Judge Bill

Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers  
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage
Jason's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Avoiding the Trap

Q: If I play Reanimate on a Phantom Nishoba in my graveyard, do I lose 0 or 7 life?

-Oscar M.

A: 7. That is its converted mana cost, after all.

(What, you though I would answer this without looking it up, and assume it was power or toughness? Not today.)


Q: Can I sacrifice a Welding Jar but not regenerate an artifact?

A: No. However, you may play the ability to try to regenerate the Welding Jar you are sacrificing.


Q: Can I sacrifice multiple Welding Jars to regenerate an artifact before the first one resolves?

A: Sure. But the permanent doesn't actually regenerate until a destroy effect happens on it.


Q: If my opponent plays a Chalice of the Void for {0}, do all lands get countered?

A: No. Lands are not cast, so they can't be countered.


Q: Can my opponent Detonate a land for R?

A: As long as the land is an artifact, yes.


Q: If a +1/+1 counter goes on a Blinkmoth Nexus, do they stay when it changes back to only being a land?


A: Yes. The power/toughness boost won't apply when it's not a creature, of course, but the counters will stay, and apply when it becomes a creature again.


Q: I know destroy effects do not kill indestructible creatures, but universal cards usually get around similar effects. For example, Wrath of God still kills pro white creatures because it does not target. Why doesn't this work for indestructible creatures?

A: Because Wrath of God is a destroy effect. It says so right on the card (or in the Oracle, if you have a pre-Sixth Edition card). Thus indestructibility will prevent the destruction.


Q: Indestructible creatures are not destroyed by lethal damage but can receive it. Runesword says that a creature is removed if it receives lethal damage, not 'if it goes to the graveyard this turn'.

A: Hold on tiger. You need to read the Oracle wording for this one...




{3}, {T}: Target attacking creature gets +2/+0 until end of turn. When that creature leaves play this turn, sacrifice Runesword. If the creature deals damage to a creature this turn, the creature dealt damage can't be regenerated this turn. If a creature dealt damage by the targeted creature would be put into a graveyard this turn, remove that creature from the game instead.


Q: Would a creature with Runesword destroy an indestructible creature?


A: No. Nothing can destroy an indestructible creature.

Runesword won't remove it from the game either, because indestructibility prevents it from going to the graveyard due to lethal damage. Since it will never go to the graveyard due to the damage, the replacement ability removing it from the game instead will not apply.

(If it would go to the graveyard for some other reason this turn after taking damage, then it will be removed fro the game instead.)


Q: My friend has a Wall of Vapor and a Fortified Area. I attack with a 10/10 trampler. If he blocks with just the Wall of Vapor, does the banding work with a band of one creature only?

A: Yes. The defensive banding effect allowing the defender to assign damage is only contingent on one creature having banding. Since that applies (even though there is only one creature blocking), the controller of the Wall of Vapor will assign damage to it.


Q: Can he assign all the damage to the Wall of Vapor and keep any damage from trampling over to him?

-David D.

A: Yes. He can assign damage however he chooses.


Q: Barring any interference from the opponent, does Aluren + Genesis Chamber + Epic Struggle + Cavern Harpy (bouncing itself) = game over?

A: Not until you reach your next upkeep. But at that point, yes, it is then game over.


Q: In a sanctioned event, if both players wish to take mulligans can they agree to draw seven cards each or do the rules require them to draw 6?

-Traci H.

A: The rules require them to each draw 6.


Q: I have a Grid Monitor out, and put a Custody Battle on it. I don't sacrifice a land, and then Naturalize the Custody Battle when the Grid Monitor is on my opponent's side. Will Grid Monitor remain on my opponent's side of the field?


A: Yes.


Q: Something interesting happened at a tournament today. One of the players had Extraplanar Lenses and tapped for mana to cast a spell. After that he still had one mana in his mana pool so he "used it" to try and activate the ability of Stalking Stones, but since that ability needs 6 mana to activate he said that the mana was used, but the ability was not activated because he needed 5 more mana to used it. Practically what he intended is to use the Stalking Stones ability as a mana dump to avoid mana burn. Can this be done?

-Ruben G.

A: No. You may not partially pay a cost. You must pay the full cost of an ability, or you can't play it.

I'd make this player take one mana burn and give him a stern lecture on the rule, and the consequences of misrepresenting a rule.


Q: I have a Lodestone Myr, an Arcbound Ravager, and another artifact in play. I then attack with the Myr and the Ravager, and my opponent does not block them. Could I then tap my artifact to pump my Myr then sacrifice it to pump my Ravager, thereby making them both deal one more combat damage?


A: Yes. You are fully able to pay all the costs of both abilities (if you play them in that order), so you can do this.


Q: At the end step of my opponent, if my opponent passes priority to me, when I receive priority, I tap lands for mana and play nothing, does he get back priority or do I mana burn?

-Alex Y.

