Pojo's Yu-Gi-Oh! news, tips, strategies and more!


Card Game
Card of the Day
TCG Fan Tips
Top 10 Lists
Banned/Restricted List
Yu-Gi-Oh News
Tourney Reports
Duelist Interviews

Featured Writers
Baneful's Column
Anteaus on YGO
General Zorpa
Dark Paladin's Dimension
Retired Writers

Releases + Spoilers
Booster Sets (Original Series)
LOB | MRD | MRL | PSV
LON | LOD | PGD | MFC
DCR | IOC | AST | SOD
RDS | FET
Booster Sets (GX Series)
TLM | CRV | EEN | SOI
EOJ | POTD | CDIP | STON
FOTB | TAEV | GLAS | PTDN
LODT
Booster Sets (5D Series)
TDGS | CSOC | CRMS | RBGT
ANPR | SOVR | ABPF | TSHD
STBL | STOR | EXVC
Booster Sets (Zexal Series)
GENF | PHSW | ORCS | GAOV
REDU | ABYR | CBLZ | LTGY
NUMH | JOTL | SHSP | LVAL
PRIO

Starter Decks
Yugi | Kaiba
Joey | Pegasus
Yugi 2004 | Kaiba 2004
GX: 2006 | Jaden | Syrus
5D: 1 | 2 | Toolbox
Zexal: 2011 | 2012 | 2013
Yugi 2013 | Kaiba 2013

Structure Decks
Dragons Roar &
Zombie Madness
Blaze of Destruction &
Fury from the Deep
Warrior's Triumph
Spellcaster's Judgment
Lord of the Storm
Invincible Fortress
Dinosaurs Rage
Machine Revolt
Rise of Dragon Lords
Dark Emperor
Zombie World
Spellcaster Command
Warrior Strike
Machina Mayhem
Marik
Dragunity Legion
Lost Sanctuary
Underworld Gates
Samurai Warlord
Sea Emperor
Fire Kings
Saga of Blue-Eyes
Cyber Dragon

Promo Cards:
Promos Spoiler
Coll. Tins Spoiler
MP1 Spoiler
EP1 Spoiler

Tournament Packs:
TP1 / TP2 / TP3 / TP4
TP5 / TP6 / TP7 / TP8
Duelist Packs
Jaden | Chazz
Jaden #2 | Zane
Aster | Jaden #3
Jesse | Yusei
Yugi | Yusei #2
Kaiba | Yusei #3
Crow

Reprint Sets
Dark Beginnings
1 | 2
Dark Revelations
1 | 2 | 3 | 4
Gold Series
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5
Dark Legends
DLG1
Retro Pack
1 | 2
Champion Pack
1 | 2 | 3 | 4
5 | 6 | 7 | 8
Turbo Pack
1 | 2 | 3 | 4
5 | 6 | 7

Hidden Arsenal:
1 | 2 | 3 | 4
5 | 6 | 7

Checklists
Brawlermatrix 08
Evan T 08
X-Ref List
X-Ref List w/ Passcodes

Anime
Episode Guide
Character Bios
GX Character Bios

Video Games
Millennium Duels (2014)
Nighmare Troubadour (2005)
Destiny Board Traveler (2004)
Power of Chaos (2004)
Worldwide Edition (2003)
Dungeon Dice Monsters (2003)
Falsebound Kingdom (2003)
Eternal Duelist Soul (2002)
Forbidden Memories (2002)
Dark Duel Stories (2002)

Other
About Yu-Gi-Oh
Yu-Gi-Oh! Timeline
Pojo's YuGiOh Books
Apprentice Stuff
Life Point Calculators
DDM Starter Spoiler
DDM Dragonflame Spoiler
The DungeonMaster
Millennium Board Game

Magic
Yu-Gi-Oh!
DBZ
Pokemon
Yu Yu Hakusho
NeoPets
HeroClix
Harry Potter
Anime
Vs. System
Megaman

This Space
For Rent

Yu-Gi-Oh! Embodiment of Apophis
8.8.05, by GSAttack

As many are already aware, this past weekend was the release of our first Trap Monster in the United States. "Embodiment of Apophis" is legal for sanctioned events upon release. Below are the rulings that were posted this weekend for this card. You can check www.yugioh-card.com for updates to these rulings.

