Judge Bill

Bill Guerin is a Level II Judge who we can personally vouch as walking Magic encyclopedia.  He'll be answering all your Magic Ruling questions.  Write him at PojoMagicJudge


Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Message Board 
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

7.07.03  The Type Line

Questions: 11


The new Oracle is out, changing all of the cards to their Eighth Edition wording. (See http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dci/oracle to get your copy.)

With that, I'd like to take the next little bit describing a part of the card that has received more attention under Eighth Edition rules - the "Type Line."

Eighth Edition has brought us a change in wording describing the "Type line." (For those of you who don't know what I'm talking about, the type line is the line where the card describes what it is. For example, Mischievous Quanar has "Creature - Beast" on its type line, while Mind's Desire has "Sorcery" on its type line.)

Let's go through the rules of the type line, rule by rule. My explanation is in brackets [ ]:

205. Type Line

205.1. The type (and subtype and supertype, if applicable) of a card is printed directly below the illustration. (See rule 212, “Type, Supertype, and Subtype.”)

[See my explanation above. 212 goes through the rules more specifically with regards to each type, and is good reading if you want to go further in depth with regards to this subject. We won't go through 212 today, however.]

205.2. Types

205.2a The types are artifact, creature, enchantment, instant, land, and sorcery.

[Anything other than this on the type line is a Supertype or Subtype. The type line will always have one or more of these six words on it.]

205.2b. Some objects can have more than one type (for example, an artifact creature). Such objects satisfy the criteria for any effect that applies to any of their types.

[So, if you had a Tribal Golem out ("Artifact Creature - Golem"), it could be destroyed by a Naturalize (destroys artifacts) or a Dark Banishing (destroys creatures).]

205.3. Subtypes

205.3a A card can have one or more subtypes printed on its type line.
[Can, but doesn't have to.]

205.3b Creature and land subtypes are always single words and are listed after a long dash. Each word after the dash is a separate subtype. Creature subtypes are also called creature types. Land subtypes are also called land types. Creatures and lands may have multiple subtypes.

Example: “Basic Land — Mountain” means the card is a land with the Mountain subtype. “Creature — Goblin Wizard” means the card is a creature with the subtypes Goblin and Wizard.

[So if you play Dragonstorm (search your library for a Dragon and put it into play), you will search your library for a card that has "Dragon" as a subtype.]

205.3c Enchantment subtypes consist of the word “enchant” and the word(s) that follows it: “enchant creature,” “enchant land,” etc. A card with the type “enchantment” has no subtype. An enchantment’s subtype specifies what the enchantment can be legally attached to. (Also see rule 212.4, “Enchantments.”)

[This one is pretty self explanatory, although 212.4 does a nice job of going more in depth.]

205.3d Artifacts, instants, and sorceries don’t have subtypes.

[Although Artifact Creatures, since they are creatures, may have creature subtypes.]

205.4. Supertypes

205.4a A card can also have one or more supertypes. These are printed directly before the card’s types. If an object’s types or subtypes change, any supertypes it has are kept, although they may not be relevant to the new type.

[I only see two Supertypes currently in the Oracle, both covered below. Please email me if you find another, as I can't find a situation where that last phrase has any relevance, as a legendary non-creature turned into a creature still is effected by the Legend rule, and all spells that change a land into something else say "It's still a land."]

205.4b Any land with the supertype “basic” is a basic land. Any land that doesn’t have this supertype is a nonbasic land.

Example: Note that cards printed in sets prior to the Eighth Edition core set didn’t use the word “basic” to indicate a basic land. Cards from those sets with the following names are basic lands: Forest, Island, Mountain, Plains, Swamp, Snow-Covered Forest, Snow-Covered Island, Snow-Covered Mountain, Snow-Covered Plains, and Snow-Covered Swamp.

[This is another reason to always look in the Oracle. Those 10 cards have the Supertype Basic in the Oracle.]

205.4c Any permanent with the supertype “legendary” is subject to the rules for Legends and legendary permanents. See rule 215, “Legends and Legendary Objects.”

