleared off the table first:
#1 Discard my potions lessons from play (so they go back into my hand)
#2 Discard Potions Dungeon and all my other cards from play
#3 Discard all of my opponent's cards from play (they won't go back into his hand, because Potions Dungeon is gone). (Email September 03, 2002)

A: Always do things in order. If you are choosing which cards to discard, and you choose to discard the Lesson first, Potions Dungeon will cause the Lesson to go to your hand. If instead you choose to discard Potions Dungeon first, then it will be gone before the Lesson is discarded and its ability won't work. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: If the order isn't specified on the card, then the person whose turn it is chooses the order. What is outlined above will work. (Email September 03, 2002)

 

Eel Eyes

Q: The Beetle Eyes and Eel Eyes Items state that you can discard them, take a Bulgeye Potion from your deck, and put it into play. Does the player still have to meet the Lesson requirement to do this? (March 20, 2002)
A: No. Those cards allow you to put the card into play so you don't need the normal requirements. (March 20, 2002)

Q: If you have Human Chess Game in play and you discard Eel Eyes and Beetle Eyes to put Bulgeye Potion in play, does that count towards playing a card for Human Chess Game? (March 20, 2002)
A: Yes. Putting a card into play and playing a card is the same thing. (March 20, 2002)

A: No, for Draco Malfoy, Slytherin it is actually the action of playing the item. With Eel Eyes and Beetle Eyes the action is to discard them (it does say to put Bulgeye Potion into play, but that is the "effect", not the "action"). (June 12, 2002)
Previous Ruling Overruled:
Q: Draco Malfoy, Slytherin states that when you play an Item, you get one extra Action once per turn... if i sac my Beetle Eyes and Eel Eyes to get the Bulgeye Potion, does that count towards getting an extra Action? (March 20, 2002)
A: Yep. You're playing an Item, so you get an extra Action. (March 20, 2002)

Q: I play Swelling Potion, which says that during my opponent's next turn, he or she can't use Actions to play Item cards. During my opponent's next turn, he wants to discard Eel Eyes and Beetle Eyes from play to search his deck for a Bulgeye Potion and put it into play. I know that putting a card into play is the same as playing it, so I don't think he can do this. Can he? (DA-FAQ from WotC)
A: The answer to this is similar to the above answer: Because your opponent is only using the Action to search his deck, Swelling Potion doesn't stop him from putting the Bulgeye Potion into play. (DA-FAQ from WotC)

 

Invisibility Cloak

Q: Does Invisibility Cloak prevent the Spell card, Steelclaw, from doing additional Damage to you through your opponent's Creatures, if you choose to use Invisibility Cloak when that Spell card is played? (August 31, 2001)
A: Steelclaw says that the Creatures do the Damage, so Invisibility Cloak would not stop it. Winged Keys, on the other hand, would stop the Damage from the one Creature you picked. (August 31, 2001)

 

Golden Snitch

Q: What if my I play a Golden Snitch, then next turn my opponent Diffindo's it? The text on Golden Snitch does not say anything about the card having to be in play for the effect to happen, but it just doesn't seem right for this game-ending effect to happen if you are able to get rid of the card that causes it. I'm pretty sure that the ruling will be that the only way to survive the Golden Snitch is to fulfill its win condition, but I just wanted to make sure. (Email September 03, 2002)
A: All cards need to be in play for their effects to happen unless they specifically say otherwise. (Email September 03, 2002)

 

Nimbus Two Thousand

Q: I have Arthur Weasley and a Nimbus Two Thousand in play. I use Arthur's ability and choose the Nimbus. Do I get the 2 damage bonus for a Quidditch Item doing damage or is Arthur's ability doing the damage? (Email October 16, 2002)
A: Arthur is doing the damage, not the N2K. No extra damage. (Email October 16, 2002)

 

Philosopher's Stone

Q: Do I have to put all the Lessons in my discard pile back into play, or can I leave them in my discard pile so that they get shuffled back into my deck? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: You must put them all into play. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: What if I am under an effect that says I can't use Actions to play Lesson cards? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Then you can't use the Philosopher's Stone's ability, since it tells you to use Actions to play Lesson cards. There is no difference between playing Lessons from your hand and putting them into play from somewhere else. Because you can't do everything the card says, you won't be able to do just the Healing. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: Do you have to have lessons in your discard pile in order to use the Philosopher's Stone? (Email November 1, 2002)
A: No. (Email November 1, 2002)

 