SP1-EN003 "Embodiment of Apophis"
[Continuous Trap Card]

TEXT: You can only activate this card during a Main Phase. After activation, this card is treated as a Normal Monster Card (Reptile-Type/EARTH/Level 4/ATK 1600/DEF 1800), and is Special Summoned to your Monster Card Zone. (This card is also still treated as a Trap Card.)

Once "Embodiment of Apophis" has been activated, it takes up 1 Monster Card Zone and 1 Spell & Trap Card Zone. The physical location of "Embodiment of Apophis" should be on the Monster Card Zones, however.

If your Monster Card Zones are all full you cannot activate "Embodiment of Apophis". If your Spell & Trap Card Zones are all full you cannot take control of your opponent's "Embodiment of Apophis" because you will need 1 Monster Card Zone and 1 Spell & Trap Card Zone for it.

If your opponent has no vacant Spell & Trap Card Zones, you cannot give them "Embodiment of Apophis" for "Creature Swap". If "Embodiment of Apophis" is your only monster in such a case, neither player can activate "Creature Swap".

You can activate "Embodiment of Apophis" during your opponent's Main Phase, or your own.

While "Embodiment of Apophis" is a monster, it is still treated as a Trap Card and can be destroyed by "Heavy Storm" or "Mystical Space Typhoon".

If an effect that destroys Trap Cards is used against "Embodiment of Apophis", you can use "Fake Trap" to prevent it from being destroyed. When preventing the destruction of "Embodiment of Apophis", you must be using a card of the appropriate type. You cannot use "My Body as a Shield" to rescue it from "Heavy Storm". You cannot use "Fake Trap" to rescue it from "Raigeki". You can use "Riryoku Field" when "Embodiment of Apophis" is targeted by "Snatch Steal", but not when it's targeted by "Mystical Space Typhoon". You can use any of these effects to protect "Embodiment of Apophis" from "Raigeki Break" because "Raigeki Break" can destroy a Monster card or a Trap Card.

vs. "Jinzo": If "Emodiment of Apophis" is a monster, and "Jinzo" or "Royal Decree" is played, "Embodiment of Apophis" cannot remain as a monster and is placed face-up in the Spell & Trap Card Zone, where it remains on the field meaninglessly (even if "Jinzo" leaves play later). If "Royal Decree" is chained to the activation of "Embodiment of Apophis", the effect of "Embodiment of Apophis" is negated and it remains on the field in the Spell & Trap Card Zone meaninglessly.

If "Embodiment of Apophis" attacks a face-down "Jinzo", once "Jinzo" is flipped face-up, "Embodiment of Apophis" reverts to a Trap Card. Damage calculation is not applied.

If "Embodiment of Apophis" is a monster, and is flipped face-down, it goes back to the Spell & Trap Card Zone as a Trap Card (vertically, since Trap Cards do not have battle positions). You cannot activate "Embodiment of Apophis" that same turn, because it is a Trap Card that was just Set.

When "Embodiment of Apophis" is sent to the Graveyard, it is sent as a Trap Card and remains treated as a Trap Card. You cannot revive it with "Monster Reborn" or retrieve it with "Return of the Doomed". It will not trigger "Last Will". You cannot activate "Michizure". It will not be Special Summoned by "Red-Moon Baby". No damage is inflicted by "KA-2 Des Scissors" or "Inferno" or "Fatal Abacus". "Emes the Infinity" does not increase its ATK. No Life Points are increased by "Absorbing Kid from the Sky". You would not gain Life Points for "Altar for Tribute". (You can, however, now add it back to your hand with "Mask of Darkness".)

If your opponent controls your "Embodiment of Apophis" as a monster with "Snatch Steal" or "Creature Swap", and it is flipped face-down, it goes to your opponent's Spell & Trap Card Zone because he is the controller.

If your opponent controls your "Embodiment of Apophis" as a monster with "Snatch Steal", and "Jinzo" is Summoned, it returns to your Spell & Trap Card Zone and remains there meaninglessly. If your opponent controls your "Embodiment of Apophis" as a monster because of "Creature Swap", and "Jinzo" is Summoned, it is placed on your opponent's Spell & Trap Card Zone and remains there meaninglessly.

"Embodiment of Apophis" is considered a Normal Monster. It does not inflict damage for "Ceasefire". You can use "Delta Attacker" if you have 3 "Embodiment of Apophis" monsters. You can Tribute "Embodiment of Apophis" for "Sword of the Soul-Eater" while it is a monster.

