Judge Bill

Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers  
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Chrstine Gerhardt
Jason Chapman
- on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage
Jason's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Feb 3, 2004  Ownership & Tourney Report

Title: Ownership
Questions: 26


Q: If I have Equilibrium in play and then I play Gilded Drake and exchange it with an opponent's creature, if I pay 1 to use the ability for Equilibrium on Gilded Drake, would that return Gilded Drake to my hand or my opponent's? Maybe if you could just clarify "owner", whether I would be the owner of the card or my opponent because he is currently in control of it.


A: From the Rulebook:

The owner of a card is the player who started the game with that card in his or her deck or, for cards that didn’t start the game in a player’s deck, the player who brought the card into the game. (Legal ownership is irrelevant to the game rules, except for the rules for ante.) The owner of a token is the controller of the effect that created it. See rule 200.1a.

However, make sure you put the Equilibrium trigger on the stack first, and then the Gilded Drake ability, so the exchange is complete by the time Equilibrium's ability resolves.


Q: I equip a Specter's Shroud onto an Abyssal Specter. When the Specter damages my opponent does he then discard 1 or 2 cards?

-Robert H.

A: 2 cards. See Mantra 9.


Q: Do multiple Stormscape Familiars reduce the cost of a Consume Spirit (with X at least equal to one minus the number of Familiars out)?


A: Yes. First, you determine the cost to play the Consume Spirit. Then, you apply cost reducers. By the time the Familiar's effect applies, you've already figured out how much mana you need.

Q: If a creature attacks and has provoke, does the monster chosen have to be tapped?

A: No. If it did, it would say "target tapped creature." You can untap an untapped creature just fine.


Q: If a blocker blocks a Gustcloak Savior for example and the controller of the Savior does nothing, and If the blocker becomes powered up, can Gustcloak still be removed from combat?


A: No. The Gustcloak creatures can only be removed from combat when their triggered abilities resolve. If you don't remove it at that point, it will stay in combat until damage is dealt (or it is removed in some other way).


Q: What is the official definition of 'discard'?

Derek S.

A: From the Rulebook:

A player discards a card by putting a card from his or her hand into his or her graveyard. By default, effects that cause a player to discard a card allow the affected player to choose which card to discard. Some effects, however, require a random discard or allow another player to choose which card is discarded.


Q: My friend has Patron Wizard in play and a wizard enchanted with Pemmin's Aura.

Whenever a spell is played, he taps the wizard to counter the spell. He then uses Pemmin's Aura to untap the creature and taps it again to counter. This is repeated several times.

The question is, can he do that?

-Junwei H.

A: Yes. He plays the ability, then, sometime before the original spell resolves, he uses the untap ability of the Aura to untap it and retap it again. Spells and abilities resolve one at a time, and you can allow one spell or ability to resolve, then play more spells or abilities with a spell still on the stack.

Q: Can Glissa Sunseeker destroy artifact lands?

A: Yes. Artifact lands are artifacts with a mana cost of 0.


Q: How does combat damage resolve if a creature has double strike and trample?


A: Follow Mantra 5 on assigning lethal damage, and assign the rest to the player (even if all the blockers are killed in the first strike damage step, all the damage will be assigned to the player in the normal damage step).


Q: If someone uses Control Magic on my Weaver of Lies, then I destroy it, can I flip it face up before it goes to my graveyard?

A: No. You do not control the face down creature at that time, so you can't play its morph ability.


Q: If I flip a Daru Sanctifier to destroy an enchantment, and my opponent destroys it with a Western Paladin, do I still get to destroy the enchantment?

A: Yes. See Mantra 8.


Q: If I have a 10/10 Doubtless One and my opponent blocks with a 2/2, do I still gain 10 life?

-Linda K.

A: Yes. All 10 damage is dealt.


Q: Can you play sorceries on your opponent's turn?

A: No, not on their own. (Of course, this just assumes you want to cast them normally.)

Q: Can you play activated abilities (such as sacrificing) during your upkeep? (and cleanup)

A: Upkeep, yes. Cleanup, no, unless a condition for a triggered ability or state based effect is true.


Q: What happens if my opponent draws a card before he untaps his permanents?


A: He untaps his permanents, and is reminded not to do that again.


Q: Are creatures, enchantments, sorceries, instants and artifacts all spells?

A: Yes, while they are on the stack.


Q: My friends say a creature in play is not a spell - are they correct?

A: Yes. Spells only exist on the stack. Once a card leaves the stack, it is no longer a spell.


Q: With regards to Hallow, can this be used on any non-land permanent?

-Dan S.

A: No. It can only be used on spells.

HOWEVER, if you cast this while a (permanent) spell is on the stack, it will prevent the damage from that card for the rest of the turn, even after that spell becomes a permanent. This is useful for things like Flametongue Kavu, for instance.


Q: Can I Dismantle a Darksteel Reactor with 10 charge counters on it, and since it is not destroyed by Dismantle, choose to put the 10 charge counters on the same Darksteel Reactor totaling 20?

