| 
						
					 | 
					  | 
					  | 
					
                           
                        Pojo's Magic The Gathering 
                        Judge's Corner
						 
                        
						Feb 3, 2004  Ownership & 
						Tourney Report 
                        Title: Ownership 
						Questions: 26 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: If I have Equilibrium in play and then I play Gilded 
						Drake and exchange it with an opponent's creature, if I 
						pay 1 to use the ability for Equilibrium on Gilded 
						Drake, would that return Gilded Drake to my hand or my 
						opponent's? Maybe if you could just clarify "owner", 
						whether I would be the owner of the card or my opponent 
						because he is currently in control of it. 
						 
						-Ian 
						 
						A: From the Rulebook: 
						 
						Owner 
						The owner of a card is the player who started the game 
						with that card in his or her deck or, for cards that 
						didn’t start the game in a player’s deck, the player who 
						brought the card into the game. (Legal ownership is 
						irrelevant to the game rules, except for the rules for 
						ante.) The owner of a token is the controller of the 
						effect that created it. See rule 200.1a. 
						 
						However, make sure you put the Equilibrium trigger on 
						the stack first, and then the Gilded Drake ability, so 
						the exchange is complete by the time Equilibrium's 
						ability resolves. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: I equip a Specter's Shroud onto an Abyssal Specter. 
						When the Specter damages my opponent does he then 
						discard 1 or 2 cards? 
						 
						-Robert H. 
						 
						A: 2 cards. See Mantra 9. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: Do multiple Stormscape Familiars reduce the cost of a 
						Consume Spirit (with X at least equal to one minus the 
						number of Familiars out)? 
						 
						-anime 
						 
						A: Yes. First, you determine the cost to play the 
						Consume Spirit. Then, you apply cost reducers. By the 
						time the Familiar's effect applies, you've already 
						figured out how much mana you need. 
						 
						--- 
						Q: If a creature attacks and has provoke, does the 
						monster chosen have to be tapped? 
						 
						A: No. If it did, it would say "target tapped creature." 
						You can untap an untapped creature just fine. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: If a blocker blocks a Gustcloak Savior for example 
						and the controller of the Savior does nothing, and If 
						the blocker becomes powered up, can Gustcloak still be 
						removed from combat?  
						 
						-ADSS 
						 
						A: No. The Gustcloak creatures can only be removed from 
						combat when their triggered abilities resolve. If you 
						don't remove it at that point, it will stay in combat 
						until damage is dealt (or it is removed in some other 
						way). 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: What is the official definition of 'discard'? 
						 
						Derek S.  
						 
						A: From the Rulebook: 
						 
						Discard 
						A player discards a card by putting a card from his or 
						her hand into his or her graveyard. By default, effects 
						that cause a player to discard a card allow the affected 
						player to choose which card to discard. Some effects, 
						however, require a random discard or allow another 
						player to choose which card is discarded. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: My friend has Patron Wizard in play and a wizard 
						enchanted with Pemmin's Aura. 
						 
						Whenever a spell is played, he taps the wizard to 
						counter the spell. He then uses Pemmin's Aura to untap 
						the creature and taps it again to counter. This is 
						repeated several times. 
						 
						The question is, can he do that? 
						 
						-Junwei H. 
						 
						A: Yes. He plays the ability, then, sometime before the 
						original spell resolves, he uses the untap ability of 
						the Aura to untap it and retap it again. Spells and 
						abilities resolve one at a time, and you can allow one 
						spell or ability to resolve, then play more spells or 
						abilities with a spell still on the stack. 
						--- 
						 
						Q: Can Glissa Sunseeker destroy artifact lands? 
						 
						A: Yes. Artifact lands are artifacts with a mana cost of 
						0. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: How does combat damage resolve if a creature has 
						double strike and trample? 
						 
						-DJH 
						 
						A: Follow Mantra 5 on assigning lethal damage, and 
						assign the rest to the player (even if all the blockers 
						are killed in the first strike damage step, all the 
						damage will be assigned to the player in the normal 
						damage step). 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: If someone uses Control Magic on my Weaver of Lies, 
						then I destroy it, can I flip it face up before it goes 
						to my graveyard? 
						 
						A: No. You do not control the face down creature at that 
						time, so you can't play its morph ability. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: If I flip a Daru Sanctifier to destroy an 
						enchantment, and my opponent destroys it with a Western 
						Paladin, do I still get to destroy the enchantment?  
						 
