|  |  |  |  Pojo's Magic The Gathering
 Judge's Corner
 
                        7.03.03  8th Edition Rules Title: 8th Edition RulesAnswers: 13
 
 ---
 
 The rules for 8th Edition have been released, and they 
                        take effect immediately. You can find an article 
                        describing the changes by Paul Barclay, Rules Manager, 
                        along with a link to download the new rules, at http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=mtgcom/feature/162.
 
 (Of special note to me is New Rule 415.7c. Apparently, 
                        you guys aren’t the only ones who have problems with 
                        this ...
 
 415.7c The word “you” in an object’s text isn’t a 
                        target.)
 
 ---
 
 Short Answers:
 
 -“Regenerate [permanent]” means “The next time 
                        [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove 
                        all damage from it, tap it, and (if it’s in combat) 
                        remove it from combat."
 
 -If the creature is not being destroyed, but is leaving 
                        play by other means (for example, sacrifice), then 
                        giving that creature a regeneration shield will do 
                        NOTHING. The creature will be put in the graveyard.
 
 -For the last time: You have to sacrifice creatures for 
                        Phyrexian Dreadnaught BEFORE IT COMES INTO PLAY. So you 
                        can't do anything that would reference the Dreadnaught 
                        as a creature until you've sacrificed the creatures.
 
 -ANY spell that has been played this turn, whether it 
                        has resolved or not, counts toward Storm.
 
 ---
 
 Q: About Force Bubble: If I have two Force Bubbles out, 
                        and let's say I take 7 damage. Do both Force Bubbles 
                        receive 7 counters each, or can I have 4 counters on one 
                        and 3 on the other force bubble?
 
 -Mr. M
 
 A: Force Bubble's first ability is a replacement 
                        ability. Therefore, one of the Force Bubbles will 
                        replace the 7 damage with putting 7 counters on that 
                        Force Bubble, and since the damage is no longer there to 
                        be replaced, the other Force Bubble's ability will do 
                        nothing. Therefore, you will have one Force Bubble with 
                        7 counters on it (and it will then be sacrificed, since 
                        it has more than 3 counters), and a Force Bubble with no 
                        counters on it.
 
 It is not possible to split the counters between two 
                        Force Bubbles, so this is the only possible scenario 
                        involving 2 Force Bubbles.
 
 ---
 
 Q: can I use an en-Kor to target my Daru Spiritualist a 
                        large number of times, then sacrifice it to a Starlit 
                        Sanctum for a large life total?
 
 - MAX
 
 A: Yes.
 
 ---
 
 Q: My opponent has a Fleeting Aven out and I have an 
                        Astral Slide. I cycle and choose to remove the Fleeting 
                        Aven from the game. What happens?
 
 A: Depends on whose turn it is. If it's your turn, the 
                        Aven goes back to your opponent's hand. If it's his 
                        turn, it's removed from the game.
 
 ---
 
 Q: Do mana abilities go on the stack?
 
 -Landon C.
 
 A: No. (411.1)
 
 ---
 
 Q: Can a creature with protection from black block black 
                        creatures with fear?
 
 A: Only if the creature that you want to block with is 
                        itself black or an artifact creature.
 
 ---
 
 Q: If a Glory Seeker with Unholy Strength attacks, and I 
                        block with a creature with protection from black, how 
                        much damage would my creature take?
 
 A: 4. What matters is the color of the creature you're 
                        blocking, not the color of any enchantments on it.
 
 ---
 
 Q: If all slivers have protection from red, can a red 
                        sliver who gives all slivers an ability still be 
                        inherited?
 
 A: Yes, because the sliver hive mind doesn't target.
 
 ---
 
 Q: If all my slivers have "slivers can not be blocked 
                        except by other slivers" and "All slivers have provoke", 
                        Could I attack by provoking non sliver creatures? Or due 
                        to the first part I can't have them block?
 
 -Andrew
 
 A: You can provoke non-slivers, but they won't be able 
                        to block.
 
 ---
 
 Q: I discard a card from my hand to Wild Mongrel when my 
                        opponent attacks to make him white and flashback 
                        Prismatic Strands. My opponent then tries to Dark Banish 
                        my Mongrel. Can I discard another card from my hand to 
                        make the Mongrel black and still have Prismatic Strands 
                        prevent the damage?
 
 - Dyne
 
 A: It depends. Once you've tapped a white creature (the 
                        Mongrel) to flashback Prismatic Strands, it doesn't 
                        matter what color the Mongrel is, because you've already 
                        cast it. But if you've discarded a card, but the ability 
                        hasn't resolved yet, then you need to discard, make him 
                        black, let the Dark Banishing resolve, and then make him 
                        white when your original pump resolves, and then you can 
                        flashback Prismatic Strands.
 
 See you Monday.
 
 -Bill Guerin
 PojoMagicJudge@hotmail.com
 DCI Level 2 Judge
 
   |