Judge Bill

Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers  
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage
Jason's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Reclaiming Workers

Q: If I equip my Arcbound Worker with a Skullclamp, can I move the counter to my Arcbound Reclaimer and pay that counter to put the worker back on top of my library before I draw the two cards from the Skullclamp?

-Derek M.

A: Make sure you stack your triggers correctly, but yes, you can do this, as follows:

-Skullclamp is equipped to Worker

-Worker dies due to having 0 toughness.

-You now have 2 triggers: "Draw 2 cards" from Skullclamp, and "Put Worker's counter on an artifact creature" from Worker's modular ability. Since you control both triggers, you choose the order they go on the stack.

-Put the "Draw 2 Cards" on the stack first, then put the Modular trigger on the stack, targeting the Reclaimer.

-Let the Modular trigger resolve.

-Now you can play the Reclaimer's ability to put the Worker on top of the deck. It will resolve before the card draw, and you get the Worker back.


Q: Does Damping Matrix hinder the activated abilities of creatures currently in the Graveyard?


A: No. Creatures only exist in play. Everywhere else, they are creature cards.


Q: If I have a Ravager and another artifact in play (Ravager has 1 counter on it), and I sacrifice the Ravager to itself, would you move 1 or 2 counters from the Modular ability?

-Conley W.

A: One. The Ravager only has one counter when it goes to the graveyard, therefore, you will only be able to put one counter on the other creature.


Q: With Lancers en-Kor, can I make its toughness up to a million in 1 turn by directing damage to itself over and over?


A: No. Redirecting damage to itself is pointless, as it won't move the damage anywhere. The en-Kor ability does not increase the creatures toughness - it only moves where damage to it would be dealt.


Q: If I play Magma Burst and pay the kicker, does the damage HAVE to be to two different targets? Can't I just burn the player for 6?


A; The damage HAS TO be to 2 separate targets. You CAN NOT choose the same target twice. (409.1c)


Tournament Report - FNM - Diamond Bar, CA

Well, I made a few changes to the deck, to change it to the following:

U/W Control

3 Eternal Dragon

2 Akroma's Vengeance

4 Damping Matrix

4 Decree of Justice

3 Mana Leak

3 Pulse of the Fields

4 Rewind

3 Stifle

4 Thirst for Knowledge

4 Wrath of God

4 Cloudpost

4 Coastal Tower

4 Flooded Strand

5 Island

7 Plains

2 Temple of the False God


4 Circle of Protection: Red

2 Mind's Eye

2 Mindslaver

3 Purge

4 Sacred Ground

26 players again.

Round 1 - Johnathan L. - MBC

Game 1 - I mulligan a one land hand, and keep the 6. I staunch his early attacks, Wrath away his team, and cycle 2 consecutive Decrees for 4 to finish him.

Sideboard: In: 2 Mindslaver, 3 Purge. Out: 2 Akroma's Vengeance, Decree of Justice, Pulse of the Fields, Damping Matrix.

Game 2 - He gets a couple of early men out after he mulligans once, but I just cast Pulse of the Fields to keep my life up. Eventually, I Wrath, and start cycling Decrees. Unfortunately, he has Echoing Decay for my first 2 Decrees, and I leave up Rewind mana for my third Decree. He doesn't have another Decay, and I swing. He attempts to Consume Spirit me a couple of times, but my tokens outrace him.

Games: 2-0, Matches: 1-0.

Round 2 - Devin L. - Bidding

Game 1 - He drops some guys, but I keep casting Pulse to undo the damage. He eventually gets the bidding, and overwhelms me. I never draw a Wrath.

Sideboard: In: 4 CoP: Red, 2 Mindslaver. Out: 3 Stifle, Eternal Dragon, Thirst for Knowledge, Damping Matrix

Game 2 - I mulligan a one land hand, but turn 2 CoP and 4 Cloudpost prevents anything from happening.

Sometime during this game, I drop Damping Matrix at a bad time for me, where he could do a lot of damage. He just says OK, and it resolves. Things went much easier from there.

Game 3 - I get the early CoP again, and he starts attacking when he removes a couple of Dragons. I Wrath his team, and cycle a Decree to provide blockers.

Games: 4-1, Matches: 2-0.

Round 3 - Adam H. - RG Beasts

Game 1 - I have to take 2 mulligans, and I hit a mana burp. That is enough for him to attack me to death.

Sideboard: Nothing.

Game 2 - I keep my hand of 7, and get to play some Pulse tricks before Wrathing. Unfortunately, he comes back out, and when he has me at 4, my Pulse is preempted by his Pulse, and I lose.

Games: 4-3, Matches: 2-1.

Round 4 - Matt S. - "Dull Red" (Mono Red with a lot of artifact damage sources)

Game 1 - I have to mulligan my first hand, but I keep the 6. Unfortunately for me, he draws into Slith Firewalker and 3 Oxidda Golems. The third Golem is the kicker, as it puts him through my block for the winning damage.

Sideboard: Nothing. (didn't see enough red to put in the CoP.)

Game 2 - He gets an Oxidda Golem out, and casts a Blistering Firecat. I try to play Pulse tricks, but he gets another Blistering Firecat, and I lose.

Games: 4-5, Matches: 2-2.

I drop at this point to go home.

See you Friday.

Bill Guerin

DCI Level 2 Judge


Ask Judge Bill A Question



Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.