- Magic
- DBZ
- Gundam
- Pokemon
- Digimon 
- Harry Potter
- Anime

- Advertise on Pojo
- Our Sponsors
- Pojo Polls

 


Pojo's Yu-Gi-Oh Card of the Day

Amplifier
Super Rare

This card can only be equipped to "Jinzo". As long as this card is equipped, the effects of Trap Cards controlled by the equipped monster's controller are not negated by the effect of the equipped monster. When this card is removed from the field, the equipped monster is destroyed. This card's activation and effect cannot be negated by any other card.

Type - Equip Spell
Card Number
- AST-040

Ratings are based on a 1 to 5 scale 1 being 
the worst.  3 ... average.  5 is the highest rating

Date Reviewed - 7.2.04

Tranorix Friday: Amplifier

Ah...what week is complete without a fun card for Friday? Today's card is the ever-popular Amplifier, a Super Rare from Ancient Sanctuary. First and foremost, I'd like you all to read the last line of text. Here it is:

THIS CARD'S ACTIVATION AND EFFECT CANNOT BE NEGATED BY ANY OTHER CARD.

So NO, using this with Imperial Order WILL NOT cause an infinite loop. Why? See above.

That said, Amplifier is a pretty interesting card. Interesting, but not very playable. The reason is that it only works with one card, Jinzo; and that one card just happens to be restricted. The odds of getting this equipped to your Jinzo are pretty slim, then; and the odds of having a Trap (or Traps) set that you want to activate at the same time are even slimmer.

Granted, having Imperial Order active with Jinzo on your side of the field is a nice lock, but for that combo you need three cards...and two of them are restricted (and one is about to be banned). Play this in fun decks, but stay away from Amplifier on the tournament scene.

Typical tournament deck: 1.5/5
Trap deck with Jinzo: 2.5/5
OVERALL RATING: 2/5 
ExMinion OfDarkness Friday:
Amplifier

I honestly look forward to my opponents playing this card. It's going to make their Jinzos so much easier to kill.

The effect of only negating opponent's traps is great -- we saw where that came into play on the show with Kaiba vs. one of the Big Five who had Jinzo as a Deckmaster. However, this has a bit of a cost...if this gets destroyed, so does Jinzo.

A few things to note: First...Konami missed a little something when they created this card. When it was originally made, it didn't have that "activation and effect can't be negated" text. This created an infinite loop: Opponent played a Magic, then the Amplifier player activates Imperial Order...which negates Amplifier, which means Jinzo negates your traps so Imperial's no longer active...which means Amplifier is active again, so Jinzo no longer negates you traps so Imperial's back on, and so on, and so on, and so on.

It's pretty hard to believe that Konami never anticipated players comboing this card with Imperial Order. To get out of that loop, they just ruled that the activation and effect can't be stopped in any way. So if you can get it out, Jinzo + Amplifier + Imperial Order = wh0a. You can use traps, no one can use Magics until you say so. Unless they get T-Virus, X-Force, Scientist, or DD Warrior Lady out to get rid of that Jinzo, you're probably going to win.

Also...if you kill Amplifier with MST in a chain to its activation JINZO DOES NOT DIE because the monster was never properly equipped. This is for the same reason a monster never hits the field if MST is chained to Premature Burial.


Still...this is an Equip magic that requires equipping to a restricted to one (yet still searchable) monster.

Having said that...I still look forward to killing Jinzo with an MST.

1.75/5 
Kuro Basara Amplifier

Hrm, not a bad card. I actually like it, but overall equip cards aren't too
great. I mean look at all the m/t removal... oh well.

Amplifier is an Equip Spell card, and it has a pretty interesting effect.
It's effect states that, "This card can only be equipped to "Jinzo". As long
as this card is equipped, the effects of Trap Cards controlled by the
equipped monster's controller are not negated by the effect of the equipped
monster. When this card is removed from the field, the equipped monster is
destroyed. This card's activation and effect cannot be negated by any other
card." This isn't half bad, let me explain why.

Jinzo + Amplifier + Imperial Order = Ownage. Anymore questions? What can stop this? Breaker? Tornado Bird?

Tourney: 2.0 (because its an equip)
Casual: 3.0 (less staples in casual most of the time)
MerrilHess Amplifier

It's Amplifier. You wanna talk about fun stuff? Well, this is it.

Pros:
Gives you traps back when equipped to your Jinzo. I know that's an upside for me. I know I've wanted to Imperial a Raigeki/Dark Hole aimed right at my Jinzo for the longest time, and now I can. It also kills opposing Jinzos when combined with MST. Just watch out for a Ring or Imperial. They would hurt your chances by either doing 2400 to both of you or stopping it all together.

Cons:
It only works on the controller of the Jinzo, not the controller of the Amplifier. Just because it says it can't be negated does not mean MST can't destroy it chained to the activation.

Overall I give Amplifier a 5/10 tourney rating and a 7.5/10 casual rating. Very fun card, indeed. 

 

 Copyright 1998-2004 - Pojo.com 

This site is not associated with KAZUKI TAKAHASHI.  Yu-Gi-Oh is a registered trademarks of KAZUKI TAKAHASHI.
This is NOT an official site.  This is a fan site.