A: He gets back priority. The tapping for mana broke the pass chain, so since both players haven't passed "in succession" (meaning without playing any abilities), priority passes to the other player.

(If he passes without doing anything, though, you won't have a chance to spend the mana before you take mana burn.)


Tournament Report - FNM - Diamond Bar, CA

Well, I hated my experiences with MWC last week. So I decide to go back to U/W control, and make some major changes to see how they work. First, I eliminate all artifacts from the main deck (Damping Matrix) to avoid splash damage from Oxidize. Then, since I have no artifacts, I swapped Concentrate in for Thirst for Knowledge.

So that makes the deck:

U/W Control

4 Eternal Dragon

4 Akroma's Vengeance

4 Decree of Justice

4 Mana Leak

3 Pulse of the Fields

4 Rewind

4 Concentrate

4 Wrath of God

2 Wing Shards

1 Ivory Mask

4 Cloudpost

4 Coastal Tower

4 Flooded Strand

5 Island

7 Plains

2 Temple of the False God


2 Darksteel Colossus

4 Circle of Protection: Red

2 Sacred Ground

1 Ivory Mask

4 Damping Matrix

2 Mind's Eye

Round 1 - Justin T. - B/g control (for Naturalize)

Game 1 - I win the roll, and he has a slight mana screw. His creatures don't hit me, and his discard, while annoying, only proves to get my Dragon into the grave, where I recur it. After it gets Banished, it comes back and finishes him off.

Sideboard - In: 2 Mind's Eye, 1 Ivory Mask. Out: 2 Akroma's Vengeance, Concentrate.

Game 2 - I drop an early Ivory Mask, and he quickly Tutors for Naturalize. I battle his Ravenous Rats with a Pulse, and although he puts a Rats on a Soul Foundry, I cycle a huge Decree to finish him off.

Games: 2-0, Matches: 1-0.

Round 2 - Henry N. - Tooth and Nail

Game 1 - I draw a Pulse very early, and it combats attacks from a Baloth, and later a Solemn Simulacrum. He gets me to 4 with a Fireball, but Pulse puts me back up out of reach. I cycle a Decree for 10, and then another one, and go to town.

Sideboard - In: 2 Darksteel Colossus. Out: 2 Wrath of God.

Game 2 - I get rid of his first Colossus, and drop one of mine. He Tooth and Nails into a Colossus and Duplicant (for my Colossus). Pulse tricks keep my life up, and then the Pulse/Shards trick I pulled on Terrance last week and attack for the win (with either a couple of Dragons or 10 soldier tokens, I'm not sure which).

Games: 4-0, Matches: 2-0.

Round 3 - Mike S. - Tooth and Nail

Game 1 - I cycle a Dragon, and hit a land burp. I chance not drawing a land by brining back a Dragon, and I don't draw the land. He has enough mana to do anything he wants, since I am only on 3 land (with 2 Rewinds in hand). He Tooth and Nails for the Colossus and something else, and I scoop a turn later.

Sideboard - In: 2 Sacred Ground, 2 Darksteel Colossus, 2 Mind's Eye. Out: 2 Wrath of God, 1 Mana Leak, 1 Eternal Dragon, 1 Concentrate, 1 Pulse of the Fields.

Game 2 - I get the triple Coastal Tower draw. Unfortunately, that's all I get, and so I have to use one of my 3 Concentrates to try to draw land, which gives him the chance to Tooth and Nail freely. He gets a Platinum Angel and Colossus, I draw and scoop.

Games: 4-2, Matches: 2-1.

Round 4 - Ryan L. - Zombies

Game 1 - I clear his initial assault, and cycle double Decrees. That's all it takes.

Sideboard - In: 2 Darksteel Colossus, 2 Mind's Eye, 4 Damping Matrix. Out: 4 Concentrate, 2 Akroma's Vengeance, 1 Pulse of the Fields, 1 Wing Shards.

Game 2 - He gets an early assault again, but Matrix shuts down most of his abilities. He gets me down to 5 by attacking, but I cycle a Decree and go to town.

Games: 6-2, Matches: 3-1.

Round 5 - Gabe L. - Hajime Fujii's Last Chance Qualifier for Kobe deck (Clamp/Brain Freeze combo)

Game 1 - I never draw Ivory Mask, and eventually he resolves a Steelshaper with a Clamp and 2 Chambers out. I die quickly.

Sideboard - In: 4 Damping Matrix, 2 Ivory Mask, 2 Mind's Eye. Out: 2 Pulse of the Fields, 2 Wing Shards, 2 Concentrate, 1 Eternal Dragon.

Game 2 - I miss my turn 4 land drop. This is enough to do me in, as he is able to Chain of Vapor his creatures when I Wrath turn 5 and replay them again, and I die the turn after.

Games: 6-4, Matches: 3-2.

I'll be going back to a more traditional build next week. I come in 10th, and go home.

See you Friday.

Bill Guerin

DCI Level 2 Judge


Ask Judge Bill A Question



Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.