Judge Bill


'  

Home

Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Community
Message Board 
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Power Mask

Well, the hint about "the return of an old favorite feature" in my last column was a hint at a tournament report I planned to write, as I was planning on playing at last Friday's FNM. However, as I helped to set up the computer to run the tournament (as I always do), Reporter gave me a read error and shut down. Rather than waste everyone's time waiting 30 minutes for the computer to boot back up, I became the judge and paired round 1 by hand and got them started while I rebooted the computer. So the return of the tournament report will hopefully happen next week, as I plan on playing this Friday. Sorry about that.

---

Q: I play a card face down via Illusionary Mask with one mask counter on it (its converted mana cost is one). Then I use Power Conduit to remove the Mask counter and put a +1/+1 counter on it, making it a Ĺ. Does this mean I can't turn it face-up, or does removing 0 mask counters count as removing all if there are none? If the card had had multiple mask counters and I removed only some of them, could I turn it face-up then? Either way, if I get it face-up, will it keep the +1/+1 counter(s)?

-Leo

A: If there are 0 Mask counters on the creature, removing them all (i.e., all 0 of them) would still let you turn it face up.

The Mask counters are only put on the creature as a reminder of how much was paid for X - reducing the number of Mask counters before it is turned face up will not alter the ability letting you remove all Mask counters to turn it face up. If you are using Power Conduit this way, I would recommend keeping track of how much was paid for X in addition to how many Mask counters were put on, to avoid confusion.

The creature that is turned face up will also keep the +1/+1 counters from the Conduit when it is turned face up. You only remove the Mask counters, not any other counters, even if they were once a Mask counter.

---

Q: I have a Quicksilver Fountain in play, and put a flood counter on a Dromar's Cavern. Is it (Basic Land - Island) or (Land - Island) or (Land - Lair Island), etc...?

A: It is just "Land - Island." When a land's type changes to a basic land type, it loses all rules text and types it used to have, and gains the given type. However, it doesn't add/take away any supertypes (such as "basic."

---

Q: The question behind my question is, if I had all Islands except for the Lairs, could I keep the Floodwaters from receding on my turn by playing the Lair from my hand and returning the hopefully non-Lair Lair-with-a-flood-counter to my hand?

-Alan

A: That would work, yes.

---

Q: In this scenario you have an Atog and an artifact. The artifact has a special ability stating: Sacrifice artifact to do x (i.e. Urza's Bauble, Delif's Cone). If you sac that artifact with Atog, can you gain the benefit of sacing it as well?

-Kameron H.

A: No. You must fully pay the cost to gain the effect. And since both effects require you to sacrifice the card as a cost, you can't fully pay both costs. So you can only get one effect, not both.

---

Q: I Proteus Staff a token of mine and get a Leveler. But because the Leveler comes into play before the cards are put on the bottom of the library in any order, are the revealed cards removed?

-MAX

A: Yes. Leveler has a triggered ability. Triggered abilities wait to go on the stack until someone would receive priority (after the current spell/ability finishes resolving). The cards will be back on the bottom of the library before the triggered ability goes on the stack, which is long before the triggered ability actually resolves and removes the cards.

---

Q: If I imprint Molten Influence on Isochron Scepter, pay 2 and use Isochron's ability, what happens if: my opponent doesn't have Molten Influence? my opponent does have Molten Influence?

-Ernie

A: You are misreading Molten Influence. When Molten Influence resolves, your opponent can choose one of two things:

(a) Take 4 damage from Molten Influence, or

(b) Let the targeted spell be countered.

---

Q: Lightning Greaves' equip ability states play this ability as a sorcery and not play this ability at anytime that you could play a sorcery. So, if I equip Lightning Greaves 50 times from one creature to another, does that count as if I have played 50 spells?

-Juan G.

A: No. Equip is an ability, not a spell.

---

Q: What is the converted casting cost of a storm copy? I know that you can counter a storm copy, as you said in your article, but if you want to use say, Spell Blast, or the ever so popular Chalice of the Void, what would my X need to be?

-James

A: Mana cost (and consequently, converted mana cost) is a copiable value. Therefore, the storm copies will have the same converted mana cost as the original spell, and you will need to pay XU, where X is the converted mana cost of the original spell, to counter a copy with Spell Blast.

You will never be able to counter a storm copy with Chalice of the Void, though, because the storm copy is not played - it is simply put on the stack.

---

Q: Affinity player has random artifacts w/ an Atog on the board, G/W player casts Plow Under targeting a Great Furnace and a Seat of the Synod. The affinity player can sac one of the targeted lands to his Atog and Plow Under would be countered on resolution because one of the two targets arenít legal, correct?

-Iceman

A: Incorrect. A targeted spell is countered only if ALL of its targets are illegal. If not all of the targets are illegal, then the spell still affects the legal targets . So the non-sacrificed land will still be put on top of the affinity player's library.

---

Q: If a card says "any one", like the Unlimited Disenchant, "Any one artifact or enchantment is discarded", target? Or would Mantra #3, "If it doesn't say target, then it doesn't target", come into play?

-Calvin P.

A: Cards are played according to their Oracle wording in tournaments. The Oracle wording of Disenchant uses the word "target," so an Unlimited Disenchant would target the enchantment or artifact it wants to destroy.

---

Q: What is banding?

-Terry F.

A: Banding is described in section 502.10 of the Comprehensive Rules. Basically, banding has 2 aspects to it:

(a) Modifies declaring attackers. You can put any number of creatures with banding and up to one creature without banding into a "band," meaning they attack as a group. If a creature blocks any member of the band, though, the entire group is blocked. (Blocking creatures still block a specific member of the group, not the whole group.)

(b) Modifies how damage is assigned. If one member of an attacking or blocking group has banding, then the controller of the group decides how damage is dealt to that group (not the opponent).

See you Friday.

Bill Guerin

DCI Level 2 Judge

 

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 2001 Pojo.com

   

Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.