						A: Yes. See Mantra 8. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: If I have a 10/10 Doubtless One and my opponent 
						blocks with a 2/2, do I still gain 10 life? 
						 
						-Linda K. 
						 
						A: Yes. All 10 damage is dealt. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: Can you play sorceries on your opponent's turn? 
						 
						A: No, not on their own. (Of course, this just assumes 
						you want to cast them normally.) 
						--- 
						 
						Q: Can you play activated abilities (such as 
						sacrificing) during your upkeep? (and cleanup) 
						 
						A: Upkeep, yes. Cleanup, no, unless a condition for a 
						triggered ability or state based effect is true. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: What happens if my opponent draws a card before he 
						untaps his permanents? 
						 
						-Chase 
						 
						A: He untaps his permanents, and is reminded not to do 
						that again. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: Are creatures, enchantments, sorceries, instants and 
						artifacts all spells? 
						 
						A: Yes, while they are on the stack. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: My friends say a creature in play is not a spell - 
						are they correct? 
						 
						A: Yes. Spells only exist on the stack. Once a card 
						leaves the stack, it is no longer a spell. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: With regards to Hallow, can this be used on any 
						non-land permanent? 
						 
						-Dan S. 
						 
						A: No. It can only be used on spells. 
						 
						HOWEVER, if you cast this while a (permanent) spell is 
						on the stack, it will prevent the damage from that card 
						for the rest of the turn, even after that spell becomes 
						a permanent. This is useful for things like Flametongue 
						Kavu, for instance. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: Can I Dismantle a Darksteel Reactor with 10 charge 
						counters on it, and since it is not destroyed by 
						Dismantle, choose to put the 10 charge counters on the 
						same Darksteel Reactor totaling 20? 
						 
						A: Yes. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: Does an artifact land retain the type "artifact" if 
						Blood Moon turns it into a Mountain?  
						 
						A: Yes. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: If you turn a Darksteel Citadel into a Mountain, it 
						is still indestructible? 
						 
						A: No. When a land is turned into a basic land type, all 
						rules text is removed from it. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: And if you target a creature with Lightning Greaves 
						AFTER it's been equipped with Bonesplitter, does this 
						detach Bonesplitter? 
						 
						-Joseph M. 
						 
						A: No. Equipment only targets when you play the equip 
						ability. Once it is on the creature, it no longer 
						targets that creature. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: I have a Grip of Chaos in play, and I play Shunt 
						and/or Fork and/or Forked Lightning. I'm fairly sure 
						what will happen, but for the final word: 
						 
						Shunt will choose a random spell on the stack and 
						re-select its target at random. 
						 
						A: Incorrect. Shunt will select a random spell on the 
						stack to retarget, but you will get to choose the target 
						for the spell Shunted. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: Fork will choose a random instant or sorcery spell on 
						the stack, copy it, and give it a random target. 
						 
						A: Incorrect. Again, Fork will choose a random spell, 
						but you will get to choose the new target. Grip of Chaos 
						only triggers when a spell is first played. The Fork 
						copy isn't played, it is simply put on the stack. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: Forked Lightning will be unaffected by Grip of Chaos. 
						 
						-BMoor 
						 
						A: If Forked Lightning has more than one target, this is 
						correct. If Forked Lightning only has one target, it 
						will be redirected at random. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: Are hard plastic toploaders valid sleeves for 
						tournament use? I find it impossible to shuffle these 
						things and feel they negatively affect the game. 
						 
						-Larry 
						 
						A: The determination as to whether they would be allowed 
						lies with the individual head judge. If he feels they 
						interfere with normal game play, he may disallow them. A 
						player may not deem an opponent's sleeve illegal, only 
						the Head Judge can. 
						 
						From the Floor Rules: 
						 
						35. Card Sleeves 
						Players may use plastic card sleeves or other protective 
						devices on cards. If a player chooses to use card 
						sleeves, all cards in the player’s current deck must be 
						placed in the sleeves in an identical manner. If the 
						sleeves feature holograms or other similar markings, 
						cards must be inserted into the sleeves so these 
						markings appear only on the face of the cards. 
						 
