Pojo's The Spoils news, tips, strategies and more!

TheSpoils Home
Message Board
Pojo's Books

Card Game
Card of the Day
CCG Strategies
Top 10 Lists
Contact Us

Magic
Yu-Gi-Oh!
Pirates
DBZ
Pokemon
Yu Yu Hakusho
NeoPets
HeroClix
Harry Potter
Anime
Vs. System
Megaman

This Space
For Rent

Pojo's The Spoils Card of the Day  
 


 

Lugubrious Node

This card cannot be destroyed by other “node” cards. RECONSTRUCT COST: Pay 1. Deplete this card. Pick a "node" card in your discard pile. EFFECT: Shuffle the card into your deck.

Card Ratings
Limited: 1
Constructed: 4.5

Ratings are based on a 1 to 5 scale 1 being the worst.
3 ... average. 5 is the highest rating.


Date Reviewed - 12.13.06

doc Our next Node is the Rare Gearsmith Item Lugubrious Node.

The most expensive of the Nodes so far, this Node is an Item instead of a Character with a cost of 4 and a threshold of 3. Also unlike our previous 2 Nodes, this one cannot be destroyed by other Node cards. This is a very good thing since this card’s main ability is to keep the Nodes marching along! “Pay 1. Deplete this card. Pick a “node” card in your discard pile. Shuffle the card into your deck.”

Sure you can only get one each turn, but if the circumstances are right, you can pick one out of your discard pile at the end of your opponents turn (if he was lucky enough to sack one of your little beasties) and then get another one in the beginning of your turn. A quick search or two by playing other Nodes you were able to search for by playing the Nodes you perhaps just lost last turn, make for a near endless way to get Node after Node after Node back into your hand and back into play!

If you hadn’t seen it coming, this is what makes a Node deck tick. Certainly, having 2 Lugubrious Nodes in play at once make it much more efficient, so play’em if you got’em!

Lastly, this is one of the very few cards to have errata in First Edition. While it does not say so on the card, this Item does in fact have the sub-type “Node”.

Are you ready to try that Node deck now? If not, just wait until tomorrow!

In limited, this card has pretty much no place at all unless you’ve got 3-4 other Nodes. In a Node constructed deck, it’s absolutely crucial.

Limited: 1/5
Constructed: 4.5/5
 
lgmk Lug Node is different. First of all, its an item. Second of all, it doesn't let you search out another node. That's a distinct downside. This is definitely a constructed only card. You'll only ever want to play this card if you already have another Node in hand. Otherwise you risk stopping the chain.

Lug Node is a recovery card. If you need to use its ability, it means that something has gone wrong, your nodes have been destroyed. Lugubrious Node let's you keep momentum, to some extent, after the game's been turned against you. This brings us to a rather important point when playing a node deck: always have a node with the search ability in hand, aka any node but this one. This card can only help you recover if you have something to recover with. It's this card that means you only ever have to play one copy of tomorrow's card.

Some people would prefer if this card added the nodes directly to your hand. While that couldn't be called a bad thing, it works well the way it is. Assuming you have a useful node in your hand, you'll be able to search out whichever node you just put back in your deck.

For recovery purposes I must admit that having more than one Lug Node in play will help. Since it depletes after using its ability, one use per turn per node. If you want to get aggressive again right away you'll want more than that. Another note is that these guys will help Hub Node get its boost- and at the same time, they're not as vulnerable as, say, Basic Node.

Sealed 1/5
Constructed 4/5
 

Copyrightę 1998-2006 pojo.com
This site is not sponsored, endorsed, or otherwise affiliated with any of the companies or products featured on this site. This is not an Official Site.