Judge Bill

Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers  
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage
Jason's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

A Shifty Error

We start with a correction:

C: Yesterday you wrote:

>>>Q: If I use Shifty Doppleganger on Phage the Untouchable to attack and win the game, Do I lose do to Phage's "When Phage the Untouchable comes into play, if you didn't play it from your hand, you lose the game" ability, even if She comes from the hand?


A: The Doppelganger is already in play. So when it changes forms to Phage, it is not "coming into play," because it is already in play.<<<

You've answered the question as if he was asking about Vesuvan Doppelganger (that can copy the creature when it is already in play), but the Shifty Doppleganger put the creature in play and will make the player lose the game.


A: You're absolutely correct. I saw the preposition "on" and my mind saw Volrath's Shapeshifter instead of Shifty Doppleganger. So I didn't bother to look it up. Thanks for correcting me.


Q: Can I play Viridian Shaman if there is no artifact to destroy?

-James C.

A: Yes. The Shaman hasn't come into play until its ability resolves, and its ability is a triggered ability that triggers upon it coming into play. If there are no artifacts in play at that time, the Shaman's ability will simply be removed from the stack after it triggers.


Q: If I have Shared Fate in play and I have no library would I deck out, also If I have shared Fate on the board and draw a whole lot of cards would my opponent deck out?

-Jerry K.

A: No to both questions. It is impossible for either player to lose to not being able to draw a card if Shared Fate is in play, as the card draw is replaced by taking the top card of your opponent's library and removing it from game face down. Since this is not a card draw, if you are unable to do it, you simply do nothing and play on.


Q: If I play Deconstruct on a Darksteel Gargoyle, do I still get the counters even though the creature cannot be destroyed or is the spell nulled?


A: You'll still get the counters. The spell's target is still legal, so it resolves. The destruction is stopped, but since the spell resolved, you'll do all of the untargeted parts of the card, which means you get the counters.


Q: If I spend X mana and tap Thought Dissector, then I play Retract or Regress or some other form of returning the Thought Dissector to my hand, what will happen with the effect?

A: The effect still resolves. See Mantra 8.


Q: And if the effect goes off, what happens if a artifact is revealed?


A: You get the artifact on your side of the board. The game tries to sacrifice Thought Dissector, but since it is no longer in play, the game can't.


Q: If I cast Chain of Plasma at my opponent, and he discards a card to bounce it back to be, can I discard Guerilla Tactics to do 7 to him (3 from the copied Chain and 4 from the Tactics)?

-Timmy S.

A: Yes. The copy is a spell controlled by your opponent that is causing you to discard Guerilla Tactics, so it will trigger.


Q: If a creature has protection from artifacts can I equip it?


A: No. See Mantra 4.


Q: If a Lethal Vapors is in play, and I play Natural Affinity, will the Lethal Vapors destroy my lands? I wouldn't think so since the lands are already in play.

A: You have the answer correct, for the reason you stated.


Q: If someone plays Arrest on one of my creatures, can I still equip my creature with Surestrike Trident to do damage to my opponent?

A: No. Surestrike Trident gives the creature the ability. Since the creature has the ability, Arrest will prevent you from playing it.

Surestrike Trident


Artifact -- Equipment

Equipped creature has first strike and "{T}, Unattach Surestrike Trident: This creature deals damage equal to its power to target player."

Equip {4} ({4}: Attach to target creature you control. Equip only as a sorcery. This card comes into play unattached and stays in play if the creature leaves play.)


Q: Is the source of that damage from the creature or the Trident?


A: The creature.

See you Tuesday.

Bill Guerin

DCI Level 2 Judge


Ask Judge Bill A Question



Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.