Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Message Board 
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

10.24.02 Fastbond/Exploration

Q: Situation:

I have an Exploration in play at the start of my turn.

I draw Fastbond, play it and I lay my first land. I lay my second land and in response to the damage, my opponent disenchants Fastbond.

Can I play a third land for this turn with the Exploration?


A: It depends. How did you lay the second land? When you lay a land, you have to say what effect is allowing you to put it into play, whether it is your once per turn land, or whether it is another effect.

In a tournament, I would rule different ways, depending on the REL, if you didn't say what effect you were using to put the land into play. At REL 1 or 2, I would give you a caution (Procedural Error: Major, penalty downgraded due to REL), and would assume the second land was put into play using the Fastbond. At REL 3, you would get a warning (Procedural Error: Major), and I would decide on a case by case basis what effect I would say put it into play. At REL 4 or 5, you would get a warning (Procedural Error: Major), and I would assume you used the Exploration to put the second land into play.

214.9b … As a player plays a land, he or she announces whether he or she is using the once-per-turn action of playing a land. If not, he or she specifies which effect is allowing the additional land play…

You may play as many lands as you choose on your turn.
Whenever you put a land into play other than the first land of the turn, Fastbond deals 1 damage to you.

You may play an additional land each of your turns.


Q: I had a Longbow Archer out and my opponent uses a Control Magic on it, after it resolves I use an Oblation on the Longbow Archer. What will happen to the archer? Does it go to my library or my opponent's and who will draw the cards?

-Alex Y.

A: Oblation
The owner of target nonland permanent shuffles it into his or her library, then draws two cards.

Since you own the Longbow Archer, it is shuffled into your library, and you draw the two cards. (The Control Magic is then put into your opponent's graveyard because it isn't enchanting anything.)


Q: Is a gold card the color gold or is it all of the colors of mana that are used in it's casting cost?


A: A gold card is each of the colors in its mana cost.


Q: I just have a couple of questions out of curiosity:

-Is it legal to reveal one's hand to an opponent?

A: Yes. (UTR 33)


Q: How about a face-down card?

A: Yes. (Extension of the above rule.)


Q: Where can I find a rulebook for 1v1?

A: http://www.wizards.com/dci/oracle/MagicCompRules_100702.txt.


Q: For multiplayer?


A: Last time. There are no official rules for multiplayer.

A "rulebook" for multiplayer can be found at http://www.wizards.com/magic/generic/official/rulings/multiplayer_rules.doc. This was taken from the Battle Royal box set.

However, these are not the multiplayer rules every group plays by. For example, I've been in groups where table talk (between team members) is not only allowed, but encouraged. So if you're joining an already established group, make sure to ask about their rules. If you are forming rules for your own group, feel free to alter anything in there.


Q: If I have 3 Dream Chisel in play, does that mean my 2/2 creatureless-typeless-little-critters become free to send into play?

A: Dream Chisel
Face-down creature spells you play cost {1} less to play.

Having 3 Dream Chisels in play will allow you to play any card that has morph face down for free, yes. (Of course, you'll still have to pay the Morph cost to turn it face-up.)


Q: Is it possible to get two "Legend" creature types in play that are the same card?

A: No (420.5e).


Q: When I activate 'Imagecrafter"s ability, Can I pick a "Duel type"? Such as "Nightmare-Horror" since it is kind of a single creature type, I guess.


A: No. The rule for creature types was changed a few weeks ago, on the Onslaught FAQ. The Rules Team Rulings for October 2002 has a list of all creature types currently in the game. The list can be found at http://www.wizards.com/dci/judge/resources/102002_RTR.txt, under the section "Rules Changes," #1.


Q: My Cabal Executioner gets chump-blocked by a smaller guy, but I put Vitality Charm on it to add trample. My opponent's only other creature is her Exalted Angel. When that trample damage kicks in, does the Angel have to go? Or can she sacrifice the blocking guy to satisfy the Executioner's ability?

I told her that the chump-blocker is dead when trample damage hits, but she thinks all the damage is still on the stack, so she can sacrifice the blocker.


A: Cabal Executioner
Creature -- Cleric
Whenever Cabal Executioner deals combat damage to a player, that player sacrifices a creature.
Morph {3}{B}{B} (You may play this face down as a 2/2 creature for {3}. Turn it face up any time for its morph cost.)

The blocking creature will be dead before the Executioner's ability even goes on the stack. Thus, it won't be around to sacrifice to the Executioner. So if the Angel is the only other creature your opponent controls, she will have to sacrifice it.


Q: If I have a Treacherous Link, a Soul Link, and a Pariah on one of my creatures and it takes damage, what happens? It seems to me that an infinite loop of life-gain/-loss begins and will not end until one of the enchantments is removed. Help!


A: Treacherous Link and Pariah do not form an infinite loop. Each enchantment will only move the damage once. So if the creature takes the damage, the Link moves it to you, and the Pariah moves it back to the creature. So the creature will be dealt the damage, and you gain that much life.


Q: When my opponent plays Laquatus's Champion, can I prevent the damage he does when he comes into play (lets say with a Circle of Protection: Black for example)?


A: No. Life loss can't be prevented.

(That's a phrase that needs to go back on cards, like it was on Force of Will [what is printed on the card].)



C: In a recent column you wrote:

>(As a side note, I've been told that all Wizards employees have
>Level 1 Judge status given to them as part of their employment. So
>it is very likely that she is a Certified Judge, although just as
>part of working at Wizards.)

As far as I know this is not true. I have worked at Pre-releases and other tournaments where several WotC store employees are trying to get certification. While it is encouraged that they do become certified, it does not automatically happen when they are hired.

-Chris Richter
aka kriz_riktr - Moderator MTGNews.com
Level II Judge

A: Thanks for correcting me. It's good to know that I was misinformed.

See you Monday.

Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge





Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.