Porcupine Robe

Q: If you have Porcupine Robe and Madam Malkin's Robes in play, does it cancel out the Porcupine Robes? (March 20, 2002)
A: Yep, Madam Malkin's Robes will prevent all the Damage dealt by Porcupine Robe. (March 20, 2002)

Q: My opponent has out three Curious Ravens and a Mountain Troll. I play a Porcupine Robe (put one damage counter on all Creatures who deal me damage) and Sloth Grip (prevent all but the first three damage in a turn). Now what happens to my opponent's Creatures? Do they all get counters? If not, who chooses who gets them? Can one player say that the Mountain Troll is doing all three damage, thus keeping the Curious Ravens alive? (May 05, 2002)
A: You choose how the damage is dealt, and what the Sloth Grip is preventing. The Creatures that do not deal damage (because it was prevented) will not get counters from Porcupine Robe. Whenever you've multiple Items applying at the same time, the player who's in control of the cards in question (in this case the Creatures) chooses how the effects apply. If there's a question of what order they apply, the player whose turn it is chooses. (May 05, 2002)
References that apply:
Q: How do you determine the order of card effects? For example, if I have a Madam Malkin's Robe Shop in play and my opponent has Rubeus Hagrid and a Vicious Wolf in play, depending on the order of the cards effect you will do either 4 or 2 damage. (May 05, 2002)
A: The player whose turn it is decides the order the card's effects apply, if it matters (no matter who controls them). (May 05, 2002)

 

Potions Ingredients

Q: If I have Oliver Wood in play (unused) and my opponent has a Potions Ingredients, when I play a Quidditch Spell that Damages him, does he have to choose to prevent the Damage first or do I have to choose to use Wood or not first? (November 28, 2001)
A: You don't have to choose to use Wood's ability until after you know your Spell has dealt Damage. If Potion Ingredient is used, Wood simply wouldn't use his ability. (November 28, 2001)

 

Put-Outer

Q: So if you use Put-Outer on your opponent's Character can they reuse that Character's ability? (March 20, 2002)
A: If a Character card leaves play and then returns again, yes, it will be able to use its 'once per game' ability again. (March 20, 2002)

 

Quidditch Cup

Q: This card says that once per turn that if I play a card that requires Quidditch power I get an extra action. Do I get an extra action for playing the cup? (Email October 11, 2002)
A: No. (Email October 11, 2002)

 

Remembrall

Q: You have 2 Lesson cards, Hermione Granger and Remembrall in play. After drawing your card at the start of your turn you decide to use Remembrall and put a Lesson card from your discard pile into play. Since this is considered an 'Action' according to Remembrall, can you now use Hermione Granger's special ability to play another Lesson card? Or only when you play a Lesson card from your hand? (August 31, 2001)
A: There is no difference in 'playing' and 'putting' a card in play, so if it says, "when you play a Lesson card," which Remembrall lets you do, from your discard pile, Hermione Granger would let you get an extra Lesson from there if you had one. (November 14, 2001)

Q: If you opponent has Human Chess Game and you have The Sorting Hat in play, can use uses its ability to get a wizard/witch or would chess game prevent it? (November 28, 2001)
A: As there is no difference between playing and putting a card this is new question, but I think the rules for Hermione Granger and Remembrall pretty much set the groundwork. (November 28, 2001)
References that apply:
Q: You have 2 Lesson cards, Hermione Granger and Remembrall in play. After drawing your card at the start of your turn you decide to use Remembrall and put a Lesson card from your discard pile into play. Since this is considered an "Action" according to Remembrall, can you now use Hermione Granger's special ability to play another Lesson card? Or only when you play a Lesson card from your hand? (August 31, 2001)
A: There is no difference in 'playing' and 'putting' a card in play, so if it says, "when you play a Lesson card," which Remembrall lets you do, from your discard pile, Hermione Granger would let you get an extra Lesson from there if you had one. (November 14, 2001)

 

Silver Cauldron

Q: If you have 2 Potions Lessons in play, and you play a Silver Cauldron, (discarding the two Lessons), does this mean you can still play any Spells that don't ask for discarding Lessons, until your opponent removes this Item? (August 31, 2001)
A: Yes, you may play anything that doesn't require a Lesson to be discarded, using the power provided by the Silver Cauldron. (August 31, 2001)

 

