Judge Bill

Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers  
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage
Jason's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Hasty Sacrifice

Sorry, there's no tournament report this Tuesday or next. This week, because I start this column very close to deadline and am already late with COTDs, so something has to give. Next week, because I'll be at the prerelease for Fifth Dawn in San Diego, and I go to bed early on the night before to make sure I get some sleep. The tournament reports should resume in 2 weeks.


Q: If I tapped mana to summon an Iron Myr artifact creature, could I sacrifice that Iron Myr to a Krark-Clan Grunt so I can target my opponent to lose 1 life with the Disciple of the Vault?

-Chiko D.

A: Yes. Haste only prevents you from playing an activated ability with the tap symbol on that permanent, or attacking with that permanent.


Q: If I have one Plains, Mountain, Island, Forest, and a Swamp in play will Sundering Titan destroy all my lands or just one of them?

A: Assuming your opponent has no lands of those types, Sundering Titan will destroy all of them.


Q: Does Sundering Titan destroy only all lands of the type chosen or just one. Like if my opponent has 10 islands if I chose Islands will it destroy 1 or 10?


A: Read the card...

(abilities of Sundering Titan read...)

When Sundering Titan comes into play, choose a land of each basic land type, then destroy those lands.

When Sundering Titan leaves play, choose a land of each basic land type, then destroy those lands.

Now, apply the rules of English. A = One, so Sundering Titan will destroy one Island.


Q: If I attack with Rhox and my opponent blocks with a creature with protection from green, can the damage from the Rhox still be assigned directly to the opponent?


A: Yes. Rhox's ability ignores protection - it is not trample, it simply allows you to assign damage to your opponent as if Rhox was unblocked.


Q: If I have a creature in play with enchantments and/or equipments on it and I equip it with a Whispersilk Cloak, what happens? Are the enchantments destroyed and the equipments unequipped?

A: No, the enchantments and equipment stay on. Enchantments and equipment only target the creature when they are first played on the creature. After they are on the creature, they no longer target it.


Q: I have Mycosynth Lattice in play and my opponent plays Furnace Dragon. Would the dragon also be removed from play?

A: Yes.


Q: I have a Mirrorwood Treefolk in play enchanted with Guilty Conscience and I pay for its ability to deal all damage dealt to it directly to my opponent. I then attack and deal combat damage that is not prevented in any way, will this cause a loop?



(Mirrorwood's ability...)

{2}{R}{W}: The next time damage would be dealt to Mirrorwood Treefolk this turn, that damage is dealt to target creature or player instead.

THE NEXT TIME. So it will only apply once.


Q: What is the difference between Characteristic Setting Abilities and Static Abilities?

-Tan Cai Zhao

A: A Characteristic Setting ability is an ability that sets one or more characteristics of a card. Characteristics are defined in 201.2, quoted below.

(Most Characteristic Setting Abilities are static abilities ... for example, Mistform Ultimus's "This is every creature type" is both a characteristic setting ability and a static ability.)

A static ability is defined in 405, which also lays out characteristic setting abilities quite well.

201.2. An objectís characteristics are name, mana cost, color, type, subtype, supertype, expansion symbol, rules text, abilities, power, and toughness. Objects can have some or all of these characteristics. Any other information about an object isnít a characteristic. Characteristics donít include any other information, such as whether a permanent is tapped, a spellís target, an objectís owner or controller, what a local enchantment enchants, and so on.


Q: I have Defensive Formation in play. The card specifies that instead of the attacking player, I (Defending player) decides how attacking creatures (attacking me) deal combat damage. Does this mean I could have them do damage to themselves? The attacking player? My invisible friend named Bob (from accounting)?

-Don S.

A: No to all of your questions. Even though you are assigning the damage, the damage still has to be assigned according to the rules for assigning combat damage, as follows:

310.2a Each attacking creature and each blocking creature will assign combat damage equal to its power. Creatures with 0 or less power donít assign combat damage.

310.2b An unblocked attacking creature will assign all its combat damage to the defending player.

310.2c A blocked creature will assign combat damage, divided as its controller chooses, to the creatures blocking it. If no creatures are currently blocking it (if, for example, they were destroyed or removed from combat), it will assign no combat damage.

310.2d A blocking creature will assign combat damage, divided as its controller chooses, to the attacking creatures itís blocking. If it isnít currently blocking any creatures (if, for example, they were destroyed or removed from combat), it will assign no combat damage.

310.2e An effect that states a creature deals its combat damage in a different manner than normal affects the assignment of combat damage.

(Trample is an exception to 310.2c, making you assign the combat damage to the defending player if there are no longer any creatures blocking it.)

See you Friday.

Bill Guerin

DCI Level 2 Judge


Ask Judge Bill A Question



Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.