| 
			 | 
		
			 | 
		
			 | 
		
			 | 
		
			 | 
		
			 | 
		
			 | 
		
			 | 
	|||
			![]()  | 
	||||||||||
| 
			 | 
		
			 | 
	|||||||||
			![]()  | 
		
			 | 
	|||||||||
| 
			 | 
	||||||||||
						
  | 
					
                         
 XX Fun 
                          Q: If a player taps one R 
                          and six other mana and plays Meteor Shower, would the 
                          X+1=7 or would the (X) (X) cost mean X+1=4? 
                        -Jared A. 
                          A: Meteor Shower 
                        {X}{X}{R} Sorcery Meteor Shower deals X+1 damage divided as you choose among any number of target creatures and/or players. 
                          Since there are two X's in 
                          Meteor Shower's mana cost, you have to put the same 
                          amount in both X's. So for 6 colorless mana, you can 
                          cast Meteor Shower for X=3 damage, making the cost of 
                          that Meteor Shower {3}{3}{R}={6}{R}. 
                        
                          --- 
                        
                          Q: Can you counter the 
                          same spell twice? 
                        
                          A: You can play as many 
                          counterspells on one spell as you want. But once a 
                          spell is countered, it is removed from the stack. Any 
                          other counterspells still targeting it will be 
                          countered for lack of a legal target. 
                        
                          (So, if you Fold Into 
                          Aether your own same spell twice, you will only be 
                          able to drop one creature, as the second Fold Into 
                          Aether will be countered for lack of a legal target.) 
                        
                          --- 
                        
                          Q: What if you make 2 
                          creatures in play legends, what happens? 
                        
                          A: Nothing, unless the 2 
                          creatures you make legends have the same name. If they 
                          do, then the one that gets turned into a legend second 
                          is put into the graveyard, as it has been the legend 
                          with the same name for the shortest amount of time. 
                        
                          --- 
                        
                          Q: If I Disenchant an 
                          Altar of dementia, how many times can they sack a 
                          creature? 
                        
                          A: As many times as they 
                          have creatures or can make creatures until Disenchant 
                          resolves. See Mantra 11. 
                        
                          --- 
                        
                          Q: What if I play Brain 
                          Freeze when my opponent has 2 cards left in their 
                          deck? 
                        
                          -Omar S. 
                        
                          A: Then your opponent puts 
                          both cards into his grave. He will not lose 
                          immediately - he has to be unable draw a card before 
                          he loses, and Brain Freeze is not a draw effect. 
                        
                          --- 
                        
                          Q: My opponent plays 
                          Confiscate on Panoptic Mirror and immediately uses the 
                          Tinker imprinted on it ... 
                        
                          -Gaming 
                        
                          A: He cannot do this. 
                          Panoptic Mirror only lets you copy a spell at the 
                          beginning of its controller's upkeep. Its copy effect 
                          is not useable at any other time. 
                        
                          --- 
                        
                          Q; A fellow Magic player 
                          confused me and several of my friends by saying that 
                          while an Equipment card is attached to a creature, and 
                          you want to attach it to another creature, you have to 
                          pay the equip cost to "de-equip it* from the creature. 
                          Then you pay the equip cost again to attach it to the 
                          creature you want to equip it too. 
                        
                          -Loek M. 
                        
                          A: This is incorrect. You 
                          can never voluntarily "de-equip" an equipment from a 
                          creature by paying the equip cost. To move an 
                          equipment from one creature to another you control, 
                          you simply pay the equip cost. 
                        
                          502.33a Equip is an 
                          activated ability of artifact Equipment cards. The 
                          phrase "Equip [cost]" means "[cost]: Move this 
                          Equipment onto target creature you control. Play this 
                          ability only any time you could play a sorcery." 
                        
                          --- 
                        
                          Q: I'm using the Aluren, 
                          Wirewood Savage, Cavern Harpy combo... Aluren and 
                          Wirewood Savage are already in play, I cast Cavern 
                          Harpy, then as a condition needs to return a blue or 
                          black creature, I return the same Cavern Harpy. Then 
                          my opponent cast Incinerate on the Harpy. Can he 
                          destroy the Harpy? 
                         
                        
                          A: You do not immediately 
                          return a blue or black creature to your hand when 
                          Cavern Harpy comes into play. The ability requiring 
                          you to return a blue or black creature is a triggered 
                          ability, and uses the stack. Therefore, your opponent 
                          can respond to that triggered ability by playing 
                          Incinerate on the Cavern Harpy. If no other spells or 
                          abilities are played, Incinerate will kill the Cavern 
                          Harpy, and then you will have to return a different 
                          blue or black creature to you hand (if you have one on 
                          the board). 
                        
                          (Of course, you could 
                          respond to the Incinerate by paying 1 life to return 
                          the Harpy to your hand, which will go on the stack on 
                          top of, and resolve before, the Incinerate.) 
                        
                          --- 
                        
                          Q: Humility is in play. I 
                          play Uktabi Orangutan. Can I kill an artifact, before 
                          the Uktabi Orangutan gets affected by Humility? 
                         
                        
                          -ferdie 
                        
                          A: No. The Orangutan comes 
                          into play affected by the Humility. So when it comes 
                          into play, it is a 1/1 with no abilities (and thus 
                          doesn't have the ability to destroy an artifact). 
                        
                          See you Tuesday. 
                        
                          Bill Guerin 
                        DCI Level 2 Judge 
  | 
				|||||||||
Copyright 2001 Pojo.com
Magic the
        Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
        This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an
        Official Site.