Judge Bill



Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Message Board 
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Oath of Triggers - 22 Questions

First of all, a couple of apologies are due.

First, I apologize for there being no column Thursday. I was on MTGO all day Wednesday, playing in their free tournaments, and the second finished up like 7am Thursday. Then I spent all day Thursday on it too, and so, no column Friday.

Second, for (hopefully) one last week, there's no true tournament report.

On to the questions…


Short Answers:

-Cease Fire is not a Counterspell. It will only prevent you from playing creatures after it resolves. It does nothing to creatures that have already been played.

-With a Circle of Protection, you pay 1 to activate it. Then, when it resolves, you choose a permanent to prevent damage from.

-The permanent is chosen on resolution, not on announcement, so you can activate the Circle even if no source of the appropriate color exists. In this case, the Circle will fail to do anything when it resolves.

-If you tap a creature after it blocks, it will still do its combat damage to the creature it is blocking.

-If you have Transcendence out, and you pay life for a spell or ability, this will trigger Transcendence, and you will gain double that life. Paying life causes you to lose life.

-You have to have 4 different permanents, one a creature, one a land, one an enchantment, and one an artifact, to target to be able to cast Decimate.

-A Replenished enchantment can be placed on an untargetable creature. Enchantments only target when they're being played (cast).

-When you discard a card with madness, and the madness trigger resolves, you can play the spell *until you pass next*. If you do not play the spell before you pass priority, it is put into the graveyard.

-So there is no way to sneak a Basking Rootwalla onto the board and have it stay there if you control a Wild Mongrel and your opponent plays Wrath of God.


Long Answers:

Q: This is a 'Just to make sure.' I'm 99.8% sure that I'm right, but with this game, it never hurts to make sure.

Am I correct in assuming that when I have an Oath of Druids in play and in the process of using it mill a Gaea's Blessing, I wait to shuffle my graveyard until after the Oath is done?


A: You are correct. Anything that triggers during the resolution of a spell or ability waits until that spell or ability has finished resolving, then the trigger is put on the stack.


Q: I have an Island Sanctuary and a Symbiotic Deployment out. Symbiotic Deployment says to skip my draw phase. Does that mean I cannot decline a card during my draw phase, because I do not have one, and make it so that only islandwalkers and creatures with flying can attack?

A: Island Sanctuary {1}{W} Enchantment If you would draw a card during your draw step, instead you may skip that draw. If you do, until the beginning of your next turn, only creatures with flying or islandwalk may attack you.

Correct. Since you do not have a draw step, you can't skip a draw in it, so you can't be protected by Island Sanctuary.


Q: I have Teferi's Isle out. My friend says that I cannot use it because it comes into play tapped and has phasing. He says that each time it phases in, it's coming back into play, so it comes in tapped. Does that mean I have to use Twiddle or something else to untap it, or is he wrong?

-Colin K.

A: He's wrong, for 2 reasons. First, phasing occurs during your untap step, _before you untap_. So it will phase in, and then untap. Second, phasing ignores anything that has to do with coming into play abilities (502.15d). So if your Isle phased out untapped, it will phase back in untapped.


Q: When does a card get put into the graveyard? Is this part of the resolution of a spell or does it happen immediately after a spell is put on the stack? The reason I ask is that I want to know if you can play Krosan Reclamation and in response to it being played, flash it back.

-Cory H.

A: 401.3. As the final part of an instant or sorcery spell's resolution, the card is put into its owner's graveyard. As the final part of an artifact, creature, or enchantment spell's resolution, the card becomes a permanent and is put into the in-play zone under the control of the spell's controller. If any spell is countered, the card is put into its owner's graveyard as part of the resolution of the countering spell or ability.


Q: If I play two Tainted AEther's do their abilities stack?

A: Their abilities are cumulative, yes.


Q: So, if my opponent plays Battle Screech, and puts two bird tokens into play, does he sac two lands/creatures or four?


A: Four.


Q: I have a question about Defensive Formation.

A: Defensive Formation {W} Enchantment Instead of the attacking player, you assign the combat damage of creatures attacking you.


Q: Does this mean I can divide attack damage between myself and a creature when my opponent attacks me with a creature?

A: In general, no. You get to assign combat damage, but you can't make a choice that the attacking player couldn't make.


Q: My opponent and I each have one creature in play. His creature has "G: regenerate." He attacks with his creature and pumps it up to 6/6 with a +4/+4 instant, and then I use my creature's ability "T: destroy creature with power four or greater" to kill him before he assigns damage to me but while his power is greater than four.

Is this legal?

A: Yes.


Q: After I kill his creature with my creature's ability, and once he uses his creatures "regenerate" ability, does his 6/6 creature then deal damage to me? I told my opponent this was doubtful but he insisted that he could, after being killed in the middle of combat, regenerate his creature and still deal the combat damage he was set on dealing.

-Andrew Parker

A: Regeneration removes a creature from combat. Since the damage had not been assigned yet, the creature that regenerated won't do damage this turn.


Q: If I attack with a White Knight and my opponent blocks with Grizzly Bear and a Llanowar Elf. Since my White Knight has first strike I can kill the Grizzly Bear first. Then will the White Knight still do damage to the elf?

A: No. Creatures with first strike only deal combat damage once, in the first strike combat damage step. Since the White Knight dealt its 2 damage to the Bear, it's done dealing damage this turn.


Q: I have a Words of Wilding out. I cast Careful Study and activate Words of Wilding ability for two. I still have to discard two cards, right?


A: Correct.



C: In your last column you wrote

>>>Q: Is there anyway for me to deal 6 damage to him?

-bahamut o.

A: Put a regeneration shield on the Pup somehow. Then it will stick around to take the combat damage.<<<

There is a very simple way to deal 6 damage: Just bolt the opponent.

-Thomas Staudt

A: Of course, that is too simple. And he didn't ask it that way, so I didn't bother to think of that. Thanks for an alternate answer.


And so, as we come to the end of 2002 for Judge Bill's Corner, and come near the 1 year anniversary (January 23), I'd like to thank all of you for both reading and giving me the material to be able to write 91 columns. As we go into 2003, may this column and its readers be blessed with a long and fruitful life.

Until next time, may your Double Strike creature have Provoke, so that it can get rid of a creature that ails you.

See you in 2003. Stay safe.

Bill Guerin PojoMagicJudge@hotmail.com DCI Level 2 Judge




Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.