Judge Bill

Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers  
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage
Jason's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Missing Targets

Q: What happens if there is no legal target for the "when comes into play" ability? e.g. when I'm playing Cloudchaser Eagle (when comes into play destroy target enchantment) and there are no enchantments in play at the moment. Just nothing happens or maybe i can't play it?
-Pawel K.
A: If there are no legal targets for a creature's coming into play triggered ability, then nothing happens. Selecting a target is a part of the triggered ability, not the spell itself, so you don't need a target to play the creature.
Q: Do creature tokens from the same spell, such as One Dozen Eyes, share a same name, so Echoing Courage could be played on one, and all of them would have +2/+2?
A: Unless the spell or ability that creates the tokens says otherwise, its creature type is its name. So all of the 1/1s from One Dozen Eyes have the same name.
216.1. The spell or ability that creates the token sets both its name and creature type at the same time. If the spell or ability doesn’t specify the name of the token, its name is the same as its creature type. A “Goblin creature token,” for example, is named “Goblin” and has the creature subtype Goblin.
Q: If a card is played like Deconstruct or Birchlore Rangers and their effects for adding mana are used, does the mana die at the end of the turn and do you have a choice to take the mana burn?
A: 300.3. When a phase ends (but not a step), any unused mana left in a player’s mana pool is lost. That player loses 1 life for each one mana lost this way. This is called mana burn.
This is not an optional action. If you have unused mana in your pool at the end of a phase, you will take mana burn.
Q: I have a Galina's Knight, which has protection from red. Does that mean if I use it to block a red creature that I can avoid the damage it would deal or not?
-Bruce B.
A: Any damage from a red source that would be dealt to Galina's Knight is prevented.
See you Friday.
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge


Ask Judge Bill A Question



Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.