Judge Bill



Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Message Board 
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Playing the Helix

First off, to correct my error from the last column:

>>>Q: With Spellweaver Helix, what happens when you imprint 2 cards with the same name and you play one? Would it go infinite, make two copies (Because it shares a name with both), make one copy, or make nothing?

A: It would only make one copy. The copy isn't played, it is just put on the stack. See Mantra 6.<<<

Several of you wrote to tell me to RTFC - the copy IS played. However, the copy is not a card, so the Helix won't trigger, and the base answer is still correct.

(Thanks to Freddy, D. Comings, and Nick L. for pointing this out to me.)

My error came from the change in the copying of a spell created by Spellweaver Helix and Isochron Scepter. The spells created by those two cards ARE played, and you can pay additional costs (i.e. entwine and kicker), and will trigger anything that triggers off of a spell being played.

(Does that help, Dan?)


Q: I have a Ravenous Baloth in play. I cast Wrath of God, pass the priority to see if he counters it, he doesn't. Can I sacrifice my Baloth?

A: No. Both players passed priority, so the top spell on the stack resolves (The Wrath of God, in this case). See Mantra 1.


Q: I have a Fallen Angel and a Zombie Token in play, and cast Dross Harvester. If I sacrifice it to the Fallen Angel, do I gain the two life? What if I cast Wrath of God?

-Fernando G.

A: Yes to both. See 410.10d.


Q: I have a Citadel of Pain and my opponent has an Uthden Troll in play. At the end of his turn, if he has 4 untapped mountains, can he tap all 4 to place 4 regeneration shields on the Uthden Troll to avoid taking damage from

the Citadel of Pain?

A: Yes.


Q: My life total is 3. I cast a spell. My opponent responds by casting a Lightning Bolt on me. His Bolt goes first and my life total is reduced to 0. I am dead immediately. Is my spell on the stack considered countered then?


A: No. If this is a game with two players, or if you are the last two players in a multiplayer game (or you are the Emperor in an Emperor game), then the spell just doesn't resolve, as the game is over. If the game is still going (meaning there is another player still left in the game), then what happens depends on your group's rules.


Q: I have two untapped mountains and it is my pre-combat main phase and I have another mountain in my hand. I play an Ornithopter, my opponent casts Mana Leak and targets the Ornithopter. Could I play the land in my hand so that I could pay 3?


A: No. See Mantra 1.


Q: If I play a Snap with an Isochron Scepter, can I untap 2 lands.


A: Yes. The Scepter copy is an EXACT copy. (Snap doesn't have the "play from hand" errata, if that was what you were hinting at.)


Q: If player A controls a Mindslaver and uses the effect, on the opponent's (Player B's) turn, can player A simply give up the battle?

A: I'm not sure what you are asking here. If you are asking whether Player A could simply make Player B declare an attack with no attackers, yes.

If you are asking if Player A can make Player B concede, no. From the FAQ:

-You can't make the other player concede. A player can choose to concede at any time.

507.3b The controller of another player's turn can't make that player concede. A player may concede the game at any time, even if his or her turn is controlled by another player. See rule 102.7.


Q: If my opponent controls a Decree of Silence with 0 depletion counters on it, and I use a Wipe Clean to destroy it, what would happen?

-James P.

A: The Wipe Clean is countered, and a depletion counter is put on the Decree of Silence.


Tournament Report - FNM - Diamond Bar, CA

Same deck as last week, for the last week it is legal ...

1 Akroma's Vengeance

4 Circular Logic

4 Compulsion

4 Concentrate

2 Decree of Justice

2 Decree of Silence

2 Future Sight

4 Mana Leak

3 Reminisce

3 Stifle

2 Wipe Clean

4 Wrath of God

4 Coastal Tower

11 Island

7 Plains

4 Temple of the False God


4 Sacred Ground

4 Sphere of Law

4 Stabilizer

3 Steamclaw

We only had 20 people show up tonight.

Round 1 - Sugrim - LD

Game 1 - He wins the roll, but doesn't drop a turn 3 land. That opening lets me counter his few LD spells, and take out his Wretch with a Wrath. I get the Compulsion and Decree of Silence, and it's only a matter of time until I make a bunch of Angels and win.