						Once a match begins, a player may request that the judge 
						inspect an opponent’s card sleeves. The judge may 
						disallow a player’s card sleeves if the judge believes 
						they are marked, worn, or otherwise in a condition or of 
						a design that interferes with shuffling or game play. To 
						avoid confusion, a card sleeve may also be used to mark 
						a player’s card if the card is in an opponent’s playing 
						area. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Tournament Report - FNM - Diamond Bar, CA 
						 
						First, the usual decklist: 
						 
						1 Aether Spellbomb  
						3 Broodstar  
						3 Chromatic Sphere  
						4 Frogmite 
						2 Lightning Greaves  
						4 Mana Leak  
						4 Myr Enforcer  
						3 Override  
						4 Pyrite Spellbomb  
						3 Talisman of Progress  
						4 Thirst for Knowledge  
						4 Thoughtcast  
						 
						4 Ancient Den  
						4 Glimmervoid  
						4 Great Furnace 
						1 Island  
						4 Seat of the Synod  
						4 Tree of Tales  
						 
						Sideboard:  
						 
						3 Naturalize  
						4 Pyroclasm  
						3 Sacred Ground  
						2 Second Sunrise  
						3 Stifle 
						 
						28 players tonight. 
						 
						Round 1 - Stan C. - LD 
						 
						Game 1 - Him going first, and second turn Shatter, third 
						turn Stone Rain, fourth turn Demolish should equal loss 
						for me, right? 
						 
						Not quite. 
						 
						I sneak out a couple of 1 casting cost artifacts while 
						he's hitting my lands, drop a couple Frogmites and Myr 
						Enforcers on my 5th turn, and beat him down in short 
						order. 
						 
						Sideboard: In: 3 Sacred Ground. Out: Broodstar, Aether 
						Spellbomb, Override. 
						 
						Game 2 - He drops turn 2 Defense Grid. I try to drop 
						enough creatures to race him, but he does 6 a turn, and 
						I don't draw what I need to get out of it. 
						 
						Sideboard: In: 3 Naturalize, Broodstar. Out: 4 Pyrite 
						Spellbomb. 
						 
						Game 3 - Is a smashing success the other way. I get turn 
						2 Sacred ground, and that holds him up long enough to 
						get a Myr Enforcer and Frogmite on line. I allow a 
						Culling Scales, forgetting that it can hit Sacred 
						Ground, but by the time he hits Sacred Ground with the 
						Scales, I'm one turn from winning. 
						 
						Games: 2-1, Matches: 1-0 
						 
						Round 2 - Bryant M. - UW control 
						 
						Game 1 - He drops turn 3 Angel, and morphs it up turn 4. 
						Even though I have an Enforcer and Frog on the table, I 
						can't keep up. 
						 
						Sideboard: In: 3 Stifle, 2 Second Sunrise. Out: 
						Thoughtcast, Chromatic Sphere, Myr Enforcer, Broodstar, 
						Pyrite Spellbomb. 
						 
						Game 2 - I get THE NUTS. I mean turn 1 Artifact land, 
						artifact, turn 2 artifact land, Talisman, Frogmite, 
						Thoughtcast, Frogmite, turn 3 Enforcer, Thoughcast nuts. 
						He plays a Morph, but I either counter it or bomb it off 
						the table. 
						 
						Game 3 - I get a slow start, and he gets a couple Jens 
						and some soldier tokens quickly. I have no chance in 
						this game. 
						 
						Games: 3-3, Matches: 1-1 
						 
						A player asks about Gilded Light and Storm between these 
						round. We don't bother looking at the cards, and assume 
						since the target is illegal, the Storm player will have 
						to change the target to himself. (This is an incorrect 
						ruling - look a little further down to see the correct 
						ruling.) 
						 
						Round 3 - James F. - 3c Affinitog 
						 
						Game 1 - He has 2 Togs and a Disciple, and counters to 
						match mine, which means I have no chance in this game. 
						 
						Sideboard: In: 4 Pyroclasm. Out: 4 Frogmite. 
						 
						He complains about not knowing what to take out. I tell 
						him my swap is easy, because it really is. Just have to 
						swap the Frogs for more controlling cards, as I am the 
						control deck in this matchup. 
						 
						Game 2 - I get him to block an Enforcer with an Atog, 
						and through Spellbomb and Pyroclasm tricks, get him down 
						to one artifact land and 2 Glimmervoid. Beyond that, I 
						just serve with another Enforcer, as he doesn't draw but 
						one other artifact. 
						 
						Game 3 - I put a Greaves'd Enforcer on the table, while 
						he plays an Enforcer and 2 Frogs. I draw Pyroclasm, and 
						along with a Pyrite Spellbomb on the table, I clear his 
						side and start serving with my Enforcer. He doesn't draw 
						another creature. 
						 
