Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Message Board 
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

A Hodgepodge of Questions

A couple of points before we get started:

-Wrath of God will not save a creature with Protection from white. Also, Mutilate will not save a creature with Protection from black. (Remember Mantra #3.)

-Creatures have summoning sickness until they start the turn under your control. If a Faceless Butcher is killed, the creature under it won't be able to attack until its controller's next turn.

Now, on to the other questions…


Q: I really have a problem. My friend and I were arguing about what a spell is. My friend thinks that everything but laying down mana is a spell. So if I play a creature, then he plays a card that says counter target spell does that mean my creature goes to the graveyard? Or am I right by saying that instants, sorceries, artifacts, and enchantments are the only things that are spells.

A: Generally, a spell is a card that you put on the stack. (Spells can also be made from something like Mirari, but we'll try to keep it simple.) Since creature cards go on the stack when they are cast, they are spells.


Q: When you play a Circle of Protection: Black and someone plays a black card that does damage and you tap a mana for blocking it then does that stop all other black attacks used against you including creature attacks and all.

-Andy Rohlik

A: No. A Circle of Protection will only stop one thing for each mana you spend. So you have to pay 1 mana for each thing that you want to prevent.


Q: If I play a Shaman's Trance which resolves normally, then later that turn I play Twilight's Call or Living Death, do I get all the creatures in all graveyards?


A: Shaman's Trance



Until end of turn, other players can't play cards from their graveyards, and you may play cards from other players' graveyards as though they were in your graveyard.

To keep it simple for you, put the word "cast" in for the word "play." They mean basically the same thing here. I know "cast" technically isn't used anymore, but it's the best term to describe what happens with cards like this.

So no. You will only get the cards in your graveyard.


Q: Is this Possible to do: Turn one, play a Mountain, Play Black lotus, Play Entomb, putting Big furry Monster in to the grave, Use Reanimate, Lose 16 life, Play Need for speed, Sac a land to give Big Furry Monster Haste, Attack, win.

Turn one win, suffering a 17 point loss of life, is this possible?


A: I would say no. Entomb and Reanimate both say "creature card" - singular. So you could only get one half of BFM with Entomb, and since Reanimate puts only one card in play, you couldn't put BFM into play, as it is two cards.

However, Unglued rules are whatever the players playing them agree on them to be. So if you and your opponent don't like my ruling, don't use it. As the Unglued rulings say from D'Angelo: "U.1.1 - Unglued was designed to be funny. Keep that in mind. [D'Angelo 1998/09/01]

U.1.2 - It is very unlikely that you'll manage to get the NetReps or Customer Service to agree on some rulings for these cards. So, if there are two or more rulings from official people out there, use the one that you think will be funniest. In Arena, the Arena judge chooses. In friendly play, agree amongst yourselves, or toss a coin. [Barclay 1998/08/13]"


Q: I am playing in a 3 player game. I play Firebolt on my friends 1/1 creature. The creature dies. I tell my other friend it is his turn. After my friend draws a card and looks through his hand for a minute, the friend whose creature I played Firebolt on, plays a Counterspell. Can he do that?


A: No. Spells can only be countered when they are being played. Since Firebolt has already resolved, it can't be countered any more.


Q: The card Hesitation counters a spell and is buried after that. Does it affect the next spell or is it a spell of its controller's choice?


A: It affects the very next spell played.


Q: If I have an Aluren in play can I use Priest of Gix and get the 3 black mana?

A: Aluren



Any player may play creature cards with converted mana cost 3 or less without paying their mana cost any time he or she could play an instant.

You are still playing (casting) the card with Aluren, so you will get the 3 black mana.


Q: If I used Aluren to play Cloud of Faeries do I untap my lands?

A: Yes.


Q: If I also have Furious Assault in play do I get to burn my opponent?

-bahamut o.

A: Yes.



C: On Nov. 11, 2002, you posted the following question:

>>>Q: I have a Mirari in play, and I try to play a Corrupt. In response my friend counters the Corrupt, but I Mirari the Corrupt, so there is another Corrupt on the stack. Does the Corrupt deal damage if no other actions are done?

Your answer:

A: The Mirari'd Corrupt deals the damage, yes. From the Odyssey FAQ:

* The copy will be the same as the original spell, except that you can choose different targets for it if you want to. If the original spell is countered, that has no effect on the copy.<<<

I'm reminded of a play Brian Kibler made at the recent World Championships in round 17 against the future champion, Carlos Romao. He played a Haunting Echoes, forgot to Mirari it, and then Romao countered it (it cost him a spot in the top 8).

The point being, if the person playing the Corrupt did not respond to the triggered ability of the Mirari by copying it as it was played ("Corrupt and I'm Miraring it"), it could be countered. The Mirari's triggered ability occurs before the counter could happen. A Mirari activation cannot be in response to a counter.

-Mark M.

A: Again, I only answer the very specific question that was asked. The counter in response was in response to Mirari triggering. Mirari's trigger had not resolved yet. Therefore, he could still play the Mirari's ability.

If the friend had waited until Mirari's trigger resolved, then no, he couldn't Mirari it later. And you would be correct. But again, I usually answer the questions the way they are written.


C: I think you've made a mistake in your latest column. However, if I'm the one that's mistaken, please let me know.

>>> Q: How do Mana Echoes and Firecat Blitz interact? Specifically, how much mana is produced if I have the Echoes in play and resolve a Blitz for 5?

-Sam Valentine

A: Mana Echoes



Whenever a creature comes into play, you may add {1} to your mana pool for each creature you control that shares a creature type with it.

The triggers from Mana Echoes don't go on the stack until all 5 Cats come into play. Assuming there are no other creatures of type Cat in play, and assuming all the Cats stay in play until all the triggers resolve, you can add anywhere from 0 to 20 mana to your pool, in multiples of 4. (Each trigger resolves separately, and for each trigger, you can add 4 mana to your pool, or you can choose not to. So for all 5 triggers, that gets you anywhere from 0 to 20 mana, in multiples of 4.)<<<

Shouldn't the answer be "From 0 to 25, in multiples of 5"? From the Onslaught FAQ: "The ability of Mana Echoes either gives you no mana or one colorless mana for each creature you control that shares a type with the creature (including itself)....". The "including itself" part being the key to our different interpretations.


A: You are correct. I automatically thought the wording was the same for this card as it is for Coat of Arms, which says "each other creature." However, the word "other" isn't in Mana Echoes, and so Mana Echoes counts the creature that triggered Mana Echoes too. So you are correct.

See you Monday.

Bill Guerin


DCI Level 2 Judge




Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.