The Sorting Hat

Q: If you opponent has Human Chess Game and you have The Sorting Hat in play, can use uses its ability to get a wizard/witch or would chess game prevent it? (November 28, 2001)
A: As there is no difference between playing and putting a card this is new question, but I think the rules for Hermione Granger and Remembrall pretty much set the groundwork. (November 28, 2001)
References that apply:
Q: You have 2 Lesson cards, Hermione Granger and Remembrall in play. After drawing your card at the start of your turn you decide to use Remembrall and put a Lesson card from your discard pile into play. Since this is considered an "Action" according to Remembrall, can you now use Hermione Granger's special ability to play another Lesson card? Or only when you play a Lesson card from your hand? (August 31, 2001)
A: There is no difference in 'playing' and 'putting' a card in play, so if it says, "when you play a Lesson card," which Remembrall lets you do, from your discard pile, Hermione Granger would let you get an extra Lesson from there if you had one. (November 14, 2001)

 

Winged Keys

Q: Does Invisibility Cloak prevent the Spell card, Steelclaw, from doing additional Damage to you through your opponent's Creatures, if you choose to use Invisibility Cloak when that Spell card is played? (August 31, 2001)
A: Steelclaw says that the Creatures do the Damage, so Invisibility Cloak would not stop it. Winged Keys, on the other hand, would stop the Damage from the one Creature you picked. (August 31, 2001)

Location Cards

All Location Cards

Reference: Location cards represent different places in Harry's world. You'll find Location cards for each Lesson type. To play a Location card, you need the required amount of Power and you use up 1 of your Actions. When you play a Location card, it stays on the table. Because you can be in only one place at a time, there can be only one Location in play at a time. When you play a Location card, check to see if you or your opponent already has a Location in play. If there is one, discard the old Location from play. (DA Starter Set Rulebook)

Q: Who is in control of the order things happen if it's my opponent's location instead of my own, does this change anything? It shouldn't - I should still get to pick the order. My understanding was that the person who controls the cards chooses what they affect, and the person whose turn it is chooses the order in which they affect things. (Email September 03, 2002)
A: In this case it makes no difference if the location is yours or your opponent's. (Email September 03, 2002)

 

Eeylops Owl Emporium

Q: Eeylops Owl Emporium says, "Whenever an Owl does damage, it does 1 more damage." Does this mean it does 1 damage twice or 2 damage at once? If I have Dragon-Hide Gloves out (whenever a Creature damages me, I prevent 1 of that damage) and my opponent hits me with a 1-damage Owl, do I take 1 damage or do I get to prevent each point and take nothing? (DA-FAQ from WotC)
A: Any effect that makes a card do more damage still means that the card does damage once -- it just does more than it normally would. In the example above, Eeylops Owl Emporium makes the Owl do 2 damage, your Dragon-Hide Gloves prevents 1 of that damage, and you take 1 damage. (DA-FAQ from WotC)
A: It does 2 damage at once. First figure out the base damage (1), then figure out any way to make the damage bigger (2), then apply any reduction or prevention effects (1). (Email September 03, 2002)

 

Forbidden Corridor

Q: Forbidden Corridor states: Before each player's turn, he or she chooses 1 of his or her cards in play (other than his or her starting Character) and discards it. At the end of each player's turn, if he or she has no Lessons in play, discard this card. SO this is a conditional Location card, that does have a terminating time frame of it's own? Can you explain the Lessons part and when it actually comes out of play so it is clearer, please? (Email September 03, 2002)
A: At the end of each player's turn, check to see if they have no lessons in play. If they don't, Forbidden Corridor gets discarded. If they do, it stays in play. (Email September 03, 2002)

 

Gringotts

Q: Gringotts is a Location card that gives each player 1 more Action on each of his or her turns. What happens if Gringotts is out and I use my first Action to play a different Location card, making Gringotts go to the discard pile? Do I have 1 Action left or 2? (DA-FAQ from WotC)
A: You have 2 Actions left. Before your turn, you figure out how many Actions you will get that turn. Normally, you get 2 Actions, but some cards have effects that give you more than or less than 2 Actions. Once you figure out how many Actions you have for that turn, the only things that can change this number are cards that specifically say they give you more or fewer Actions that turn. If Gringotts goes away before you take your last Action, nothing explicitly says you lose the extra Action, so you still get to use it. (DA-FAQ from WotC)

 

Hagrid's House

Q: If something makes me discard two cards from play, Hagrid's House and a Care of Magical Creatures Lesson for example, what happens? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Always do things in order. If you are choosing which cards to discard, and you choose to discard the Lesson first, Hagrid's House will cause the Lesson to go to your hand. If instead you choose to discard Hagrid's House first, then it will be gone before the Lesson is discarded and its ability won't work. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Hospital Dormitory