A: Yes.


Q: Does an artifact land retain the type "artifact" if Blood Moon turns it into a Mountain?

A: Yes.


Q: If you turn a Darksteel Citadel into a Mountain, it is still indestructible?

A: No. When a land is turned into a basic land type, all rules text is removed from it.


Q: And if you target a creature with Lightning Greaves AFTER it's been equipped with Bonesplitter, does this detach Bonesplitter?

-Joseph M.

A: No. Equipment only targets when you play the equip ability. Once it is on the creature, it no longer targets that creature.


Q: I have a Grip of Chaos in play, and I play Shunt and/or Fork and/or Forked Lightning. I'm fairly sure what will happen, but for the final word:

Shunt will choose a random spell on the stack and re-select its target at random.

A: Incorrect. Shunt will select a random spell on the stack to retarget, but you will get to choose the target for the spell Shunted.


Q: Fork will choose a random instant or sorcery spell on the stack, copy it, and give it a random target.

A: Incorrect. Again, Fork will choose a random spell, but you will get to choose the new target. Grip of Chaos only triggers when a spell is first played. The Fork copy isn't played, it is simply put on the stack.


Q: Forked Lightning will be unaffected by Grip of Chaos.


A: If Forked Lightning has more than one target, this is correct. If Forked Lightning only has one target, it will be redirected at random.


Q: Are hard plastic toploaders valid sleeves for tournament use? I find it impossible to shuffle these things and feel they negatively affect the game.


A: The determination as to whether they would be allowed lies with the individual head judge. If he feels they interfere with normal game play, he may disallow them. A player may not deem an opponent's sleeve illegal, only the Head Judge can.

From the Floor Rules:

35. Card Sleeves
Players may use plastic card sleeves or other protective devices on cards. If a player chooses to use card sleeves, all cards in the player’s current deck must be placed in the sleeves in an identical manner. If the sleeves feature holograms or other similar markings, cards must be inserted into the sleeves so these markings appear only on the face of the cards.

Once a match begins, a player may request that the judge inspect an opponent’s card sleeves. The judge may disallow a player’s card sleeves if the judge believes they are marked, worn, or otherwise in a condition or of a design that interferes with shuffling or game play. To avoid confusion, a card sleeve may also be used to mark a player’s card if the card is in an opponent’s playing area.


Tournament Report - FNM - Diamond Bar, CA

First, the usual decklist:

1 Aether Spellbomb
3 Broodstar
3 Chromatic Sphere
4 Frogmite
2 Lightning Greaves
4 Mana Leak
4 Myr Enforcer
3 Override
4 Pyrite Spellbomb
3 Talisman of Progress
4 Thirst for Knowledge
4 Thoughtcast

4 Ancient Den
4 Glimmervoid
4 Great Furnace
1 Island
4 Seat of the Synod
4 Tree of Tales


3 Naturalize
4 Pyroclasm
3 Sacred Ground
2 Second Sunrise
3 Stifle

28 players tonight.

Round 1 - Stan C. - LD

Game 1 - Him going first, and second turn Shatter, third turn Stone Rain, fourth turn Demolish should equal loss for me, right?

Not quite.

I sneak out a couple of 1 casting cost artifacts while he's hitting my lands, drop a couple Frogmites and Myr Enforcers on my 5th turn, and beat him down in short order.

Sideboard: In: 3 Sacred Ground. Out: Broodstar, Aether Spellbomb, Override.

Game 2 - He drops turn 2 Defense Grid. I try to drop enough creatures to race him, but he does 6 a turn, and I don't draw what I need to get out of it.

Sideboard: In: 3 Naturalize, Broodstar. Out: 4 Pyrite Spellbomb.

Game 3 - Is a smashing success the other way. I get turn 2 Sacred ground, and that holds him up long enough to get a Myr Enforcer and Frogmite on line. I allow a Culling Scales, forgetting that it can hit Sacred Ground, but by the time he hits Sacred Ground with the Scales, I'm one turn from winning.

Games: 2-1, Matches: 1-0

Round 2 - Bryant M. - UW control

Game 1 - He drops turn 3 Angel, and morphs it up turn 4. Even though I have an Enforcer and Frog on the table, I can't keep up.

Sideboard: In: 3 Stifle, 2 Second Sunrise. Out: Thoughtcast, Chromatic Sphere, Myr Enforcer, Broodstar, Pyrite Spellbomb.

Game 2 - I get THE NUTS. I mean turn 1 Artifact land, artifact, turn 2 artifact land, Talisman, Frogmite, Thoughtcast, Frogmite, turn 3 Enforcer, Thoughcast nuts. He plays a Morph, but I either counter it or bomb it off the table.

Game 3 - I get a slow start, and he gets a couple Jens and some soldier tokens quickly. I have no chance in this game.

