|  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  | |||
|  | ||||||||||
|  |  | |||||||||
|  |  | |||||||||
|  | ||||||||||
| 
 |  |  | 
 Animate Shackles 
							10.05.04  
                            
                             
 
                          Q: I have Vedalken 
                          Shackles in play, my nefarious opponent has two 
                          Blinkmoth Nexi. He activates them both, I activate the 
                          shackles to grab Blinkmoth A, in response he activates 
                          his Blinkmoth A and taps it to give B more power and 
                          toughness. 
                          My question is, am I stuck 
                          with a tapped creature that I lose at the end of the 
                          turn since it's not a creature and Shackles stop 
                          controlling it? 
                          -Chad Boyer 
                          A: You are stuck with a 
                          tapped creature until end of turn, but when the 
                          animation effect wears off, you will still get to keep 
                          the Nexus. Once the Shackles' ability have resolved, 
                          it does not matter what form the stolen permanent 
                          takes - as long as it is in play, and the Shackles 
                          remain tapped, you will keep it. 
                          --- 
                          Q: If I have only 1 life, 
                          can I generate a mana with City of Brass, and respond 
                          the trigger that would deals damage with an instant 
                          (that will kill may opponent) and win? 
                          A: Yes. The triggered 
                          ability on City of Brass is separate from the ability 
                          that gives you mana. 
                          --- 
                          Q: It is impossible to do 
                          this (I would die) with the pain lands (for example, 
                          Underground River), correct? 
                          A: Correct. The damage is 
                          part of drawing the mana on the pain lands. As soon as 
                          you draw the mana, you take the damage. 
                          --- 
                          Q: It's also impossible if 
                          I announce the instant and then generate mana with 
                          City of Brass (In this case the trigger will resolve 
                          before the instant and kill me :-( ), correct? 
                          -Freddy 
                          A: Also correct, for the 
                          reason you state. --- 
                          Q: If I put the 
                          Treacherous Link on my opponent's only creature and he 
                          blocks my Phage with it, does he lose the game? 
                          -Joann 
                          A: Yes. The damage is 
                          redirected to him, and he dies. 
                          --- 
                          Q: Yesterday we had a 
                          Kamigawa sealed event but we had some problems during 
                          the tournament. First I will give you the problems we 
                          had and then what we did about them - not truly 
                          knowing exactly what we were supposed to do as these 
                          problems have never occurred before.  For future 
                          reference with these types of problems can you give me 
                          the proper answers even though we can't change it now. #1. During a match a player thought one of his creatures died during his opponents attack and put it into the graveyard. Then during the middle of their next main phase that player realized that the creature was not killed in combat....neither player at the time (because the cards were new) realized this until now. Answer #1 I said neither player got a warning (since its FNM and the set was new) but the creature that died stayed dead. I said this because the amount of time that passed was too great as it could have effected both the opponents plays the previous turn as well as the players decisions before and after he drew his card. A: Good way to handle it there. I wouldn't have changed a thing. 
                          --- 
                          #2. A player played a 
                          Nezumi Graverobber on the second turn and on the third 
                          turn attacked into a 1/1 guy with a sac ability. He 
                          then after damage used the ability to remove a 
                          "target" card from the graveyard but the was none - 
                          flipped his guy was assigned and his opponent saced 
                          his creature. The "illegal" target or lack there of 
                          was discovered on the 1/1 controller's last phase. 
                          Neither player thought it was an illegal play at first 
                          as again this set is new. Answer #2 well the problem here was - does the creature live, die stay huge.... we had timing issues- again time passed etc .etc. In the end the player admitted he was going to sac his 1/1 Sakura Tribe Elder to get a land after damage was on the stack so then the other player would then have a legal target. They both agree to this - we didn’t know what to do but accepted it as well since it would still work and it was a realistic conclusion... A warning was giving to the player with the Nezumi Graverobber for making an illegal action. -Dan 
                          A: Again, probably the 
                          best way to handle it. The players came up with an 
                          acceptable solution themselves. (Of course, make sure 
                          the Sakura Tribe Elder is removed from the game under 
                          this scenario.) 
                          Both of the above 
                          situations would be penalized more harshly at a PTQ (I 
                          say this because the current season of qualifiers is 
                          Champions sealed deck), but at a "friendly" event like 
                          FNM, you will want to be lenient with new cards. 
                          See you Friday. 
                          Bill Guerin DCI Level 2 Judge | |||||||
Copyright 2001 Pojo.com
Magic the
        Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
        This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an
        Official Site.