Q: Can you take damage as opposed to having damage done to you? For instance, you need to take 8 damage to solve Hagrid Needs Help. Since this is damage that you are taking and it is not being done to you, can you still use Hospital Dormitory to prevent any of this damage? (Email September 03, 2002)
A: Yes. Read Hagrid Needs Help as saying: "Assign 8 damage to yourself." Once you assign the damage, you are free to prevent any of it and it will still count towards solving the Adventure.. (Email September 03, 2002)

 

Madam Malkin's Robes

Q: If you have Porcupine Robe and Madam Malkin's Robes in play, does it cancel out the Porcupine Robes? (March 20, 2002)
A: Yep, Madam Malkin's Robes will prevent all the Damage dealt by Porcupine Robe. (March 20, 2002)

Q: How do you determine the order of card effects? For example, if I have a Madam Malkin's Robe Shop in play and my opponent has Rubeus Hagrid and a Vicious Wolf in play, depending on the order of the cards effect you will do either 4 or 2 damage. (May 05, 2002)
A: The player whose turn it is decides the order the card's effects apply, if it matters (no matter who controls them). (May 05, 2002)

 

Potions Dungeon

Q: If something makes me discard two cards from play, a Potions Dungeon and a Potions Lesson for example, what happens? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Always do things in order. If you are choosing which cards to discard, and you choose to discard the Lesson first, Potions Dungeon will cause the Lesson to go to your hand. If instead you choose to discard Potions Dungeon first, then it will be gone before the Lesson is discarded and its ability won't work. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)


Q: Let's say you have Potions and a Potions Dungeon Location in play and your opponent uses Scribblifors. If they choose one of the Potions lessons as one of the cards, can you just put them both back in your hand? (Email September 03, 2002)
A: Always do things in order. If you are choosing which cards to discard, and you choose to discard the Lesson first, Potions Dungeon will cause the Lesson to go to your hand. If instead you choose to discard Potions Dungeon first, then it will be gone before the Lesson is discarded and its ability won't work. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: If the order isn't specified on the card, then the person whose turn it is chooses the order. What is outlined above will work. (Email September 03, 2002)

Q: Let's say I play Dumbledore's Watch, and the location Potions Dungeon is out. My opponent and I both have potions lessons in play. At the beginning of my next turn, Dumbledore's Watch goes off. In what order are the cards cleared from the table?
Supposedly the person whose turn it is chooses the order in which things take effect, when there is ambiguity. If this is the case, I would choose the following order, in terms of which cards are cleared off the table first:
#1 Discard my potions lessons from play (so they go back into my hand)
#2 Discard Potions Dungeon and all my other cards from play
#3 Discard all of my opponent's cards from play (they won't go back into his hand, because Potions Dungeon is gone). (Email September 03, 2002)

A: Always do things in order. If you are choosing which cards to discard, and you choose to discard the Lesson first, Potions Dungeon will cause the Lesson to go to your hand. If instead you choose to discard Potions Dungeon first, then it will be gone before the Lesson is discarded and its ability won't work. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: If the order isn't specified on the card, then the person whose turn it is chooses the order. What is outlined above will work. (Email September 03, 2002)

 

Quidditch Pitch

Q: If Albus Dumbledore is my Character and I also have Quidditch Pitch in play, how much does it cost to play a Quidditch Spell that has a printed cost of 7? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: You get the discount for both cards, so it will cost you only 3 Power, one of which must be Quidditch. Remember, though, that for Dumbledore's ability to work you need to have at least 4 Lessons in play! (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

 

The Burrow

Q: The Burrow says, "Before each player's turn, if that player has fewer than 4 cards in his or her hand, that player draws cards until he or she has 4." What if I have fewer than 4 cards in hand and another card in play that lets me draw a card before my turn? (CS-FAQ from WB.com)
A: If there are multiple cards that tell you to do something at the same time, the person whose turn it is picks which order to do them in. If you choose to use The Burrow first and then draw the extra card, you will end up with 5 or more cards in hand. If you choose to use the extra card draw first and then use The Burrow, you'll end up with 4. (CS-FAQ from WB.com)

 

