| 
						
					 | 
					  | 
					  | 
					
                           
                        
                        Pojo's Magic The Gathering 
                        Judge Bill's Corner  
						More Questions 
						Questions: 25 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: I have 3 life and I have Worship and a creature in 
						play. Then I play Reanimate. Would I lose if I chose 
						something with a 3 or more converted mana cost? 
						 
						A: Yes. Worship only deals with damage - it does not 
						deal with other forms of life loss. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: I have less than 7 cards in my graveyard, and I play 
						Fledgling Dragon. Later I gain threshold. Does the 
						Fledgling Dragon get his bonus? 
						 
						A: Yes. If you have a card that has a Threshold ability 
						in play, and you later get threshold, it gets the bonus 
						as soon as you gain threshold. (Of course, if you later 
						lose threshold, it will then lose the bonus.) 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: My opponent has a Clickslither and 2x Raging Goblins 
						on the field and he attacks, I have 2x 2/2 vanilla 
						creatures on the field. I block the Raging Goblins, can 
						he sacrifice them after I have already dealt damage to 
						them and then use them for Clickslither's effect?  
						 
						-Stampede 
						 
						A: No. However, he can sacrifice them before damage goes 
						on the stack. See Mantra 10. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: If a player equips a creature and you gain control of 
						that creature, do the Equipment stay on or do they fall 
						off? 
						 
						A: It stays on until that person moves it to a new 
						creature. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: If I Sculpting Steel an Isochron Scepter, do I get 
						the copied imprint spell or do I imprint a new spell? 
						 
						A: You imprint a new spell. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: If I Sculpting Steel a Pentavus with only 3 +1/+1 
						counters on it, do I get a 3/3 Pentavus or a 5/5? 
						 
						A: A 5/5 Pentavus. The Sculpted copy is a brand new 
						card. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: If a Pentavus gets a minus effect (Irradiate for 
						-2/-2) while it was a 5/5, can I remove five counters to 
						make 5 Pentavites or could I only get three? 
						 
						A: Only 3. Once you remove the third counter, it will 
						have 0 toughness and be put into the graveyard before 
						you can remove another counter. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: How does Gate to the Aether work with Future Sight? 
						 
						-Ray C. 
						 
						A: Exactly like it does without Future Sight, only you 
						know the card you're going to "reveal." 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: Fleeting Image's effect says that I can return it to 
						my hand. Would Fleeting Image's effect be an ability 
						that can be played outside the in-play zone, so I could 
						bring it back to my hand from the graveyard? 
						 
						-Brian H. 
						 
						A: No. Activated abilities only work in play unless it 
						says so or unless it can only be played in a zone other 
						than the in play zone. (402.8) 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: It's my opponent's upkeep and I have three 
						Fatespinner out. Is he supposed to skip his draw, main, 
						and combat phases or can he just skip one? 
						 
						A: He can choose the same phase to skip. Unless your 
						opponent really wants to skip multiple phases, multiple 
						Fatespinners don't have any added benefit. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: Player A has a Promise of Power and two other cards 
						in hand. Player A plays Promise and pays the entwine 
						cost. Would the creature token be a 2/2 or 7/7? 
						 
						-Chase 
						 
						A: 7/7. Read the Mirrodin FAQ, under Entwine. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: I have 5 mana available with an Oblivion Stone 
						untapped and my opponent has 2 mana available with 
						Blinkmoth Well untapped. If I tap my Oblivion Stone and 
						5 mana and sacrifice it, can my opponent tap it first?
						 
						 
						-VDG 
						 
						A: No. The Stone is no longer in play to be targeted. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: My opponent plays a Circle of Protection: Red. In 
						response, I play Chaoslace, making the CoP: Red red. 
						Does my opponent now need to pay red mana to activate 
						the CoP: Red? 
						 
						A: No. Changing the color of a card does not change any 
						of its text. He will still pay 1 to prevent damage from 
						a red source, not R. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: How about with Story Circle? 
						 
						-Lee  
						 
						A: Same thing. He will still be able to activate the 
						Story Circle with W, not R. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: If I have 4 lands out and play Temple of the False 
						God, can I tap it for mana, as it would be the fifth 
						land needed to be able to tap it? 
						 
						-Kathleen P. 
						 
						A: Yes. Temple of the False God is a land, so it will 
						count toward the 5 land requirement to play its ability. 
						 
