Judge Bill

Bill Guerin is a Level II Judge who we can personally vouch as walking Magic encyclopedia.  He'll be answering all your Magic Ruling questions.  Write him at PojoMagicJudge
@hotmail.com.


Home

Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Community
Message Board 
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

7.11.03 Mantras Review: Mantras 3 and 4

To start off with, I have gotten a lot of questions regarding putting Mantras 3 and 4 together. So I'm going to take the first part of this column to explain to you how they go together.

First, the Mantras in question, along with one of the footnotes:

3. "If the card doesn't say 'TARGET,' it doesn't target." (31 May 02) (Footnote D)

4. "Protection is a DEBT we owe some of our permanents." (26 September 02) (Footnote B)

Footnote B: DEBT is an acronym. It stands for Damage, Enchantments, Blocking, and Targeting, which are the 4 things a creature with protection is protected from.

For an extended definition, protection is usually written on a card as "Protection from [quality]." (For example, "Protection from green.")

-Damage: All damage dealt to the permanent from a source with the stated quality is prevented.

-Enchantments: The permanent can't be enchanted by permanents with the stated quality.

-Blocking: The permanent can't be blocked by permanents with the stated quality.

-Targeting: The permanent can't be targeted by spells with the stated quality, or abilities from permanents with the stated quality. (Remember Mantra #3.)

Footnote D: Local Enchantment cards being played (cast) target the thing they're going to enchant. (27 January 03)

---

I tried to help you guys out at the end there, as the key to protection is generally that it has to be targeted or it had to do damage. If it does neither of those things, your creature will die.

So, if you have a Mystic Crusader out (Protection from Red and Black), and you do not have threshold, it will be safe from the following things:

-Dark Banishing (targets)
-Earthquake (damage)
-Sickening Dreams (damage)
-Carbonize (targets and damage)
-Immolation (targets when cast, and can't be put on even if it comes in by a way other than casting, due to protection)

It will die to the following things, since the following neither do damage nor are targeted:

-Engineered Plague (set to Nomads)
-Tsabo's Decree (again, choose Nomads)
-Mutilate
-Bane of the Living
-Misfortune
-Blocking Suq'ata Lancer (flanking penalty)
-Flowstone Surge (you control)
-Chainer's Edict (targets the player, not the creature)

Remember, if it doesn't say "TARGET," and it doesn't do damage, protection won't help it.

---

Now, on to the other questions...

Q: If I use Hermit Druid, and don't find a basic land, thus running out of cars in my library, do I deck out and lose or does the power just end and I lose next turn?

-gobi

A: A player only loses when he can not draw a card. Since Hermit Druid doesn't make you draw cards, you will be safe until the next time you have to draw a card.

---

Q: If I have both Furnace of Rath and Noble Purpose out, would I gain twice as much life?

-Luke C.

A: Here is Furnace of Rath's Eighth Edition wording, courtesy of the Oracle:

Furnace of Rath
{1}{R}{R}{R}
Enchantment
If a source would deal damage to a creature or player, it deals double that damage to that creature or player instead.

Since the creature is dealing double the damage, then yes, you gain the doubled damage in life.

---

Q: If I have a mixture of elves and beasts out in play and my opponent uses Tsabo's Decree naming "beast Elf", does this destroy all my creatures. They all have either the creature type beast or elf in the type line but never "beast elf". Can he destroy all my creatures like that?

-Eddie

A: 212.1e If an instruction requires choosing a subtype, you must choose one, and only one, existing subtype, and the subtype you choose must be for the appropriate type. For example, you canít choose a land type if an instruction requires choosing a creature type. (Use the Oracle card reference to determine whether a creature type exists; see rule 200.2.)

So he can choose either beast or elf, but not both.

See you Monday.

Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge


 

 

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 2001 Pojo.com

   

Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.