Card of the Day
TCG Fan Tips
Top 10 Lists
Anteaus on YGO
Dark Paladin's Dimension
Releases + Spoilers
Booster Sets (Original Series)
Booster Sets (GX Series)
Booster Sets (5D Series)
Booster Sets (Zexal Series)
Yugi 2004 |
GX: 2006 |
Jaden | Syrus
5D: 1 | 2 | Toolbox
Zexal: 2011 | 2012 | 2013
Yugi 2013 | Kaiba 2013
Dragons Roar &
Blaze of Destruction &
Fury from the Deep
Lord of the Storm
Rise of Dragon Lords
Saga of Blue-Eyes
Coll. Tins Spoiler
Jaden #2 | Zane
Aster | Jaden #3
Jesse | Yusei
Yugi | Yusei #2
Kaiba | Yusei #3
3 | 4
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5
1 | 2
1 | 2 | 3 | 4
5 | 6 | 7 | 8
1 | 2 | 3 | 4
5 | 6 | 7
1 | 2 | 3 | 4
5 | 6 | 7
Evan T 08
X-Ref List w/ Passcodes
GX Character Bios
Millennium Duels (2014)
Nighmare Troubadour (2005)
Destiny Board Traveler (2004)
Power of Chaos (2004)
Worldwide Edition (2003)
Dungeon Dice Monsters (2003)
Falsebound Kingdom (2003)
Eternal Duelist Soul (2002)
Forbidden Memories (2002)
Dark Duel Stories (2002)
Pojo's YuGiOh Books
Life Point Calculators
DDM Starter Spoiler
DDM Dragonflame Spoiler
Millennium Board Game
Yu Yu Hakusho
Yu-Gi-Oh! Article 3 on
6.20.05, by GSAttack
is little to report this week by way of
changes/clarifications. We are familiar with the controlled
infinite loops of "Gearfried the Iron Knight" with
"Butterfly Dagger – Elma" and "Manticore of Darkness" with
another "Manticore of Darkness". Kevin provides
clarification regarding the infinite loops that can occur
with the card "Pole Position".
This is a shortened version of Kevin's
original post. If you would like to read the entire post, as
well as a nice little segment between Yugi and Kaiba, you
can see it here:
Kevin Tewart (Lead Game Designer at Upper Deck)
"The basic rule in the Yu-Gi-Oh! TRADING CARD GAME has
always been that you cannot activate cards that cause
infinite loops, because you are deliberately creating a
situation where effects cannot resolve. And effects MUST
resolve as much as possible.
With regards to "Pole Position", you cannot choose to Summon
a monster, Set a
monster, or Set or activate a Spell or Trap Card, or card
effect, if it would
cause an infinite loop.
If you do this by mistake, just rewind the game to before
I have "Pole Position", "Luminous Spark" (+500 to LIGHT),
and "Gemini Elf" (1900 ATK / EARTH) face-up on the field.
"Gemini Elf" is the monster on the field with the highest
ATK, so it is unaffected by Spell Cards. If the opponent
Summons "X-Head Cannon" (1800 ATK / LIGHT), "Luminous Spark"
will raise the ATK of "X-Head Cannon" to 2300, making it the
highest ATK monster on the field, so it’s unaffected by
Spell Cards, so it drops to 1800 ATK, then increases to
2300, then drops to 1800, etc. This would create an infinite
loop. Therefore, the opponent cannot Summon "X-Head Cannon".
The opponent has "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" (3000 ATK) and
"Pole Position" face-up on the field. I have "Gemini Elf"
(1900 ATK), and an "Opticlops" (1800 ATK) equipped with "Axe
of Despair"(+1000 ATK; 2800 total) face-up on the field, and
a Set "Ring of Destruction". If I activate "Ring of
Destruction" to destroy "Blue-Eyes White Dragon", then "Opticlops"
will be the highest ATK monster on the field, and cause an
infinite loop (it is the highest, it isn’t, it is, it isn’t,
etc.). Therefore, I cannot target "Blue-Eyes White Dragon"
with "Ring of Destruction”.
The opponent has a face-down "Pole Position". I have "Opticlops"
(1800 ATK) and "Gemini Elf" (1900 ATK) face-up on the field.
I activate "Axe of Despair" (+1000 ATK) and try to equip my
"Opticlops" (1800 ATK). The opponent cannot chain "Pole
Position", since that would cause an infinite loop. "Pole
Position" is an illegal activation. Put it back face-down.
I have "Pole Position", "Blade Knight" (1600 ATK / LIGHT),
and "Luminous Spark" (+500 ATK to LIGHT) face-up on the
field and 2 cards in my hand. The opponent has "Giant Orc"
(2200 ATK / EARTH) face-up on the field, which is the
highest-ATK monster on the field. If I Set 1 of the 2 cards
in my hand, "Blade Knight" gains +400 ATK with its effect,
becomes the highest-ATK monster, and because of "Luminous
Spark" an infinite loop is created. So I am not allowed to
Set a card.
All easy to understand. You cannot knowingly perform an
action that would cause an infinite loop.
But what about things you have no control over? Let’s find
I have "Pole Position" and "Opticlops" (1800 ATK) face-up on
the field. The opponent has a "Muka Muka" equipped with "Axe
of Despair" face-up on the field with no cards in his hand.
At the start of the opponent's turn, he draws a card, making
"Muka Muka"'s ATK 1900. An infinite loop is created by
something that could not be avoided, so "Pole Position" is
The opponent has "Blade Knight" (1600 ATK) equipped with
"Butterfly Dagger - Elma" (+300 ATK; 1900 ATK total) and 2
cards in hand, along with "Marauding Captain" (1200 ATK).
The turn player has "Robbin' Goblin", "Pole Position", and
"Giant Orc" (2200 ATK). The turn player attacks "Marauding
Captain" with "Giant Orc", inflicting 1000 points of damage.
The opponent has to discard a card because of "Robbin'
Goblin" and an infinite loop is created because "Blade
Knight" now fluctuates between 2300 and 2000 ATK (either
above or below "Giant Orc", making it the strongest monster
on the field… or not). Therefore, "Pole Position" is
I have "Pole Position", "Banner of Courage", and "Opticlops"
face-up on the field. The opponent has "Gemini Elf" face-up
on the field. When I enter my Battle Phase, an infinite loop
is created as "Opticlops" fluctuates between 1800 and 2000
ATK. So "Pole Position" is destroyed.
I have "Pole Position", "Gemini Elf" (1900 ATK / EARTH) and
"Mystic Plasma Zone" (+500 ATK to DARK) face-up on the
field, and an "Opticlops" (1800 ATK / DARK) in face-down
Defense Position. The opponent attacks my face-down "Opticlops"
with "Mokey Mokey". When we flip "Opticlops" face-up in the
Damage Step, an infinite loop is created as "Opticlops"
fluctuates between 1800 and 2300 ATK (either above or below
"Gemini Elf", making it the strongest monster on the field,
or not). Therefore, "Pole Position" is destroyed.
So remember: you cannot choose to do anything that would
create an infinite loop. If an infinite loop is thrust on
you by things you had no control over, then you must destroy
the offending card ("Pole Position" in all of these cases)."