Judge Bill



Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Message Board 
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Cycling Libraries

Title: First Darksteel Question
Questions: 9


I knew it was about time I got a Darksteel question. For review, this is my policy on answering cards before the release of the official list on 26 January:

1) You must provide me with the full rules text of the card. I will answer the question based on the rules text you give me. If the rules text you give me turns out to be different that the actual rules text, then it may change the ruling.

2) I will not answer questions that deal with a block or set mechanic until the FAQ for the set has been released, unless the mechanic has been seen in another set previously, in which case I will rule based on what we currently know about the mechanic.


Q: "Darksteel Reactor is indestructible.
At the beginning of your upkeep, you may put a charge counter on Darksteel Reactor.
When Darksteel Reactor has twenty or more charge counters on it, you win the game."

Let's say I have the Reactor, and the 20th charge counter makes its way on. The last line on Darksteel Reactor should then trigger ("when"). Then the last line should trigger (same reason). Then the last line should trigger. Ad infinitum.

A: Actually, no. Once a state-trigger has triggered, it waits for the trigger to resolve before re-triggering.

410.11. Some triggered abilities trigger on a game state, such as a player controlling no permanents of a particular type, rather than triggering when an event occurs. These abilities trigger as soon as the game state matches the condition. They’ll go onto the stack at the next available opportunity. These are called state triggers. (Note that state triggers aren’t the same as state-based effects.) A state-triggered ability doesn’t trigger again until the ability has resolved, has been countered, or has otherwise left the stack. Then, if the object with the ability is still in the same zone and the game state still matches its trigger condition, the ability will trigger again.


Q: I know a similar state can occur with Transcendence and Platinum Angel and 20 or more life. Did R&D write "When" where they should have written "If?"


A: No, they got it right. Transcendence's trigger resolves, the game loss is suppressed by the Angel, and since the game state still exists, a new Transcendence trigger goes on the stack.
A similar condition will occur if you control Darksteel Reactor and your opponent controls Platinum Angel (or vice versa).


Q: My friend has this multicolor deck with a bunch of dual lands. He constantly landcycles for them. For instance, he swampcycles Twisted Abomination for a Bayou. Can he do that?

-Roland V.

A: Yes. Bayou is a swamp (a land with the swamp subtype), so Twisted Abomination can get it.


Q: Regarding Oath of Druids, if my opponent has 3 creatures in play, what is the most amount of creatures I can Oath up?

A: One. Oath of Druids will only trigger once each turn, since it is only the beginning of the upkeep once. After you Oath up a creature, the beginning of Upkeep has long since passed.


Q: I am tapped out during my opponent's turn. At the beginning of my turn, I untap, and during my upkeep, I play an Enlightened Tutor and draw the card that was tutored during my draw step. is this a legal play?

-Jonathan C.

A: Yes.


Q: I was wondering if it is possible to Stifle the kicker cost on an Urza's Rage?


A: No. Kicker is a static ability that allows you to pay an additional cost to generate an extra effect.


Q: Is an enchant creature an enchantment?


A: Yes. We call "Enchant Creature" cards "local enchantments," since they are attached to a creature.


Q: If I've got an en-Kor creature and any other creature, is it legal to play the en-Kor ability on it even if no damage is actually taken from any source; just like putting a regeneration shield?

A: Yes. In fact, the redirection shield must be in place before the damage is dealt.


Q: So actually, with a creature like Task Force, it could become (1/very large) with this trick.


A: Correct.


Tournament Report - FNM - Diamond Bar, CA - Top 4

The deck:

Affinity, v2

1 Aether Spellbomb
3 Broodstar
3 Chromatic Sphere
4 Frogmite
2 Lightning Greaves
4 Mana Leak
4 Myr Enforcer
4 Override
4 Pyrite Spellbomb
3 Talisman of Progress
4 Thirst for Knowledge
4 Thoughtcast

4 Ancient Den
4 Glimmervoid
4 Great Furnace
1 Island
4 Seat of the Synod
4 Tree of Tales

3 Naturalize
4 Pyroclasm
3 Sacred Ground
2 Second Sunrise
3 Stifle

We get 33 people, which is most likely 5 rounds. The pairings are generated, I look over Scott (the head judge's) shoulder, and I see:

Round 1 - *BYE*

Games: 2-0, Matches: 1-0

So I get to wait around for an hour, and eventually the second round starts...

Round 2 - James F. - Affinity (Control)

Game 1 - He wins the roll, and goes first. He is stuck on 3 land, with only one of them being an artifact land. After some card drawing, I get a Myr Enforcer, and just go to town.

