Judge Bill



Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Message Board 
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

The Urzatron

Short Answer:

-In tournaments, cards are played according to their wording in the Oracle. The Oracle can be found at http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dci/oracle.

-3 Answers, for the last time...

-In general, abilities only exist while the card is in play (402.8). For example:

>Blastoderm is only untargetable while he is in play.

>Goblin Piledriver only has protection from blue while he is in play.

>You can only do damage with Mogg Fanatic while it is in play.

-If you have multiples of a card in play, you deal with each card individually. For example,

>If you have 2 Furnace of Rath out, you multiply the damage by 4.

>If you have 2 Lethal Vapors out, creatures will be destroyed twice. (You need 2 regeneration shields to save it.)

>If you have 2 Lethal Vapors out, and you play the ability that destroys Lethal Vapors, playing one of the abilities will only destroy one Lethal Vapors. You will end up skipping 2 turns if you have to destroy 2 Lethal Vapors.

>If you have 2 Mirri's Guile out, you look at the top 3 cards, rearrange them, then look at the top 3 cards again and rearrange them.

>If you have 2 Lightning Rift out, and you cycle a card, you may pay 1 for each Lightning Rift and have Each Lightning Rift deal 2 damage, for a total of 4 damage.

-402.6. Once activated or triggered, an ability exists independently of its source as an ability on the stack.

So if you destroy the card that the ability was on, the ability will still resolve.


Q: I have several "Urza's Tower," "Urza's Mine," and "Urza's Power Plant." Now say I have 3 of each, can I still use them all the same way?


A: Let's look at the wording of each of the cards ...

Urza's Mine

Land -- Urza's Mine

{T}: Add {1} to your mana pool. If you control an Urza's Power-Plant and an Urza's Tower, add {2} to your mana pool instead.

Urza's Power Plant

Land -- Urza's Power-Plant

{T}: Add {1} to your mana pool. If you control an Urza's Mine and an Urza's Tower, add {2} to your mana pool instead.

Urza's Tower

Land -- Urza's Tower

{T}: Add {1} to your mana pool. If you control an Urza's Mine and an Urza's Power-Plant, add {3} to your mana pool instead.

The Urza lands look at the land types of the cards (8th Edition FAQ). So if you have Urza's Mine in play, and you control lands with types "Urza's Tower" and "Urza's Power-Plant," then the Urza's Mine taps for {2} instead of {1}.


Q: Can I cycle Gempalm Polluter, then before the cycling ability of the Polluter resolves, use my Unholy Grotto to put it on top of my library so I draw the same Polluter I cycled?


A: Yes.


Q: What are the current official definitions of banding, flanking, and horsemanship?

A: The current definitions of flanking, banding, and horsemanship can be found in the Comprehensive Rules (the most current version can be found at http://www.wizards.com/magic/comprules/MagicCompRules_070103.doc). Banding is 502.10, Flanking is 502.3, and Horsemanship is 502.17.


Q: Can a "creature land", such as Stalking Stones or an Animated Land, still be tapped for mana while they're creatures?

A: As long as the effect states that it "is still a land," yes, since it doesn't lose the mana ability when it becomes a creature.


Q: Do spells that don't resolve still contribute to a Storm card later in the turn?


A: Yes. Storm only cares that spells are played. Storm doesn't care what happens after the spell is played.


Q: Can I remove a creature in my opponent's graveyard for Entrails Feaster?


A: Yes.


Q: I have a Stifle in my hand. My opponent cycles Decree of Justice. Can I counter both the cycle draw and the tokens with Stifle?

A: No. When he cycles Decree of Justice, it sets up an activated ability (the draw a card) and a triggered ability (that makes the tokens). If you want to stop both, you will need 2 Stifles.


Q: When is the X paid to create the tokens for Decree of Justice?

A: Since it is not a cost to cycle the card, and it is not a mode, the X is paid on resolution. If you Stifle the ability that creates the tokens, the mana is not spent.


Q: So if my opponent taps a bunch of mana into his pool, and cycles Decree of Justice, and I Stifle the ability that creates the tokens, do they take mana burn.

-Shawn T.

A: In my opinion, in any event lower than a Grand Prix, no. They should be given a caution and be allowed to untap the lands, along with a detailed explanation of how the ability works, and told not to do it again. If they repeat the error a few times, then I may make them take mana burn. But they would have to do it at least 4 times before I would even consider making them mana burn.


Q: My friend is playing a slide deck, and I play a Megrim. Now, when he plays cycling, does he take the 2 from Megrim?


A: Yes. Part of the cost of playing the cycling ability is to discard the card with cycling. Since he is discarding a card, Megrim will trigger.

See you Monday.

-Bill Guerin

DCI Level 2 Judge


Ask Judge Bill A Question



Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.