Judge Bill



Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Message Board 
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Control Issues

Short Answers:

-There can be only one permanent with the same name with either the supertype Legendary or the creature subtype Legend at one time. If there is more than one permanent with the same name with the Legendary supertype or Legend creature subtype at any one time, all of them are sacrificed except the one that has been the legendary permanent with that name the longest. (If there is a tie, they all get sacrificed.) This is called the "Legend Rule." (420.5)

-When you "Regenerate" a permanent, you replace "destroy" with "remove all damage, tap, and remove from combat."

-Sacrifice is not a destruction effect. So regeneration can never replace it.


Q: If my creature has been taken by Confiscate, Domineer, and the like, I can Naturalize the enchantment to get my creature back, right?

A: Correct. The effect allowing your opponent to control your creature has gone away, so you get it back.


Q: My opponent puts Custody Battle on a creature, and I gave it away, then he Naturalizes Custody Battle as soon as he gets it. Does he keep the creature?


A: He keeps the creature. The effect allowing him to control the creature formerly enchanted with Custody Battle is not Custody Battle itself, but the triggered ability that occurs each upkeep. Since the control of the card is not part of the card itself, but the triggered ability it generates, if Custody Battle leaves play, it stays with its current controller.


Q: If my opponent sacrifices a creature, does it get brought back with Lifeline, and if so, does it count as being sacrificed?


A: No matter how the creature is put into the graveyard from play, if Lifeline and another creature are in play, it will come back at end of turn. If it is sacrificed, it is considered sacrificed, yes.




Whenever a creature is put into a graveyard from play and another creature is in play, return the first creature from that graveyard to play under its owner's control at end of turn.


Q: Cloudpost

Land - Locus

Cloudpost comes into play tapped.

T: Add 1 to your mana pool for each Locus in play.

Can Mistform creatures become Locus and add on to this card?

A: No. There is no creature with the subtype Locus, therefore, Locus is not a valid choice if you are asked to choose a creature type. (212.1e)

(Locus on Cloudpost is a Land subtype.)


Q: If I attack with a Siege-Gang Commander and a 1/1 Goblin token. If he blocks the token with a Glory Seeker can I pay {1}{R} and sacrifice the token and kill the Glory Seeker or do 2 damage to my opponent.


A: Either or, but not both. Note you can sacrifice the token once damage is on the stack, so if you have a way to do 1 damage to the Glory Seeker by some means other than sacrificing the token using Siege-Gang's ability, you can use it to kill the Glory Seeker. Or if the token was blocked by Mageta the Lion (who is 3/3), you could put damage on the stack, and then sacrifice the token to do 2 more damage to Mageta, destroying it.

See you Monday.

Bill Guerin

DCI Level 2 Judge


Ask Judge Bill A Question



Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.