Judge Bill


Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers  
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage
Jason's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Community
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Modular Treasure

Q: I have a Modular creature in play (e.g., Arcbound Worker), and I play Trash For Treasure, sacrificing the Worker to bring back another artifact creature from my graveyard (e.g., Arcbound Slith). Assuming the Worker had 1 counter when I sacrificed it, I'd like to know just what happens. First, here's my version of events (which I think is correct anyway):

a) I announce Trash For Treasure, select its target (Slith), and pay its costs, including sacrificing the Worker.

b) Trash For Treasure goes on the stack.

c) Worker's Modular ability triggered during its sacrifice, so now I select a target (if there is one), and it goes on the stack on top of Trash For Treasure. (If there is no legal target [no other artifact creatures out], it is removed from the stack [410.4].)

d) Assuming my opponent doesn't interfere, the Modular ability resolves, putting the Worker's counter on the ability's target (if one was selected).

e) Trash For Treasure resolves, putting the Slith into play form the graveyard.

Final Result: Slith has 1 counter; if I had another artifact creature in play, it now has 1 counter from Worker's Modular (plus any others it might have started with); if I didn't, the counter vanishes (this is the real point I'm trying to make).

Basically, I can't put the Worker's counter on the Slith I just brought into play, can I?

-Jeff C.

A: You've got it all correct.

---

Q: If I have an indestructible creature in play, would a Wrath of God destroy it?

-ehousman

A: No. Indestructible creatures can't be destroyed.

---

Q: I think you've said earlier that mana-producing abilities are faster than normal abilities, and therefore can't be responded to, correct?

A: Mana abilities do not use the stack. That is why they can not be responded to.

---

Q: If so, does that mean that I can tap my Elvish Aberration for GGG and my opponent can't respond by Dark Banishing my Elvish Aberration to not let me get the mana because it's a mana ability?

A: Yes. The mana is already in your pool before your opponent has a chance to play the Dark Banishing.

---

Q: What about a normal ability, like with say Kamahl, Pit Fighter? If I tap it do deal 3 damage to a player, can that player respond by, say, Dark Banishing or Swords to Plowshares on my Kamahl and then not take any damage?

A: I would suggest you go back and re-read what I wrote for you in the last column. I have already answered this question. Also, see Mantra 8.

---

Q: If I have a Dream Thrush in play, and a player taps a Mountain for red mana, to cast Shock on my Dream Thrush...can I save my Dream Thrush by responding with its ability and tap it to change his Mountain into a Plains or a Forest?

A: No. The mana has already been drawn from the land.

---

Q: I Soul Foundry an Ancient Ooze. I make a token every turn, and so since it makes an "Exact Copy" of the creature Soul Foundried, does that mean that each Ancient Ooze I make keeps getting stronger and stronger, and they feed off of one another's total converted mana costs, each one getting +7/+7 for each new Ancient Ooze that comes into play?

A: Assuming you have a permanent with a converted mana cost greater than zero to make the first Ooze greater than 0/0, yes.

---

Q: Can you tap land "In response" to something? Like my friend had 6 land out, and I tapped one of his land with an Icy, and tried to use another Icy to tap another of his lands, and in response could he say, "in response I tap my lands to add 5 mana to my mana pool"? (effectively "floating" his lands?) and then cast his Bribery?

A: I already answered a question that asked the same type thing in the last column for you.

---

Q: If I play Orim's Chant on my opponent's turn, wouldn't it be logical (seeing as how the stack works) to think that they could play a spell in response? Or just in response tap all of their land, play a spell, and in response, play another spell? (I know they can't play creatures or other permanents or sorceries in response because they play at sorcery speed), but what about emptying their hand of all their instants in a big chain in response to me playing Orim's Chant? (assuming they have enough mana to pay for all of these instants).

A: They can play as many spells as they wish (and that are legal to play at the time Orim's Chant was played) until Orim's Chant resolves.

---

Q: If I attack with a creature, and my opponent blocks with his creature, can I then play a spell like Shock or Volcanic Hammer to do lethal damage to his blocker and kill it, and have the damage from my attacking creature go through? Or is it effectively blocked?

A: It is blocked. Once a blocker has been declared to a creature, the attacking creature is blocked, no matter what happens to the blockers after they block.

