|  |  |  |  |  |  |  |  | |||
|  | ||||||||||
|  |  | |||||||||
|  |  | |||||||||
|  | ||||||||||
| 
 |  |  | 
 
							11.16.04  
                            
                             
							Questions: 16  
                          Shields, not Swords 
                          -- 
                          We start off with a 
                          correction from last Tuesday ... 
                          Q: I asked about the 
                          infinite loop with Kiku, Tephaderm, and SHIELD of 
                          Kaldra on Tephaderm (not Sword as you answered in the 
                          last column). What happens then? 
                          A: That'll be an infinite 
                          loop. Assuming no player chooses to hop in at any time 
                          during the process, the Tephraderm will go mad hitting 
                          itself over and over again. 
                          --- 
                          Q: One more thing- what 
                          happens if this goes off in a game? Does the game just 
                          go on forever? 
                          A: If this happens in a 
                          game, assuming no player chooses to interrupt, the 
                          game is a draw. 
                          --- 
                          Q: If I imprint a card 
                          with Entwine or Kicker on a Panoptic Mirror or 
                          Isochron Scepter, do I play the base ability (or play 
                          one ability with entwine), both abilities, or pay the 
                          extra cost? 
                          -Richard S. 
                          A: You choose how to play 
                          the card with entwine. You can play either mode singly 
                          for free, or you can pay the entwine cost and choose 
                          both modes. 
                          --- 
                          Q: What is first strike? A: First Strike is just that. Creatures with first strike will do their damage before creatures that don't have first strike (or double strike). 
                          --- 
                          Q: When a card says add 1 
                          to your manna where does it go / come from? -DOTH 
                          A: That mana gets added to 
                          you mana pool. You use it to cast spells. If you don't 
                          use it before the phase ends, you lose 1 life. 
                          --- 
                          Q: If I have a Panoptic 
                          Mirror in play and I want to imprint Creeping Mold, 
                          will I have to pay two green and two colorless or can 
                          I pay any color mana? 
                          A: The result for 
                          converted mana cost is always an integer. Converted 
                          mana cost never includes color, so you will just have 
                          to pay 4 mana of any color to imprint the Creeping 
                          Mold. 
                          Panoptic Mirror  5 Artifact Imprint — X, T: You may remove an instant or sorcery card with converted mana cost X in your hand from the game. (That card is imprinted on this artifact.) At the beginning of your upkeep, you may copy an imprinted instant or sorcery card and play the copy without paying its mana cost. 
                          --- 
                          Q: Also, in its effect 
                          will I get the instant or sorcery every turn or just 
                          one? 
                          A: You'll get to play a 
                          copy of a card imprinted on the Mirror every turn. 
                          --- 
                          Q: Can I remove more than 
                          one instant or sorcery? 
                          -Calie 
                          A: Sure, but you can 
                          remove only one card each time you play the ability 
                          that lets you remove cards. 
                          Also, no matter how many 
                          cards are imprinted on the Mirror, you can only copy 
                          one each upkeep. 
                          --- 
                          Q: Can you animate and 
                          attack with a Blinkmoth Nexus the first turn you play 
                          it? -Julian 
                          A: No. Once the Nexus 
                          becomes a creature, it sees that it hasn't been in 
                          play since the start of your turn, and it is then 
                          affected by summoning sickness. 
                          --- 
                          Q: I used Aether Burst 
                          (with one in my graveyard) to return a Horseshoe Crab 
                          and a Morphling back to my opponent's hand. He then 
                          made Morphling not the target of spell or abilities, 
                          he then told me the effect of the Aether Burst 
                          "fizzles" or doesn't work and I can't return the Crab 
                          as well. Is he correct? 
                          A: No. A spell is 
                          countered in this way only if ALL of the targets are 
                          made illegal 413.2a). Since the Crab is still a legal 
                          target, The Aether Burst does as much as it can, and 
                          sends the Crab back to his hand. 
                          --- 
                          Q: I tap my opponent's 
                          Goblin Sharpshooter. Then I attacked with a Riptide 
                          Entrancer to gain control of his Sharpshooter. But to 
                          use her ability I had to sacrifice her. In doing so, 
                          since she hit the graveyard, can he untap the 
                          Sharpshooter and respond by shooting itself (killing 
                          it so I don't get it)? 
                          -Majestic 
                          A: No. The sacrifice and 
                          control change both happen during the resolution of 
                          the Entrancer's ability. By the time the 
                          Sharpshooter's trigger is put on the stack, you have 
                          control of the Sharpshooter. 
                          --- 
                          Q: If a 2/2 creature with 
                          double strike were to block a regular 4/4, the 2/2 
                          would first deal its combat damage to the 4/4 and then 
                          during the second combat damage step both the 2/2 and 
                          4/4 deal each other damage thus killing them both. 
                          Correct? 
                          A: Correct. 
                          --- Q: If a 2/2 creature with double strike were to block a regular 1/1, what would happen? 
                          A: Then the 2/2 would kill 
                          the 1/1 during the first strike damage step, and when 
                          it came time to assign regular damage, the 2/2 would 
                          look around, see that it's not in combat with anyone, 
                          and not assign regular combat damage. 
                          --- Q: If a 2/2 creature with double strike were to attack and be blocked by a regular 2/2, what would happen? 
                          A: This is the same answer 
                          as above. It has nobody blocking it when it comes time 
                          to assign regular combat damage, and so it wouldn't 
                          assign any damage during the regular combat damage 
                          step. 
                          (However, if the double 
                          striker had trample, it would do damage to the player 
                          in the regular combat damage step.) 
                          --- Q: If any creature with double strike were to attack and not be blocked, what would happen? 
                          A: It would deal damage to 
                          the defending player in both first strike and regular 
                          combat, so the defending player would end up taking 
                          damage equal to twice the creature's power. 
                          --- Q: Please include a definition of double strike that would be appropriate and easily understandable. 
                          -Danny H. 
                          A: The easiest definition 
                          I can come up with is, "A creature with double strike 
                          does damage in both the first strike and regular 
                          damage steps." 
                          See you Friday. 
                          Bill Guerin DCI Level 2 Judge | |||||||
Copyright 1998-2004 Pojo.com
         
  
		 
Magic the
        Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
        This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an
        Official Site.