Sideboard: In: 3 Naturalize. Out: 2 Pyrite Spellbomb, Thoughtcast.

Game 2 - The land problems continue for him this game, as his 3 lands are 2 Island and a Mountain (no artifact lands). Frogmite goes to town, as he gets absolutely no pressure.

Games: 4-0, Matches: 2-0

Round 3 - Jose G. - BW control

Game 1 - I throw back a one land hand, but keep a 6 card one land hand. I don't draw any others for a couple of turns, and as he has the board locked down, I scoop to give him minimal sideboarding information.

Sideboard: In: 2 Second Sunrise, 2 Stifle. Out: Override, Chromatic Sphere, Pyrite Spellbomb, Thoughtcast.
Game 2 - I keep another one land hand, but draw out of it. he gets no pressure going up to 6 land. I stifle his Oblivion Stone activation and cast Second Sunrise on Vengeance, and mop him up with double Myr Enforcer.

Game 3 - He plays first, and drops turn 2 Defense Grid. So I lost, right?

Not quite. I manage to beat down on him with a couple of Enforcers, forcing him to Wrath his Exalted off the table. I always leave enough open to counter spells, and Second Sunrise a Vengeance again. Later, I am finally able to drop Broodstar and go to town with counter backup.

Games: 6-1, Matches: 3-0
Round 4 - Harrison B. - UW control

Game 1 - I get the early Enforcer pressure, but don't apply enough, as it lets him get to 8 mana, and Vengeance with Leak backup. It didn't matter, as I hadn't drawn a counterspell anyway.

Sideboard: In: 3 Stifle, 3 Sacred Ground. Out: 2 Pyrite Spellbomb, Aether Spellbomb, Lightning Greaves, Thoughtcast, Broodstar.

Game 2 - I have a slight mana stall, but am able to pull out. I drop turn 2 Sacred Ground, and he is surprised, before realizing that my lands would come back off a Vengeance, making it effectively a Wrath. He stalls on 5 land anyway, and triple Enforcer outraces an Angel, as he didn't get double white until like turn 5-6.

Game 3 - Once again, I get turn 2 Sacred Ground, but am not able to outrace the Angel this time, and can do nothing about the air beatings. I make a mistake to squander any chance I had of getting though early, as I cast a Frogmite before attacking, and he had Wing Shards for my 2 attackers. To further compound the problem, I waste a counter on one of the copies, forgetting that one copy would still go through.

Games: 7-3, Matches: 3-1

I look at last round standings, and with a 2/3 match win % (James had won round 3), I am probably in regardless of next round's result, as there will be at least 1 3-2 that makes top 8.

We post standings after round 4, and my opponent's match win percentage has gone up to 70%. I get the play down match next round ...

Round 5 - Jeff C. - Mirror

Game 1 - He mulligans once, while I keep a one land hand. Meanwhile, turn 5 rolls around, and I am still on that one land.

1) First, a comment to my deck: "Even though we're in with a loss, it doesn't mean you can crap out on me!"

In: 3 Naturalize, 2 Second Sunrise. Out: 4 Frogmite, Thoughtcast.

Game 2: I play around with some Second Sunrise shenanigans, as I sac Spheres and Spellbombs for cards. It does nothing for me, though, as double Enforcer, and later Broodstar ruins my day.

Games: 7-5, Matches: 3-2

Since I played down, there are two 3-2's that make it. I am the 7 seed, as I expect. Harrison went 5-0, James went 4-1, and Jeff is 3-2. I don't remember what Jose was, but it was enough to put me well clear of 8th.
Top 8 - Brandon C. - Goblin Bidding

Game 1 - He doesn't have a die, and that's good for me, as I am 1 win for the last 3 months on physical die rolls, while I have only lost one non-die roll. That trend continues here, as I win the coin flip.

I get an Enforcer down and protect it, while he only draws one Mountain to go with 4 Swamps. A full complement of Pyrite Spellbombs clear first his blockers and then his life.

Sideboard: In: 4 Pyroclasm. Out: 4 Frogmite.

Game 2 - He drops turn 3 Goblin Goon, and I don't have a counter. However, I clear all other creatures off his side of the board, and start swinging with a Myr Enforcer. I draw enough counters and Pyrite Spellbombs to make sure his Goon remains lonesome, and I take the match.

Games: 9-5, Matches: 4-2

The top 4 split, and we get to go home.

See you Friday.

Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

Ask Judge Bill A Question



Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.