Judge Bill

Bill Guerin is a Level II Judge who we can personally vouch as walking Magic encyclopedia.  He'll be answering all your Magic Ruling questions.  Write him at PojoMagicJudge
@hotmail.com.


Home

Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Community
Message Board 
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge Bill's Corner

Null Artifact Lands
Questions: 6

---

Q: How does Null Rod interact with artifact lands? I know the ruling on Abeyance states that the activated abilities of lands are not affected by it, so I was wondering if the same would apply for Null Rod in relation to artifact lands.

-Gary S.

A: As currently written, Null Rod does prevent mana abilities from being played. The latest ruling on Crystalkeep is from the Sixth Edition rules, so it is after the changeover. It also takes into consideration cards like Mind Stone, so until such time as the wording is changed, Null Rod will stop you from playing the artifact lands' mana abilities.

Note the different wording of Abeyance.

Null Rod
{2}
Artifact
Players can't play artifacts' activated abilities.

Abeyance
{1}{W}
Instant
Until end of turn, target player can't play instants, sorceries, or nonmana activated abilities.
Draw a card.

---

Q: If I enchant Wellwisher with Psionic Gift, can the tapping of Wellwisher do both gain 1 life for each elf in play and deal 1 damage to target creature or player?

-Mike

A: NO. to play both the Wellwishers own ability and the ability given it by Psionic Gift, you need to be able to pay both costs SEPARATELY. Since both costs include tapping the Wellwisher, you will only be able to pay the costs of one ability.

---

Q: My opponent had 1 life with a Worship and Goblin Raider out and I attacked with a Riptide Entrancer. Would the Entrancer's ability resolve? If so, would he die because he doesnít have a creature anymore?

-Samsui

A: The ability to steal the creature will resolve just fine, as Worship is not damage prevention - the damage still gets dealt. However, Riptide's ability is a triggered ability. That means the damage has to be dealt before the ability can go on the stack. So at the time your opponent is dealt damage, he has a creature. So his life total will be 1.

---

Q: If I change any artifact land into a basic land type will that land still counts as artifact?

A: Yes. The change only changes the land type, not any types or supertypes.

(I had to change your question slightly, as there are no cards that turn lands into basic lands, but there are cards that give lands a basic land type.)

---

Q: I encountered that problem while playing my zombies with affinity and there were lots of problems with counting artifacts in play - I changed my opponent's lands into swamps with Zombie Trailblazer to weaken Broodstar.

-Grzegorz T.

A: This would not work - the lands would still be artifacts.

---

Q: I control an Elf and a Wirewood Symbiote and they're both untapped, can I return the Elf to my hand via the Symbiote's ability even if I don't have any creatures to untap?

-Mychal Z.

A: Yes. You donít have to untap a tapped creature - you can untap an untapped creature just fine with the Symbiote.

See you Tuesday.

Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

 

 

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 2001 Pojo.com

   

Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.