Games: 3-3, Matches: 1-1

A player asks about Gilded Light and Storm between these round. We don't bother looking at the cards, and assume since the target is illegal, the Storm player will have to change the target to himself. (This is an incorrect ruling - look a little further down to see the correct ruling.)

Round 3 - James F. - 3c Affinitog

Game 1 - He has 2 Togs and a Disciple, and counters to match mine, which means I have no chance in this game.

Sideboard: In: 4 Pyroclasm. Out: 4 Frogmite.

He complains about not knowing what to take out. I tell him my swap is easy, because it really is. Just have to swap the Frogs for more controlling cards, as I am the control deck in this matchup.

Game 2 - I get him to block an Enforcer with an Atog, and through Spellbomb and Pyroclasm tricks, get him down to one artifact land and 2 Glimmervoid. Beyond that, I just serve with another Enforcer, as he doesn't draw but one other artifact.

Game 3 - I put a Greaves'd Enforcer on the table, while he plays an Enforcer and 2 Frogs. I draw Pyroclasm, and along with a Pyrite Spellbomb on the table, I clear his side and start serving with my Enforcer. He doesn't draw another creature.

Games: 5-4, Matches: 2-1

I go over to a table to where Scott (the head judge) is going through the Stifle/Gilded Light Ruling, and take a look at Storm. It says "you MAY choose new targets for the copies," and I call Scott over privately to show him that. He goes through the thought process, and we correct our prior ruling, allowing the Storm copies to stay on the player who played Gilded Light. We end up getting the ruling correct, but the player we told the ruling incorrectly previous to this round isn't happy.

Round 4 - Robert K. - WGb Slaver Control

Game 1 - He drops 2 Mindslavers on me, and tries to set up his board position. I get an Enforcer down, and he has no creatures. He miscounts a Planar Portal activation, and gets a Jens instead of a Wrath. I pop him off the board with an Aether Spellbomb, and along with the second Enforcer I just cast, I take the first game.

Sideboard: In: 3 Naturalize, 3 Stifle. Out: 4 Mana Leak, 2 Override.

Game 2 - He drops an early Lethal Vapors, and kills my one creature. After a couple of turns, I draw into Naturalize in my end step, and cast it. I untap, cast 2 Frogmites, 2 Enforcers, a Greaves, and a Broodstar, and swing for 14. Along with the Pyrite Spellbomb on the board, that totals 16 damage, which is exactly his life total.

Games: 7-4, Matches: 3-1

After some nasty administrative business is taken care of, delaying the round for a few minutes, the round gets underway.

Round 5 - Phillip S. - Sligh variant

He is the only undefeated player at this point, and as I am reasonably confident of making top 8 (if there are no draws, it will be a cut to top 8, with 3 3-2's making it), I scoop to him so he gets the undefeated prize. We play 2 games for fun, and he smashes me.

Games: 7-6, Matches: 3-2

I make top 8 as the 6 seed, and since Bryant wants to play it out, I get ...

Top 8 - Brandon C. - Goblin Bidding

Game 1 - I draw 4xSpellbomb and 4xCounterspell, so my Enforcers and Frog quickly mop him up. He had Bidding the next turn after he would have died, and after I had used all my counters stopping Siege-Gangs.

Sideboard: In: 4 Pyroclasm. Out: 4 Frogmite.

Game 2 - I draw into 3x Pyroclasm, and along with a couple counters, a Broodstar hits with Greaves. I mistap, and leave him a 1 turn opening to cast Bidding, but he doesn't have it.

Games: 9-6, Matches: 4-2

With only a 5 pack split, Bryant still wants to play, as he says he has too many splits going. So, ...

Top 4 - Bryant M. - UW Control

Game 1 - I get the early Frog, but he draws into 2 Jens, and an Exalted Angel flips up to seal the deal.

Sideboard: In: 3 Naturalize, 3 Stifle. Out: 2 Pyrite Spellbomb, 2 Lightning Greaves, Thoughtcast, Broodstar.

Game 2 - I keep a hand with a lone Frogmite as pressure. He keeps a one land hand, and never gets up to 4 mana in the 10 turns it takes me to kill him.

Game 3 - I get the early pressure, and try to force a bad trade with a Pyrite finishing off an Exalted that blocked an Enforcer, bouncing the Enforcer with the Aether Spellbomb. He has the Stifle for the Aether, and I really have no good answers. Fortunately, I had him to one at this point. Unfortunately, he has a Jens and 5 Soldiers. He beats on me for 2 turns, and I draw lands. I draw my last card, and it is a Chromatic Sphere. He allows it, I sac it for a card, and draw Pyrite Spellbomb. He has no counters, having drawn lands himself during this point, and I administer a bad beat.

Games: 11-7, Matches: 5-2

By this time Phillip is waiting for me in the finals. I propose a split, as it is 12:35, and offer him the extra pack. He accepts, and I take my 8 packs and foil and go home.

See you Friday.

Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

Ask Judge Bill A Question



Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.