Sideboard: In: 4 Sacred Ground. Out: 2 Wipe Clean, 1 Akroma's Vengeance, 1 Future Sight.

Game 2 - I get the turn 2 Sacred Ground to stop his LD, and he has to Burning Wish for Chain of Acid. I get another, and I just wait on the win again.

Games: 2-0, Matches: 1-0

Round 2 - Miguel - Slide

Game 1 - I get complete control early, and sit on a few counterspells. I say out loud, "Now you need to Wish for Obliterate, right?". And Yet I allow him to resolve a Wish, which gets Obliterate and resets the board. I had land in hand to rebuild, and Reminisce the rest of the land back in. I make Angels, but he is able to get rid of them. By that time, though, he's down to 2 cards left in his library, so he scoops.

Sideboard: In: 4 Stabilizer, 2 Sacred Ground, 1 Steamclaw. Out: 2 Wrath of God, 1 Decree of Justice, 1 Compulsion, 1 Reminisce, 1 Akroma's Vengeance, 1 Future Sight.

Game 2 - I play a turn 2 Stabilizer, and he makes a couple of Angels with his Decree. I draw Wrath on the last turn that will save me. I play the Steamclaw, and forget about his Ray of Distortion. He destroys the Stabilizer with it, I rip another. He plays an Angel face down, and I finally run out of answers.

There are 6 minutes left in the round, so we just call the match a draw.

Games: 3-1, Matches: 1-0-1

Round 3 - Robby - Goblin Burn (mono-red)

Game 1 - He gets me down to 5, with a Firebolt and a couple of Lava Darts in the graveyard. I play a Decree of Silence, and he just sits there for the 4-5 turns that it takes me to draw the Decree of Justice, make the Angels, and win.

Sideboard: In: 4 Sphere of Law, 1 Steamclaw. Out: 2 Wipe Clean, 1 Future Sight, 1 Reminisce, 1 Akroma's Vengeance.

Game 2 - He plays creature after creature, and I am not able to find a second white source before they run me over.

Game 3 - I play Wrath turn 4, Sphere turn 5, and another Sphere a couple of turns later. After that, it's just a matter of time before I draw into the Decree of Justice, and I cycle it for 7 soldiers to kill him faster.

Games: 5-3, Matches: 2-0-1

Round 4 - Eric L. - Mono White? (I didn't write it down ... it wasn't Slide, as I didn't side in the Stabilizers.)

Game 1 - is all about his 2 mulligans and mana screw. 6 soldiers take him out at my first opportunity.

Sideboard: Nothing.

Game 2 - I take a mulligan on a hand of 2 Plains and 5 blue cards. I keep the 6, but he gets down a quick Angel, which goes all the way, as I can't find a Wrath.

Game 3 - I take another mulligan (Island, Temple, and 5 crap cards) into a hand with a Plains and 2 Temples. I miss my turn 5 land drop, but draw a turn 4 Island for a Mana Leak. I hit my 5th land on the 6th turn, and take full control of the match. 5 Angels put him out.

Games: 7-4, Matches: 3-0-1

Round 5 - Jason E. - Mono-Red Goblins

Game 1 - I get the turn 4 Wrath, and he has no pressure beyond that. I get the Decree pair to go up a game.

Sideboard: In: 4 Sacred Ground. Out: 1 each of Akroma's Vengeance, Future Sight, Wipe Clean, and Reminisce. (I left one Wipe Clean in for Sulfuric Vortex.)

Game 2 - I don't draw the 2 White sources for Wrath, and after I am only able to create 3 tokens for 4 attackers, he sacs goblins to put me to 1 and flashes back Lava Dart to go to game 3.

Game 3 - I mulligan a hand of 6 land and a Mana Leak. He has 2 one power creatures and a Sharpshooter. I Wrath after he plays a second, and I play a couple of Spheres. He has a Goblin Burrows, and so he is able to get through for 1 each turn. I think during the late game that I forgot to put in a Sacred Ground for a possible Obliterate, but it doesn't come, as I pair the Decrees to make top 4.

Games: 9-5, Matches: 4-0-1

Miguel also goes 4-0-1, so there is no undefeated person. The 2 12 pointers and Miguel and I work out a split, and we go home.

See you Friday.

Bill Guerin

DCI Level 2 Judge


Ask Judge Bill A Question



Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.