Judge Bill



Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Message Board 
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Empty Staff

Q: If you use Proteus Staff's ability with no creatures in the deck what will happen?


A: Proteus Staff



{2}{U}, {T}: Put target creature on the bottom of its owner's library. That creature's controller reveals cards from the top of his or her library until he or she reveals a creature card. The player puts that card into play and the rest on the bottom of his or her library in any order. Play this ability only any time you could play a sorcery.

Eventually, you will hit the bottom card, which is the card the Staff put on the bottom of the library. That creature card will be put into play. So effectively, all you've done is allow that player to order his or her library in any order he or she wishes, and triggered any comes into play abilities of that creature.

(If the creature you target with the Staff is a token, though, all that happens is that player orders his or her library. Tokens aren't cards, so it won't come back.)


Q: If I have a True Believer out and then I play a Leveler, do I still have to remove my library even if I can't be the target of spells or abilities?

-Steven R.

A: Yes. Read Mantra 3.


Q: I play Innocent Blood, my opponent has a Carrion Feeder and Raging Goblin. Can he sacrifice the Raging Goblin to the Carrion Feeder making the Feeder stronger and still satisfying the sacrifice?

-Matt W.

A: No. He has to sacrifice one creature TO THE BLOOD. Also, see Mantra 1.


Q: If I have a Chalice of the Void out with 3 counters on it, and I play 2 spells this turn, then attack. Can my opponent play Wing Shards?

A: Yes. Nothing is preventing him from playing spells.


Q: If so, do I have to sacrifice 2 of my creatures?


A: Yes. Although Chalice does counter the original, it doesn't counter the storm copies, because they weren't played, they were simply put onto the stack. See Mantra 6.

Chalice of the Void



Chalice of the Void comes into play with X charge counters on it.

Whenever a player plays a spell with converted mana cost equal to the number of charge counters on Chalice of the Void, counter that spell.


Q: I have Krark's Thumb in play and cast a Fiery Gambit. I have flipped 4 coins already. Can I flip the fifth coin before deciding whether to stop flipping or do I have to flip the sixth coin before I get the chance to decide?

-Darren N.

A: I don't understand what you are asking exactly. Let me try to answer the best I can.

Each time you choose to continue flipping, you flip 2 coins. Then you ignore one, and use the other for the result of the flip. You can't just flip one of the two coins under the Thumb, see that it isn't what you want, and stop. Once you've decided to go on, you must complete the flip (in this case, flipping twice and ignoring one).


Q: My opponent has six lands in play, and I have four. I remove two from the game using Synod Sanctum (on different turns), giving me two total lands in play. Then you play Balance. How many lands does my opponent have to sacrifice?

-Ben G.

A: Your opponent has to sacrifice 4 lands, leaving him with 2. The two lands under the Sanctum aren't in play, so Balance doesn't see them.


Q: If I counter a spell with storm does it still make copies?


A: Yes. From the Scourge FAQ:

-A copy of a spell can be countered, just like any other spell, but each copy has to be countered individually. Countering a storm spell won't counter the copies of it.


Q: Cunning Wish says you may bring a card into play from outside the game. What does that mean?

-Mike T.

A: From the Judgment FAQ:

-With a Wish, you can retrieve either a card that has been removed from the game or one of your other Magic cards that didn't start the game in your deck. The Wishes work in a slightly different way depending on whether you're playing in a DCI-sanctioned tournament or not.

-Outside DCI-sanctioned play, "a card you own from outside the game" is one of the following things: (a) A card you own that's in the removed-from-the-game zone. It can be in that zone for any reason. (b) Any card in your collection. Go find the card that will help you most in the situation you're in.

-In DCI-sanctioned play, "a card you own from outside the game" is one of the following things: (a) A card you own that's in the removed-from-the-game zone. It can be in that zone for any reason. (b) A card that's in your sideboard. If you get a card from your sideboard, you must put the Wish into your sideboard instead of just removing it from the game. This makes sure that your sideboard has the correct number of cards in it at all times.

In the second paragraph, "in your collection" does not include the cards currently in the library, hand, in play, graveyard, or stack zones.


Q: Will Damping Matrix stop a creature from morphing?

A: No. Morph is a static ability, not an activated ability. (502.26a)


Q: How about a creature that cycles, like Krosan Tusker for example? Will it stop Gigapede and Eternal Dragon from coming back from the graveyard?

-Tam N.

A: No to both. Damping Matrix only stops abilities of creatures. To be a creature, the creature card has to be in the in play zone. In any other zone, it is simply a creature card, and not a creature. Therefore, Damping Matrix won't affect it.


Q: If my opponent controls a Ravenous Baloth with no enchantments, can I use 2 shocks to destroy it?

-James P.

A: Yes. However, he can sacrifice it for life in response to the second Shock.


Continuing a question from my last column ...

>>>Q: I have a Citadel of Pain and my opponent has an Uthden Troll in play. At the end of his turn, if he has 4 untapped mountains, can he tap all 4 to place 4 regeneration shields on the Uthden Troll to avoid taking damage from the Citadel of Pain?

A: Yes.<<<

Q: My opponent has tapped all 4 mountains to "regenerate" his Uthden Troll. I understand that the "regeneration" effect is until the end of the turn. Does the Uthden Troll actually have four separate regeneration shields in place until the end of the turn?

A: Yes.


Q: So if I cast a lightning bolt on the Uthden Troll, will this end ALL regeneration effects or does the troll have 3 remaining shields?


A: The Troll still has 3 shields left. To make it go to the graveyard that turn, you will need to destroy it 5 times, as the first 4 destructions will be replaced by regeneration.

See you Tuesday.

-Bill Guerin

DCI Level 2 Judge

Ask Judge Bill A Question



Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.