[The Supertype Legendary is equivalent to the Creature Subtype Legend.]


Now, on to the questions for today.


Short Answers:

-When a card says "target player," you can target ANY player (barring something like an Ivory Mask). Reward the Faithful can target the player that is casting it.

-Another line of questions I will answer for the last time: Provoke only forces the provoked creature to block that creature IF IT IS ABLE TO. If it isn't (for example, it is tapped), then nothing happens, and the creature is not forced to block.

-There is a space to play spells and abilities after a creature is provoked, but before it is forced to block. So if the creature has an ability that taps it (for example, Wellwisher), then you can use that ability and end up not blocking.


Q: I wish to use Dragonspeaker Shaman to lower the casting cost of Day Of The Dragons. Is this possible, i.e., in what sense does Day Of The Dragons "officially" count as a "dragon" spell as per the ability on the Shaman?


A: This is not possible. Drgonspeaker Shaman only reduces spells that have "Dragon" as a subtype.


Q: I have a question about Mist of Stagnation. Do I have to have tapped permanents if I untap at the beginning of my upkeep?

A: No. You can untap untapped permanents just fine.


Q: For example: I have 3 untapped lands, 2 tapped lands nothing else and 5 five cards in my graveyard. Can I untap both the tapped lands I control and the untapped lands I control or do I have to untap 3 tapped permanents of my opponent?
I guess I can just untap my untapped permanents since that's legal or am I wrong?


A: You can untap your 5 permanents. You don't have to untap any of your opponent's.


Q: I use Threaten to bring a creature to my side. can I sacrifice it to an ability (for example, Nantuko Husk)?

A: Yes.


Q: If so, would it remain in my graveyard, or return to my opponent's?


A: It would go to your opponent's graveyard. Cards that go to a graveyard go to their owner's graveyard. (217.4a)


Q: If I play a Mogg Infestation, and then I play Brand, would I get the tokens?

A: Yes. Tokens are "owned" by the player that played the spell or ability that created them. (216.1)


Q: Also, would a token creature going to the graveyard activate an ability that looks for a creature going to the graveyard from play?

-Art C.

A: Yes. Killed tokens are actually put into the graveyard before they are removed from the game.


>>>Q: About Force Bubble: If I have two Force Bubbles out, and let's say I take 7 damage. Do both Force Bubbles receive 7 counters each, or can I have 4 counters on one and 3 on the other force bubble?

-Mr. M

A: Force Bubble's first ability is a replacement ability. Therefore, one of the Force Bubbles will replace the 7 damage with putting 7 counters on that Force Bubble, and since the damage is no longer there to be replaced, the other Force Bubble's ability will do nothing. Therefore, you will have one Force Bubble with 7 counters on it (and it will then be sacrificed, since it has more than 3 counters), and a Force Bubble with no counters on it.

It is not possible to split the counters between two Force Bubbles, so this is the only possible scenario involving 2 Force Bubbles.<<<

C: Ummm.... if I understand the rules right then I think you may have oversimplified this answer.

The questions says 7 damage, not 7 damage from one source. Your answer is perfect if the damage came from one source (say a 7/7 green beast attacking)...

But if the 7 damage came from different sources I think you might have it wrong. Say he was attacked (and didn't block) a 4/4, 2/2, and a 1/1. Then I think he do the following counter distributions:

Bubble A/Bubble B

He can replace any damage from any single source with either bubble.

-Christopher D.

A: I only answer what is written. He wrote he was taking 7 damage, and didn't specify that it was coming from multiple sources, so I have to assume it is only coming from one source. Your explanation is correct (Note that the characterizations of "Bubble A" and "Bubble B" are arbitrary, so there are actually 8 possible ways to put counters on in your scenario. Just switch the 2 Bubbles for the other 4). (However, why would you want to put any counters on the one that is staying in play? Put them all on the one that is being sacrificed, so you still have a fresh one out.)

See you Thursday.
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge





Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.