The Leaky Cauldron

Q: The Location card The Leaky Cauldron says that playing a Character card uses up only 1 of my Actions instead of 2. I also have an Item that says, "You may use 2 Actions to search your deck. You may take a Character card of a Character that isn't already in play and put it into play. Then shuffle your deck." Did I just use 1 Action or 2? (DA-FAQ from WotC)
A: Even though you used 2 Actions to search your deck, you didn't use 2 Actions to put the Character card into play (if you did, you would have used up 4 Actions!). The Location doesn't give you a discount on searching your deck, so you used a total of 2 Actions. (DA-FAQ from WotC)

 

Wand Shop

Q: With Wand Shop do all charms lessons (Items, wands, etc.) get doubled or just the actual lesson cards? (May 05, 2002)
A: It's important to know that cards that provide power are not Lesson cards, but rather Lessons are one of many sorts of cards that provide power. Items, Characters and the like are not affected by Wand Shop, only Lesson cards. For this same reason you can't discard non-Lessons that provide power when a card requires such a Lesson to be discarded. Incidentally, this is by far the most common sort of question we get for HP. (May 05, 2002)


Match Cards

All Match Cards

Reference:
To play a Match card, you need the required amount of Power and you use up 1 of your Actions. There can be only one Match on the table ('in play') at a time. So if you or your opponent already has a Match in play, neither of you can play another one. A Match card has two parts:
To Win: This is what a player needs to do to win the Match. Unlike Adventures, it doesn't all have to be done at once. So a player might win Practice Match by doing 2 damage to his or her opponent one turn and 3 more the next turn. (This means each player needs to keep track of how much damage he or she has done towards winning the Match.) Also, unlike solving an Adventure, either player can win the Match.
Prize: The winner gets the prize explained on the card. When a player wins a Match, the Match is put in the discard pile of the person who played it. (Rules Card form QC Set)

Q: I need to do 4 more damage to my opponent to win a Match. If I play a Spell that does 4 damage to my opponent and then makes him or her choose 1 of his or her cards in play and discard it, what happens first? Do I get the prize for winning the Match first, or does my opponent have to discard a card from play first? (QC-FAQ from WB.com)
A: First do 4 damage to your opponent. Now you've won the Match, but you have to wait until the whole Spell is finished before you can claim your prize. Your opponent chooses and discards a card from play. Then, you finally get the prize, even if the card your opponent chose to discard was the Match in play (since you already won it). The last thing that happens is that the Match card is put into the discard pile (if it didn't get there already by some other effect). (QC-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Hufflepuff Match

Q: The prize section for Hufflepuff Match states that the winner may draw five cards. This means either 0 or 5 and not any number in between, correct? (March 6, 2002)
A: You are correct. It would have to say something like "up to 5 cards" for there to be that option. (March 6, 2002)

 

Muddy Practice

Q: Does discarding a card for any reason count toward winning this Match? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: No, you have to use an Action to discard a card for it to count. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: If you play Beater's Bat, which is use an item that says, use an action to discard a card from hard to do 2 damage to your opponent. Muddy Practice says that you discard a card from your hand 5 times to solve. Can the times you use beater's bat count towards the solving of Muddy Practice? (Email November 1, 2002)
A: Each needs to be paid for separately. Discarding is a payment that has to be paid separately. (Email November 1, 2002)

 

Three-Month-Long Match

Q: It you Catch the Snitch on a Three-Month-Long Match, does it do 45 or just 15? (March 20, 2002)
A: Yes, 15. (March 20, 2002)

Spell Cards

Apparate

Q: Can the Spells, Apparate or Logic Puzzle, be used to get rid of the Adventure, 4 Privet Drive, that prevents Spells? (March 6, 2002)
A: No. (March 6, 2002)

 

Catch the Snitch

Q: It you Catch the Snitch on a Three-Month-Long Match, does it do 45 or just 15? (March 20, 2002)
A: Yes, 15. (March 20, 2002)

 

Charms Exam

Q: If you play Charms Exam on your opponent, does he draw until he wants to stop, or does he pick a number before he starts and draws that many cards? (March 6, 2002)
A: You have to choose the number before you draw. No matter how you do it, you don't get to look at any cards before you decide to stop. (March 6, 2002)

 

Cobbing

Q: If my opponent has a match in play that has four damage left on it and I play a Cobbing which deals four damage and makes them discard a card from play, Since I determine card order... A) Can I claim my prize before they lose their card in play? and B) if not, if they discard the match, do I still get the prize? (June 12, 2002)
A: Finish out the Cobbing before moving on to the Match and its effects. If they discard the Match, you DON'T get the prize. (June 12, 2002)

 