						Games: 5-4, Matches: 2-1 
						 
						I go over to a table to where Scott (the head judge) is 
						going through the Stifle/Gilded Light Ruling, and take a 
						look at Storm. It says "you MAY choose new targets for 
						the copies," and I call Scott over privately to show him 
						that. He goes through the thought process, and we 
						correct our prior ruling, allowing the Storm copies to 
						stay on the player who played Gilded Light. We end up 
						getting the ruling correct, but the player we told the 
						ruling incorrectly previous to this round isn't happy. 
						 
						Round 4 - Robert K. - WGb Slaver Control 
						 
						Game 1 - He drops 2 Mindslavers on me, and tries to set 
						up his board position. I get an Enforcer down, and he 
						has no creatures. He miscounts a Planar Portal 
						activation, and gets a Jens instead of a Wrath. I pop 
						him off the board with an Aether Spellbomb, and along 
						with the second Enforcer I just cast, I take the first 
						game. 
						 
						Sideboard: In: 3 Naturalize, 3 Stifle. Out: 4 Mana Leak, 
						2 Override. 
						 
						Game 2 - He drops an early Lethal Vapors, and kills my 
						one creature. After a couple of turns, I draw into 
						Naturalize in my end step, and cast it. I untap, cast 2 
						Frogmites, 2 Enforcers, a Greaves, and a Broodstar, and 
						swing for 14. Along with the Pyrite Spellbomb on the 
						board, that totals 16 damage, which is exactly his life 
						total. 
						 
						Games: 7-4, Matches: 3-1 
						 
						After some nasty administrative business is taken care 
						of, delaying the round for a few minutes, the round gets 
						underway. 
						 
						Round 5 - Phillip S. - Sligh variant 
						 
						He is the only undefeated player at this point, and as I 
						am reasonably confident of making top 8 (if there are no 
						draws, it will be a cut to top 8, with 3 3-2's making 
						it), I scoop to him so he gets the undefeated prize. We 
						play 2 games for fun, and he smashes me. 
						 
						Games: 7-6, Matches: 3-2 
						 
						I make top 8 as the 6 seed, and since Bryant wants to 
						play it out, I get ... 
						 
						Top 8 - Brandon C. - Goblin Bidding 
						 
						Game 1 - I draw 4xSpellbomb and 4xCounterspell, so my 
						Enforcers and Frog quickly mop him up. He had Bidding 
						the next turn after he would have died, and after I had 
						used all my counters stopping Siege-Gangs. 
						 
						Sideboard: In: 4 Pyroclasm. Out: 4 Frogmite. 
						 
						Game 2 - I draw into 3x Pyroclasm, and along with a 
						couple counters, a Broodstar hits with Greaves. I mistap, 
						and leave him a 1 turn opening to cast Bidding, but he 
						doesn't have it. 
						 
						Games: 9-6, Matches: 4-2 
						 
						With only a 5 pack split, Bryant still wants to play, as 
						he says he has too many splits going. So, ... 
						 
						Top 4 - Bryant M. - UW Control 
						 
						Game 1 - I get the early Frog, but he draws into 2 Jens, 
						and an Exalted Angel flips up to seal the deal.  
						 
						Sideboard: In: 3 Naturalize, 3 Stifle. Out: 2 Pyrite 
						Spellbomb, 2 Lightning Greaves, Thoughtcast, Broodstar. 
						 
						Game 2 - I keep a hand with a lone Frogmite as pressure. 
						He keeps a one land hand, and never gets up to 4 mana in 
						the 10 turns it takes me to kill him. 
						 
						Game 3 - I get the early pressure, and try to force a 
						bad trade with a Pyrite finishing off an Exalted that 
						blocked an Enforcer, bouncing the Enforcer with the 
						Aether Spellbomb. He has the Stifle for the Aether, and 
						I really have no good answers. Fortunately, I had him to 
						one at this point. Unfortunately, he has a Jens and 5 
						Soldiers. He beats on me for 2 turns, and I draw lands. 
						I draw my last card, and it is a Chromatic Sphere. He 
						allows it, I sac it for a card, and draw Pyrite 
						Spellbomb. He has no counters, having drawn lands 
						himself during this point, and I administer a bad beat. 
						 
						Games: 11-7, Matches: 5-2 
						 
						By this time Phillip is waiting for me in the finals. I 
						propose a split, as it is 12:35, and offer him the extra 
						pack. He accepts, and I take my 8 packs and foil and go 
						home. 
						 
						See you Friday. 
						 
						Bill Guerin 
						DCI Level 2 Judge 
                        
                        Ask Judge Bill A Question 
					 |