(Besides, you can't cast Volcanic Hammer in combat anyway - it's a sorcery.)

---

Q: If I wanted to surprise him like that, and I can't do it the way I said, when can I do it? Right after I declare my attack, before he declares blockers?

A: You may play any number of instants after you attack and before he blocks. Once he blocks, the creature is blocked.

---

Q: Also, is there a time on my combat phase where I "announce" the creatures I'm attacking with, BEFORE I tap them to attack? Like I say, "I'm going to attack with Troll Ascetic", and then I actually physically tap it and say "attack"? Or does it all happen at once?

A: It happens close enough to "all at once." (You can't do anything between the attackers being chosen and tapping them.)

---

Q: I'm also slightly unclear about priority...do I have priority on my turn, or any time I play a spell? Or any time I respond to a spell's effect being put on the stack?

A: 408.1c The active player gets priority at the beginning of most phases and steps, after any game actions are dealt with and abilities that trigger at the beginning of that phase or step go on the stack. No player gets priority during the untap step and players usually donít get priority during the cleanup step (see rule 314.3). The player with priority may either play a spell or ability, take a special action, or pass. If he or she plays a spell or ability, or takes a special action, the player again receives priority; otherwise, his or her opponent receives priority. If both players pass in succession (that is, if both players pass without taking any actions in between passing), the top object on the stack resolves, then the active player receives priority. If the stack is empty when both players pass in succession, the phase or step ends and the next one begins.

---

Q: Can I discard a madness card, such as Fiery Temper, from my hand at the end of my turn if I have 8 cards in my hand, and then pay {R} to play it for it's madness cost?

A: Yes.

---

Q: In a tournament, if I pull off my infinite combo, say, I use Wirewood Channeler with Pemmin's Aura to create infinite mana, throw down an Ambassador Laquatus to deck my opponent in one turn, do I have to manually produce the mana, saying that I tap it and untap it, tap it and untap it, counting the mana I produce as I go along? Or can I just say, "I repeat this process a million billion trillion times" (in case I wanted to Stream of Life and gain a million billion trillion life)?

-Kyle F.

A: The latter. Once the loop has been demonstrated, you choose a number of times you want the loop to go. If the opponent states he does not wish to interfere with that loop, then the loop is considered to have happened that many time.

However, this rule may not apply if the loop includes ending a phase or step. Ask the Head Judge of the tournament you are attending if you want the ruling for that tournament.

---

Q: If I have a Mycosynth Lattice in play and I cast a Furnace Dragon. Will the removal of every permanent resolve before or after the dragon comes into play?

A: After. The Dragon's ability to remove all artifacts triggers when he comes into play.

---

Q: Can I cast Retract in response (to the triggered ability)?

A: Yes.

---

Q: If so, will the Dragon go back too?

-Junwei H.

A: Yes. The Lattice makes the Dragon an artifact when he is in play.

---

Q: Which cards are banned from tournaments? Are certain cards like Legends banned from them as well?

-John A.

A: The cards that are legal (or not legal) for any sanctioned tournament can be found in the Magic Floor Rules. You can get a copy of the Magic Floor Rules at http://www.wizards.com/dci/downloads/03-04_Magic_FR.doc.

---

Q: If I have a creature available to block, and the opponent attacks me, can I choose not to block?

A: Yes. Creatures attack players. The defending player chooses whether or not to block.

---

Q: Can two cards in offensive position attack each other?

-Gojin

A: No (This is not Yu-Gi-Oh!). Creatures never attack creatures. They attack players.

---

Q: Although you have already mention the creatures that have protection from the same color as the blocker, but what if the blocker also got protection from the same color as the attacker. So, my question is can the blocker block the attacker if both are white and both have protection from white.

A: Other than the stated quality, the characteristics of the creature that wants to block DO NOT MATTER. If the blocker has the stated quality that the attacker has protection from, it can not block the attacker.

---

Q: How many times can Megatog's ability be used in a turn?

-Ung

A: As many times as you can pay the cost (sacrificing an artifact). Unless otherwise stated, the only limit on how many times you can play an ability is how many times you can pay the cost.

See you Tuesday.

Bill Guerin

DCI Level 2 Judge

 

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 2001 Pojo.com

   

Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.