Diffindo

Q: If you were to play Diffindo on an Adventure card, would you get the reward? (November 14, 2001)
A: Nope. Cards don't do things they don't say they do! (November 14, 2001)

 

Dog Bite

Q: If I have a card that lets me prevent all damage done by a Spell, can I prevent this damage? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: No. The Spell Dog Bite isn't doing any damage, the chosen Creature is. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

Q: If my opponent has either a Sandstone Gargoyle or Marble Gargoyle in play and I have no Creatures in play and my opponent plays Dog Bite and chooses his Gargoyle, do they get the "no Creature" bonus or do they just do the "Damage each turn?" (Email September 03, 2002)
A: Since Dog Bite says that the Creature does the damage, the Gargoyle's bonus will apply. (Email September 03, 2002)

 

Draco's Trick

Q: If I use the Draco's Trick card on an Adventure card like Human Chess Game, which says for the opponent's Reward "Your opponent may draw 3 cards," who gets to draw the cards? Me? Or my opponent? (Base-FAQ from WB.com)
A: You do. Draco's Trick basically changes it so that you get the reward instead of your opponent. If it said you take 3 damage, it would be your opponent that would take that damage. (Base-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Dungbomb

Q: Does Dungbomb prevent Damage from an Adventure that does Damage 'Before your turn?' (February 20, 2002)
A: Yes, 'before your turn,' counts as during your turn. (February 20, 2002)

Q: If you played Dungbomb and you have a Troll in the Bathroom in play, and then its your opponents turn and they solve your Adventure, do you take any damage that turn from the Adventure? Or does the reward get around that? (May 05, 2002)
A: Dungbomb states that is prevents the damage dealt by your opponent's Adventures and Creatures. Your Adventures will still deal damage to you normally…Troll in the Bathroom is your card, and it deals damage to you when the opponent solves it. (May 05, 2002)

 

Fouled!

Q: If I have a Pep Talk in play, and I play Fouled! on my opponent, does he use his first (and only) Action to draw his card and his turn is over? (November 28, 2001)
A: That's correct, though the player may solve the Pep Talk and then use the Action normally. (November 28, 2001)

 

Good Night's Sleep

A: I expect it is not correct, as the FAQ question was written thinking that Good Night's Sleep wasn't a Healing card, which it is. Because it is a healing card, it should be able to work on any Charcater, not just non-healing ones. I recommend playing the card as written. (May 05, 2002)
Previous Ruling Overruled:
Q: Good Night's Sleep tells me to use one of my Characters' "once per game" abilities. What does this mean? (DA-FAQ from WotC)
A: You can tell if a Character has a "once per game" ability by reading the card's text. If it says "once per game," it is a "once per game" ability. Good Night's Sleep lets you choose one of your non-Healing Characters with a "once per game" ability that you have already used and use that ability again, right then. You can't save the ability to use later. (DA-FAQ from WotC)

 

Hagrid and the Stranger

Q: In a previous chat you said that you had to have all the card requirements to play a card, i.e. Hagrid and the Stranger you needed a Creature in your discard how about cards like Ouch! if your opponent doesn't have a card in hand to discard can you play it? (March 20, 2002)
A: Yes. You have to be able to do something a Spell says to do in order to play it. It'll be next chat (or you can call us or e-mail us tomorrow) before I can explain why you can play Mid Air Collision without a card to discard and not Hagrid and the Stranger without a card in the discard pile. (March 20, 2002)
References that apply:
Q: So what about Ouch!? Can you play it on your opponent, if he doesn't have a card to discard? (March 20, 2002)
A: Ouch! is actually pretty clear. It says "if" they have a card in their hand, they have to discard. (March 20, 2002)

 

Lapifors

Q: Lapifors says to choose a Creature in play and discard it, but what if there are no Creatures in play to choose? The second part of the Spell lets me search my deck for a Creature card to put in my hand. Can I still play the Spell just to get the Creature out of my deck? (DA-FAQ from WotC)
A: To play a card, you need to be able to do everything it says. If you can't choose a Creature in play to discard, you can't play Lapifors at all. (DA-FAQ from WotC)

 

Logic Puzzle

Q: Can the Spells, Apparate or Logic Puzzle, be used to get rid of the Adventure, 4 Privet Drive, that prevents Spells? (March 6, 2002)
A: No. (March 6, 2002)

 

Mid-Air Collision

Q: If you play Mid-Air Collision, but you have no cards to discard, what happens? (March 20, 2002)
A: My off the cuff answer on Mid-Air Collision is you can't play if you don't have a card (other than your starting Character) to discard. I'd like to get a second opinion, and nobody is here to back me up. (March 20, 2002)