						--- 
						Q: Two questions regarding Confusion in the Ranks: 
						first, is there any reason that putting an artifact land 
						into play (either with the special main phase action, or 
						some other way) would not trigger Confusion In The Ranks 
						and (assuming nothing else happens before the trigger 
						resolves) allow you to swap that artifact land for an 
						opponent's artifact, artifact creature or another 
						artifact land. 
						 
						A: Yes, you can play an artifact land and take an 
						artifact or land (or an artifact land) from your 
						opponent. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: The wording "its controller chooses target permanent" 
						throws me a little. Is Confusion In The Ranks' triggered 
						(targeted) ability still coming from a red source. So, 
						for example, I can't take a red creature, no matter what 
						color my creature is? 
						 
						-Alan 
						 
						A: Correct on both counts. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: If I have an Isochron Scepter with Raise the Alarm 
						and I have an Arcane Laboratory in play, can I use the 
						ability of the Scepter and on the stack, since I 
						technically have not played a spell yet, play a Raise 
						the Alarm and get 4 soldiers in play? 
						 
						A: No. The spells generated by Isochron Scepter ARE 
						PLAYED. This means it counts toward your one spell per 
						turn with Arcane Laboratory out. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: If player A plays Consume Spirit for 5 on a Carrion 
						Feeder, can player B in response sacrifice the Feeder 
						and not allow player A to gain life? 
						 
						-BoB 
						 
						A: Correct. If the Feeder isn't there, all targets of 
						Consume Spirit are illegal, so Consume Spirit is 
						countered. This means the life gain will not happen. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: If I had two Parallax Waves in play (lets call one of 
						them A and the other B), and an Opalescence in play, 
						could I keep both of the Waves in play indefinitely by 
						having A remove B and vice versa, and replacing each one 
						with fresh fade counters each time?  
						 
						-Jonathan C. 
						 
						A: No. You would require at least 3 Parallax Waves to 
						accomplish this. With only 2, one will not be in play 
						when its ability resolves, so it will do nothing. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: My opponent plays Orim's Chant as soon as its my turn 
						before I play anything. I thought he couldn’t do that 
						until I give up priority...what happens with Orim's 
						Chant? Do I play my spells as usual, and then when I 
						pass all spells after are negated or is he right by 
						doing it as soon as its my turn? 
						 
						-Tony R. 
						 
						A: You can play spells during your upkeep. During your 
						upkeep, after you are done playing spells, your opponent 
						can play Orim's Chant, preventing you from playing 
						spells for the remainder of your turn. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: Can I attack with Guiltfeeder as it is or do I need 
						to power up its attack with my Death Pit Offering? My 
						friend said I couldn't attack because Guiltfeeder has 0 
						attack. 
						 
						-Evan Carmichael 
						 
						A: You can attack with your Guiltfeeder just fine. It 
						won't do any damage, but its ability will trigger. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: I played Raging Goblin enchanted with Psionic Gift. 
						My opponent has a Ward Sliver in play giving all of his 
						slivers protection from red. My question is this: could 
						I still ping his slivers for 1 even though he has 
						protection from red, since it's a blue enchantment 
						dealing the damage? 
						 
						A: Psionic Gift 
						{1}{U} 
						Enchant Creature 
						Enchanted creature has "{T}: This creature deals 1 
						damage to target creature or player." 
						 
						Raging Goblin has the ability, so it is Raging Goblin (a 
						red source) dealing the damage. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: If I have Lavamancer's Skill enchanting a Prodigal 
						Sorcerer, can I ping for 3? 
						 
						-Platypus 
						A: No. You can ping for either one or two. To play the 
						ability, you must pay the cost (tapping the creature) 
						for each ability you wish to play. Once you play one of 
						the abilities, you can't tap it again to pay a cost, 
						since it is already tapped. 
						 
						--- 
						 
						Q: My friend and I were playing. He had an Iron Star, 
						and every time he would play a red spell he tapped all 
						of his lands to gain a bunch of life. 
						 
						-Shawn 
						 
						A: This is illegal. Read Iron Star's Text: 
						 
						Iron Star 
						{1} 
						Artifact 
						Whenever a player plays a red spell, you may pay {1}. If 
						you do, you gain 1 life. 
						 
						The ability will only trigger one time per red spell, so 
						he can only pay 1 one time for each red spell cast, and 
						only gain 1 life for each red spell cast. 
						 
						See you Friday. 
						 
						Bill Guerin 
						DCI Level 2 Judge 
                         
  
						  
					 |