|  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  | |||
|  | ||||||||||
|  |  | |||||||||
|  |  | |||||||||
|  | ||||||||||
| 
 |  |  | 
 
							11.27.04  
                            
							 
								Title: Flipping Out Questions: 13 
								--- 
								Q: You tap Nezumi 
								Shortfang, targeting your opponent with its 
								discard ability. Your opponent has only one card 
								in hand, Shock, which he casts in response, 
								targeting Nezumi Shortfang.  Since your opponent 
								now has no cards in hand, does Nezumi Shortfang 
								become Stabwhiskers, the Odious, a 3/3 which 
								survives the Shock, or does the Shock resolve 
								first, killing Nezumi Shortfang while it is 
								still a 1/1?   
								-Owl 
								A: The "flip" only 
								occurs as a part of the discard activated 
								ability. Since the activated ability hasn't 
								resolved yet, the Shock will kill the Shortfang 
								before it flips. (If he Shocked you, the Shortfang would still flip, as when the ability resolves, the only thing targeted is the player. Your opponent doesn't have any cards in his hand to discard, but the ability did resolve, so the flip will occur as the second part of the ability.) 
								--- 
								Q: I have a quick 
								question on the Kaldra set.  Supposing that a 
								Kaldra token has been created, and is currently 
								equipped with the Sword/Shield/Helm of Kaldra.  
								When in combat with a non-first strike creature 
								(or non-double strike for that matter), am I 
								correct in thinking that the Kaldra token would 
								deal its first strike damage (due to the Helm), 
								triggering the Sword's 'remove from game' 
								ability and removing the opposing creature 
								before any damage is done to Kaldra? 
								A: Assuming the 
								creature survives the 9 points of damage Kaldra 
								deals, then yes. 
								(If the damage from 
								the Kaldra token kills the creature, the dead 
								creature won't be removed from the game [since 
								it's not in play when the Sword's triggered 
								ability resolves.]) 
								--- 
								Q: Example: Opponent 
								attacks with a Darksteel Colossus.  I declare my 
								Kaldra token (with all 3 equips) as a blocker.  
								Kaldra would deal first strike damage to the 
								Colossus, triggering the Sword of Kaldra to 
								remove the Colossus from the game.  I'm thinking 
								that the Colossus would be removed from the game 
								before it has a chance to deal damage to Kaldra, 
								but am unsure, so I thought I'd clarify.  
							 
								-Derek  
								A: You are correct. 
								--- 
								Q: I have Recycle in 
								play.  Which of the following would cause me to 
								draw a card? a) Playing a land b) Playing a land from the graveyard via Crucible of Worlds c) Flashing back a Moment's Peace d) Madnessing out a Rootwalla during my discard phase. 
								A: All of the above. 
								Recycle doesn't care on how the card was played, 
								it only cares that it was played. 
								(In (d), though, 
								you'll still have to discard down to 2 again 
								after the Rootwalla comes into play.) 
								Recycle  4GG Enchantment Skip your draw step. Whenever you play a card, draw a card. Your maximum hand size is two. 
								--- Q: If both players control a Platinum Angel and have no cards in their hand or library, what happens? 
								A: The game is 
								declared a draw, and you play another. 
								(If one of the 
								players refuses to do so, when I am called over, 
								I would politely suggest that the player does 
								so, or that he will likely not be playing in the 
								tournament any more [Cheating - Stalling].) 
								--- Q: My opponent plays a Fireball for X=some obscenely high amount. Is its converted mana cost still 1 and thus a legal target for Liquify, or because it's being played, is its converted mana cost an obscenely high number and requiring a harder counter? A: While that Fireball is on the stack, its mana costs is the obscenely high number+1. You'll probably need a hard counterspell to counter it. 
								--- 
								Q: I control Kamahl, 
								Fist of Krosa, Forbidden Orchard, and Intruder 
								Alarm.  Can I tap the Orchard for a green mana, 
								put the mana into Krosa in order to turn the 
								orchard itself into a creature, and have the 
								Orchard untap when the Spirit token comes into 
								play? 
								A: Yes. 
								--- 
								Q: If so, how many 
								times can I do this in a single turn?  As many 
								times as I have lands for Kamahl to target, or 
								as many times as I want? 
								-Brian M. 
								A: As many times as 
								you want. (Turning a land that's already a 
								creature into a creature again won't do 
								anything, though. There's probably a better use 
								for that mana at that point.  
								Once the Orchard is 
								made a creature once, it will untap every time a 
								spirit comes into play on the opponent's side. 
								You don't need to make it a creature every time 
								the Intruder Alarm triggers.) 
								--- 
								Q: Can Bringer of 
								the Red Dawn take control of untapped creatures? 
								A: Sure. (If they 
								didn't want it to, it would say "target tapped 
								creature.") 
								--- 
								Q: If a creature is 
								tapped, can it still use abilities that don't 
								require it to be taped? 
								A: Yes. 
								--- 
								Q: Can equipment be 
								un-equipped by paying its equip cost? 
								A: No. 
								--- 
								Q: Assuming a player 
								controlled the Helm, Shield, and Sword of Kaldra, 
								could that player create more then 1 4/4 token 
								each turn by spending more mana to use the 
								ability more then once? 
								-Anthony 
								A: You could 
								_create_ the tokens, but the even numbered 
								tokens wouldn't last long. This is because when 
								a second token comes into play, both it and the 
								other Legendary token (that was created in the 
								previous activation) would be put into the 
								graveyard due to the legend rule. This happens 
								before you can do anything else. 
								--- 
								Q: When do you take 
								mana burn? 
								-Duelist 
								A: At the end of 
								every phase. (The phases are: Beginning 
								[containing the untap, upkeep, and draw steps], 
								first main, combat [containing the beginning of 
								combat, declare attackers, declare blockers, 
								combat damage, and end of combat steps], second 
								main, and end [containing the end of turn and 
								cleanup steps].) 
								See you Tuesday. 
								Bill Guerin DCI Level 2 Judge | |||||||
Copyright 1998-2004 Pojo.com
         
  
		 
Magic the
        Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
        This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an
        Official Site.