Judge Bill

Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers  
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Chrstine Gerhardt
Jason Chapman
- on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage
Jason's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Feb 27, 2004  Dual Land Types

Title: Dual Land Types
Questions: 13


Q: When a spell refers to finding a certain card (more specifically, "search your library for a forest card"), does it mean a card with the name Forest or the land type Forest? In other words, can I use such an effect to search for Taiga?

A: It looks for the land type Forest, so yes, you could get a Taiga with that card.


Q: On the same note, can I use an effect that allows me to search for a basic land to search for Savannah, since it "counts as a plains and a forest", both of which are basic lands?


A: No. If a card searches for a basic land, it looks for a land card with the supertype "Basic." Savannah does not have the supertype basic, so you couldn't get it.

(By the way, the dual lands have different text now. They have no text in their text box. Their type land is simply "Land - Type1 Type2," where Type1 and Type2 are the 2 types of lands that they used to "count as.")


Q: With Arcbound Ravager, if I sac it to itself, and it is still a 1/1, do I get two counters or one counter from its modular effect?

A: One. The Effect allowing you to add a counter will fail to do anything, since the Ravager isn't around when it resolves.


Q: If I have an Ambush Commander in play and my opponent targets one of my forests with Echoing Decay, will I lose all my Forests?

A: Yes. They are all creatures with the name Forest. (If you somehow had a Forest that wasn't a creature, it wouldn't be destroyed.)


Q: When a card turns one permanent into another type (Natural Emergence= lands become creatures), it then can be targeted by spells that could target either type of permanent?

A: Correct.


Q: Regarding the previous question, if I try to destroy a creature land while he has Natural Emergence in play with Dark Banishing, etc., and he removes his Natural Emergence via Disenchant, does the spell fizzle?

A: The term "fizzle" was removed in the Sixth Edition rules change. Now, when all targets of a spell are removed, the spell is countered. (Most people still use "fizzle" though, like we still use "summoning sickness." Some habits are too hard to break.

[Now, if they would only bring back "bury..."])


Q: When a spell fizzles, does it count as a spell that has been countered and triggers Multani's Presence?

-Ray C.

A: Yes.


Q: When a land tapped to cast a spell leaves play in any way, does the spell fizzle?

-Poging B.

A: No. Once the spell has been paid for, it doesn't care what happened to the permanents that allowed you to pay for it.


Q: With a Final Fortune imprinted on an Isochron Scepter, could I have infinite turns?


A: No. You would lose at the end of the first turn you took via a Final Fortune.


Q: Now that I am somewhat aware of the rules of the stack, I have a question that came up when we were playing a game. One player had out a Mageta the Lion, and a friend on my team had a Humble in his hand. My friend was wondering if he could Humble the lion in response to it using its wrath effect...I remembered what you said about the stack, that once activated, an ability exists independently of its source, and no matter what happens to its source after the ability is played, it WILL RESOLVE. But, I also remember the Last In First Out rule, and it didn't quite make sense to me that, if Mageta used his effect, and in response he is Humbled, and the Humble resolves first, wouldn't he be a 0/1 without abilities, and therefore not be able to use his ability?

-Kyle F.

A: (I really need to find a more elegant wording for Mantra 8. The current wording is way too narrow.)

Think of it this way. You are a soldier in a war. You see a soldier from the opposite side pull the pin on a grenade and throw it at you. Once he's thrown the grenade, you shoot him. What happens with the grenade?


Q: If I equip Skullclamp on a creature with 1 toughness, do I have time to sacrifice it before it goes to the graveyard?

-Jack C.

A: No. It dies as a state-based effect, before you get the chance to play anything else.


Q: I'm playing a Modular deck and I have in play 3 Arcbound creatures with 1 counter on each and a few lands and a Blinkmoth Nexus. My opponent plays Wrath of God. Is there any way I can save the Modular counters after a Wrath of God resolves when they go to the graveyard? Can I activate my Nexus to target it for the Modular counters thus making my Nexus have 3 counters?

-Henry N.

A: No to both questions. If the Nexus is a creature when Wrath of God resolves, it will die too. There is no time after the Arcbound creatures die but before their triggered modular abilities go away that you get to play spells or abilities.


Q: I am confused as to what happens when a face down Wall of Deceit either blocks or becomes blocked. Can I put its 2 damage on the stack, and then turn it face down so that it still does 2 damage to the blocking/blocked creature and then it has 5 toughness?

-Robert H.

A: This works just fine.


Tournament Report - Frank & Son Tournament - 21 Feb 04

Well, I put an Ivory Mask in the sideboard to combat Urzatron, making the list as follows:

4 Weathered Wayfarer
4 Dark Supplicant
4 Planar Guide
4 Daru Spiritualist
4 Shared Triumph
4 Lightning Greaves
4 Cabal Archon
4 Rotlung Reanimator
4 Skullclamp
1 Scion of Darkness
10 Plains
6 Swamp
4 City of Brass
4 Starlit Sanctum
1 Barren Moor

1 Patriarch's Bidding
1 Withered Wretch
2 Dark Banishing
3 Terror
4 Cabal Interrogator
2 Akroma's Vengeance
1 Unholy Grotto
1 Ivory Mask

Round 1 - Chad U. - DiscipleTog

Game 1 - He goes first. He gets a quick Disciple out, and an Atog, and starts attacking. I get a Cabal Archon out, but don't find the combo. He finds a second Disciple, and sacs his artifacts to kill me.

Sideboard: A thought occurs to me. I ask the Head Judge for the Oracle wording on Disciple of the Vault. Chad is kind enough to show it to me, so I don't have to wait. As I hoped, it says "TARGET opponent," so I board...

In: Ivory Mask, Out: Skullclamp.

Game 2 - I mulligan once (a one land hand). My combo goes off, and he says he can still kill me. I wait it out, he draws a bunch of cards, and then realizes he boarded out one of the combo cards (Dross Scorpion), so he scoops.

Game 3 - He gets the nuts aggro draw, and my one attempt to start the combo is met with a Shrapnel Blast to my Daru Spiritualist. He kills me on turn 5.

Games: 1-2, Matches: 0-1.

(His combo is Aether Vial with 2 counters on it, Arcbound Ravager, 2xMyr Retriever, and Disciple of the Vault.)

Round 2 - Jasper C. - Goblin Bidding

Jasper drew last round against a different deck that gains a bunch of life. Lovely.

Game 1 - He wins the roll, and comes out slow. However, I kept a 4 land hand, and the lands kept coming, so I had no chance.

Sideboard: In: Patriarch's Bidding, Out: Skullclamp.

Game 2 - I slow him down enough to get my combo off, and he concedes.

Sideboard: Back to original configuration, after I realize how stupid casting Bidding against this deck would be.

Game 3 - I stall on 3 land, needing 1 more land for the combo. He comes hard, and I die on turn 5 with the combo in hand. (2xPiledriver + 2xSledder + Sparksmith + Skirk Prospector = world of pain.)

Games: 1-4, Matches: 0-2.

I wish this tournament report was a bit longer, but this is where my playing ends. I get a call at the start of round 3 from my mom, and she says she needs to talk and sounds bad, so I concede to be able to talk to her. (She's just really sick, and just wanted to gab for a bit. Besides, both times I get paired up [we had a repair] to a player that is 1-1, so I would have just conceded anyway.) Then, my 4th round opponent doesn't show, and I drop to go visit my mom.

See you Tuesday.

Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

Ask Judge Bill A Question



Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.