Q: In a previous chat you said that you had to have all the card requirements to play a card, i.e. Hagrid and the Stranger you needed a Creature in your discard how about cards like Ouch! if your opponent doesn't have a card in hand to discard can you play it? (March 20, 2002)
A: Yes. You have to be able to do something a Spell says to do in order to play it. It'll be next chat (or you can call us or e-mail us tomorrow) before I can explain why you can play Mid Air Collision without a card to discard and not Hagrid and the Stranger without a card in the discard pile. (March 20, 2002)
References that apply:
Q: So what about Ouch!? Can you play it on your opponent, if he doesn't have a card to discard? (March 20, 2002)
A: Ouch! is actually pretty clear. It says "if" they have a card in their hand, they have to discard. (March 20, 2002)

 

Ollivanders

A: Ollivanders will allow you to put a Healing Item back in your hand from the discard pile. It reads: "Put an Item card from your discard pile into your hand." (from card)
Previous Ruling Overruled:
Q: Are there any cards that could get Healing cards back into your hand? (March 20, 2002)
A: Nope. There are no cards (yet, anyway) that bring Healing cards back once they are in the discard pile. (March 20, 2002)

 

Ouch!

Q: In a previous chat you said that you had to have all the card requirements to play a card, i.e. Hagrid and the Stranger you needed a Creature in your discard how about cards like Ouch! if your opponent doesn't have a card in hand to discard can you play it? (March 20, 2002)
A: Yes. You have to be able to do something a Spell says to do in order to play it. It'll be next chat (or you can call us or e-mail us tomorrow) before I can explain why you can play Mid Air Collision without a card to discard and not Hagrid and the Stranger without a card in the discard pile. (March 20, 2002)
References that apply:
Q: So what about Ouch!? Can you play it on your opponent, if he doesn't have a card to discard? (March 20, 2002)
A: Ouch! is actually pretty clear. It says "if" they have a card in their hand, they have to discard. (March 20, 2002)

Q: So what about Ouch!? Can you play it on your opponent, if he doesn't have a card to discard? (March 20, 2002)
A: Ouch! is actually pretty clear. It says "if" they have a card in their hand, they have to discard. (March 20, 2002)

 

Potions Project

Q: Potions Test and Potions Project both do damage to my opponent until he or she discards a certain number of Lessons from his or her deck. Do those Lessons have to be discarded in a row? (CS-FAQ from WB.com)
A: No. (CS-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Potions Test

Q: Potions Test and Potions Project both do damage to my opponent until he or she discards a certain number of Lessons from his or her deck. Do those Lessons have to be discarded in a row? (CS-FAQ from WB.com)
A: No. (CS-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Pure-Blood

Q: How do I play one of the Password cards? (CS-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Pick the card you are playing, and then put it face down on the table. Ask your opponent to guess Pure-Blood, Sherbet Lemon, or Wattlebird. After he or she guesses, show him or her the card and follow the instructions. (CS-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Scribblifors

Q: Let's say you have Potions and a Potions Dungeon Location in play and your opponent uses Scribblifors. If they choose one of the Potions lessons as one of the cards, can you just put them both back in your hand? (Email September 03, 2002)
A: Always do things in order. If you are choosing which cards to discard, and you choose to discard the Lesson first, Potions Dungeon will cause the Lesson to go to your hand. If instead you choose to discard Potions Dungeon first, then it will be gone before the Lesson is discarded and its ability won't work. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: If the order isn't specified on the card, then the person whose turn it is chooses the order. What is outlined above will work. (Email September 03, 2002)

 

Sherbet Lemon

Q: How do I play one of the Password cards? (CS-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Pick the card you are playing, and then put it face down on the table. Ask your opponent to guess Pure-Blood, Sherbet Lemon, or Wattlebird. After he or she guesses, show him or her the card and follow the instructions. (CS-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Sloth Grip

