Judge Bill



Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Message Board 
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

1.17.03 - Attacking Lands

Q: If I play Life, Nantuko Monastery, Jolrael, Empress of Beasts, etc, can those lands attack, because nowhere printed on the card does it say the land gets haste, or does summoning sickness rule out because your lands have already been out one turn?


A: All permanents have summoning sickness. Only creatures are affected by it. So, if a permanent has been out since the start of your turn, and you make it into a creature, it is able to attack.


Q: Can use Fetch lands to pull Tainted Lands and/or Pain Lands?


A: No, since the tainted lands or pain lands are not the appropriate land type. For example, a Bloodstained Mire could not get a Sulfurous Springs, because Sulfurous Springs is neither a Mountain nor a Swamp.


Q: Does Book Burning deal 6 damage and discard top 6 cards in the library or does the opponent choose?

-Abe B.

A: Each player chooses whether or not to have Book Burning deal 6 damage to him or her, starting with the active player. If no player chooses to have Book Burning deal 6 damage to him or her, then the targeted player puts the top 6 cards of his or her library into his or her graveyard. One Book Burning card will never deal 6 damage and put 6 cards into a graveyard.


Q: I have an incredibly stupid question (or it will sound so to you, at least): if you have no cards in hand at your draw step, do you draw a new hand?

-Karen F.

A: No. You draw one card per turn, no matter your hand size (unless you have a card out that either lets you draw more cards, or takes away your draws).


Q: There seems to be a little confusion about how cycling cards work in my area, so I thought I'd turn to you for clarification.

If a card with cycling is discarded from your hand for any reason, can you pay the cycling cost and draw a card?

A: No. You have to announce the cycling ability, and discard the card to pay for that ability. If you are made to discard the card in any other way, you can not play the cycling ability of that card.


Q: When a card has both a cycling effect (like Renewed Faith) and you have Lightning Rift in play, what order do the effects happen?

A: You put the active player’s triggered effects on the stack first, then the non-active players. If the same player controls two or more triggered effects, he or she chooses the order they go on the stack.


Q: Can your opponent respond to cycling?

A: Yes, since it is an activated ability, it uses the stack, and your opponent can respond to it.


Q: If they do, do you still have the cycling card in your hand when they act?

A: No. You discard the card as part of the cost of the cycling ability.


Q: Can they act in between you cycling a card and activating Lightning Rift?


A: Not in between those points, no. But you don’t pay the mana for Lightning Rift until the Rift’s ability resolves. So if they play Mana Short on you between the time you cycle the card and the time Lightning Rift’s ability resolves, you won’t be able to pay for Lightning Rift’s ability, and you won’t do two damage to the chosen target.

Similarly, if the Rift’s target is made illegal between the time Lightning Rift’s ability goes on the stack and it resolves (for example, giving a targeted creature protection from red), Lightning Rift’s ability will be countered.

Q: When Howling mine is tapped, it stops 'working'. My question is; can I tap the Howling Mine when I wish, or do I need something like the Icy Manipulator to tap it?

A: You need something like Icy Manipulator to tap it.


Q: I've been reading articles about the large tournaments and understand the formats except 1. What is Rochester draft and what is a 'Swiss' round. (These may be familiar terms for English-speaking players, but I'm from the Netherlands).

-Zaphod B.

A: Rochester Draft is a bit too complicated to explain here. You can read the floor rules for a good explanation, but it’s best to just watch one happen.

“Swiss” is a tournament style that allows all of the participants to play all of the rounds of the tournament, no matter their record. This is very similar to what they use in chess tournaments.

You may hear the term “Modified Swiss” used, also. This is a tournament where all of the players play a certain number of rounds, and then a certain number of the top participants (usually 8) go on and play single elimination rounds to determine the winner.


Q: I thought I read in a ruling that changing the creature type of a creature replaces all previous types that creature had. So can a card like Mistform Mask or Imagecrafter change a legend creature to a non legend, and allow two legends with haste to attack the same turn?

A: Yes.


Q: If this does work, can the effect be perpetuated by continually changing the creature type or will the effect dissipate at a point causing one of the legends to be removed?

-the fin

A: When the effect expires at end of turn, the legend that just became a legend again (the one you used Mistform Mask or Imagecrafter on) would be sacrificed, because he is the legend of the same name that has been a legend for the shortest period of time. This is a state-based effect, so you can’t play the Imagecrafter/Mask ability again to save it in time.


Q: Can you sacrifice a creature to, for the sake of example, Cabal Therapy and in response remove it form the game with Astral Slide so the effect still occurs but the creature does not die because the removing of the creture resolves on the stack first?


A: No. It’ll be gone before you can even play the Slide ability, as sacrificing the creature is the (flashback) cost of playing Cabal Therapy.


Q: I have Pariah enchanted on Beloved Chaplain. My opponent attacks with his creatures and I took all the damage. Does my Chaplain die?

A: No. The damage retains all its properties (specifically in this case, that it is damage coming from creatures). So the damage will be prevented.


Q: My friend attacks with Gustclock Runner. I blocked it with a Tireless Tribe. Just before Combat Damage is dealt (After damage went on stack), I discard a card making the tribe 1/5. Now, my friend says he wants to untap his runner. Is this legal?

-Darren N.

A: No. The only time that the Gustcloak creatures can be removed from combat is immediately after they are blocked (when the triggered ability resolves). If you don’t choose to remove them then, then you can’t remove them later.


Q: Hi, it came to question the fact about the cards that include "all" in them and the creatures with protection, example number one, i have a RG centaurs deck that includes several creatures that can't be the target of spell and abilities, but when i cast Overrun "all", they get affected, on the other hand, a friend of mine has an "Engineered Plague" deck, and when his cast them "all" creatures of the chosen type gets -1/-1 and could and should affect then, even with protection from black, am i correct to assume this since it none of this cards have the target clause? Or the fact that there is a type to choose makes them a target?

-Victor T.

A: Mantra #3. “A-L-L” does NOT spell “T-A-R-G-E-T.” So the creatures will be affected by both Engineered Plague and Overrun.


Q: I had a question about Wirewood Savage. I cast an illusion, and it has the ability: "(1) this becomes the creature type of your choice until the end of the turn." Can I use the illusion's ability in response to casting it (naming "BEAST"), thus triggering the Wirewood Savage's ability, and thereby draw a card?

- George

A: No. When the Savage sees the illusion come into play, it sees that it is not a beast, and so the ability won’t ever go on the stack.


Q: White Knight is in my graveyard and I Animate Dead it...how does this resolve? Does the Knight come into play and lose the Animate Dead but has protection from Black so it stays OR does the Knight come into play with Animate Dead and Animate Dead stays with it OR does this not work at all?

A: Animate Dead comes into play. You target the Knight, and the triggered ability resolves, making Animate Dead enchant the White Knight. The protection the Knight has the removes the Animate Dead. This sets up another trigger which will eventually put destroy the Knight without possibility of regeneration.


Q: My opponent has a Megrim in play and taps a Cephalid Broker targeting me...I have a COP's Black in play...can I pay one colorless to prevent ALL 4 damage from the Megrim(because both cards are discard as the same action) OR do I need to pay 2(1 per card). My thinking is that it's one "source" because both cards are being discarded at the exact same time by the same ability.

-Greg the Goblin

A: Megrim will trigger twice, once per card discarded, so you will need to pay 2 colorless mana to take no damage from Megrim. They are separate sources.

See you Monday.

Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge





Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.