If "Non-Spellcasting Area" is active, "Embodiment of Apophis" cannot be destroyed by "Raigeki", etc., but can still be destroyed by "Heavy Storm" or "Mystical Space Typhoon".

"Embodiment of Apophis", while a monster, has original ATK 1600 and original DEF 1800 (for purposes of "Megamorph", etc.).

You can negate the activation of "Embodiment of Apophis" by chaining "Solemn Judgment" or "7 Tools of the Bandit" or "Royal Oppression", but you cannot use these against it once it is a monster.

When "Embodiment of Apophis" is Special Summoned, you can activate "Torrential Tribute" just like with any other Summon.

You can use "Chain Destruction" when "Embodiment of Apophis" is Special Summoned, and "Chain Destruction" will destroy all copies of "Embodiment of Apophis" in the hand and Deck even though they are Trap Cards.

You can use "Embodiment of Apophis" as a Tribute once it is a monster. You cannot Tribute it for a Ritual Summon, etc., while it is in your hand.

If "Embodiment of Apophis" is a monster and "Morphing Jar #2" is activated, "Embodiment of Apophis" is shuffled into the Deck as a Trap Card, so it does NOT count towards the number of monsters you need to pick up. (Also, if you pick up "Embodiment of Apophis" for the effect of "Morphing Jar #2", it is not counted as a monster and will be one of the cards sent to the Graveyard.)

If you pick up "Embodiment of Apophis" for "Cyber Jar", it is added to your hand.

If "Embodiment of Apophis" is a monster and is equipped to "Relinquished", "Embodiment of Apophis" is treated as any other monster equipped to "Relinquished", and "Relinquished" gets 1600 ATK and 1800 DEF.

If "Embodiment of Apophis" is a monster, "Giant Trunade" will still return it to the owner's hand.

When "Embodiment of Apophis" is a monster, and is returned to the hand by "Penguin Soldier", etc., it is returned as a Trap Card. So you cannot activate "Major Riot".

You can target "Embodiment of Apophis" with "Monster Recovery" while it is a monster, and return it to the Deck.

If "Embodiment of Apophis" is a monster, and you use "Magical Hats" with it, it returns to your Spell & Trap Card Zone face-down. The other effects of "Magical Hats" apply normally.

If "Embodiment of Apophis" battles "D.D. Warrior Lady" and her effect is activated, both will be removed from play.

If you select "Embodiment of Apophis" as your monster for "Last Turn", it is not sent to the Graveyard even though "Last Turn" sends all other cards to the Graveyard.

If you control "Theban Nightmare" and "Embodiment of Apophis", you control a Trap Card so the effect of "Theban Nightmare" cannot be applied.

If you change "Embodiment of Apophis" to Machine-Type and use "Limiter Removal", then "Jinzo" is Summoned later that turn and "Embodiment of Apophis" switches back to a Trap Card, "Embodiment of Apophis" is not destroyed in the End Phase by "Limiter Removal".

If you use "Dimensionhole" or "Interdimensional Matter Transporter" against "Embodiment of Apophis", it returns to the field as a Trap Card and is destroyed immediately. If "Dimensionhole" was used, you cannot use the Monster Card Zone while "Embodiment of Apophis" is removed from play, but you can use the Spell & Trap Card Zone it was occupying.

UNOFFICIALLY: Some other things to consider by GSAttack.

If a chain results from the activation of "Embodiment of Apophis" and during the resolution of that chain all remaining Monster Card Zones are filled before the resolution of "Embodiment of Apophis" (ie. "Ojama Trio" resolves first), then "Embodiment of Apophis" will be unable to resolve and it will be sent to the Graveyard.

While "Embodiment of Apophis" is a Monster Card you will not be able to spell out the Spirit Message "F-I-N-A-L" with "Destiny Board" as "Embodiment of Apophis" will be occupying one of your Spell/Trap Card Zones in addition to the Monster Card Zone.

When "Embodiment of Apophis" is negated by "Jinzo" or "Royal Decree" it will no longer count towards the effect of "United We Stand".


 

 

 


Copyrightę 1998-2005 pojo.com
This site is not sponsored, endorsed, or otherwise affiliated with any of the companies or products featured on this site. This is not an Official Site.