Q: My opponent has out three Curious Ravens and a Mountain Troll. I play a Porcupine Robe (put one damage counter on all Creatures who deal me damage) and Sloth Grip (prevent all but the first three damage in a turn). Now what happens to my opponent's Creatures? Do they all get counters? If not, who chooses who gets them? Can one player say that the Mountain Troll is doing all three damage, thus keeping the Curious Ravens alive? (May 05, 2002)
A: You choose how the damage is dealt, and what the Sloth Grip is preventing. The Creatures that do not deal damage (because it was prevented) will not get counters from Porcupine Robe. Whenever you've multiple Items applying at the same time, the player who's in control of the cards in question (in this case the Creatures) chooses how the effects apply. If there's a question of what order they apply, the player whose turn it is chooses. (May 05, 2002)
References that apply:
Q: How do you determine the order of card effects? For example, if I have a Madam Malkin's Robe Shop in play and my opponent has Rubeus Hagrid and a Vicious Wolf in play, depending on the order of the cards effect you will do either 4 or 2 damage. (May 05, 2002)
A: The player whose turn it is decides the order the card's effects apply, if it matters (no matter who controls them). (May 05, 2002)

 

Steelclaw

Q: Does Invisibility Cloak prevent the Spell card, Steelclaw, from doing additional Damage to you through your opponent's Creatures, if you choose to use Invisibility Cloak when that Spell card is played? (August 31, 2001)
A: Steelclaw says that the Creatures do the Damage, so Invisibility Cloak would not stop it. Winged Keys, on the other hand, would stop the Damage from the one Creature you picked. (August 31, 2001)

 

Stream of Flames

Q: I have a question about the order things happen in with spells like Toe Biter and Stream of Flames; mostly I am just clarifying... Some cards say AND THEN, these cards say, "you may also".... So do they do damage at the same time or do I declare the order or what? (June 12, 2002)
A: The effects occur in the order listed on the card, though as nothing can occur between the effects, it usually doesn't matter. (June 12, 2002)

 

Swelling Potion

Q: I play Swelling Potion, which says that during my opponent's next turn, he or she can't use Actions to play Item cards. During my opponent's next turn, he wants to discard Eel Eyes and Beetle Eyes from play to search his deck for a Bulgeye Potion and put it into play. I know that putting a card into play is the same as playing it, so I don't think he can do this. Can he? (DA-FAQ from WotC)
A: Because your opponent is only using the Action to search his deck, Swelling Potion doesn't stop him from putting the Bulgeye Potion into play. (DA-FAQ from WotC)

 

Switching Spell

Q: What if there are no Items in play to discard? Can I play this card just to search my deck? (AH-FAQ from WB.com)
A: No. You need to be able to do everything a card says in order to play it. (AH-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Toe Biter

Q: When I play Toe Biter on my opponent and his/her Pet Toad (or Kelpie with at least 3 Damage counters) in play, can Pet Toad/Kelpie manage to absorb both the Damage it got from Toe Bitter and redirected Damage from my opponent; or first the opponent gets the Damage which he/she can redirect to Pet Toad, it dies and the 2 Damage to Pet Toad just 'fizzle out?' (August 31, 2001)
A: Do everything in the order the card says. If the Creature that's taking the Damage meant for the deck survives, then it may also take the Damage meant for Creatures. If it doesn't survive, another Creature must take the Damage. (August 31, 2001)

Q: I have a question about the order things happen in with spells like Toe Biter and Stream of Flames; mostly I am just clarifying... Some cards say AND THEN, these cards say, "you may also".... So do they do damage at the same time or do I declare the order or what? (June 12, 2002)
A: The effects occur in the order listed on the card, though as nothing can occur between the effects, it usually doesn't matter. (June 12, 2002)

 

Transfiguration Exam

Q: Do you have to get rid of all Creatures in you deck and on the board with Transfiguration Exam? (August 31, 2001)
A: Just the ones in play (thank heavens!) (August 31, 2001)

 

Wattlebird

Q: How do I play one of the Password cards? (CS-FAQ from WB.com)
A: Pick the card you are playing, and then put it face down on the table. Ask your opponent to guess Pure-Blood, Sherbet Lemon, or Wattlebird. After he or she guesses, show him or her the card and follow the instructions. (CS-FAQ from WB.com)

 

Weakness Potion

Q: To play a card such as Weakness Potion, I need to discard 1 of my Potions Lessons from play. If I don't have any Potions Lessons in play, what happens? (QC-FAQ from WB.com)
A: If you don't have any of the type of Lessons it says to discard, then you can't play the card. Remember that only actual Lesson cards are Lessons. Items or Characters that provide Potions Power don't count. (QC-FAQ from WB.com)



  Copyright 2001 - 2014 - Pojo.com - All Rights Reserved.

HARRY POTTER, characters, and names trademarks of Warner Bros. 
Pojo.com is in no way affiliated with Warner Brothers or Harry Potter. 
We wish we were, but we are just an Unofficial News Site.
;-)