Judge Bill



Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Message Board 
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Double Strike

Short Answers:

-If you are unsure of a card's wording, you should first check the Oracle to see what its current wording is. The Oracle is available at http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dci/oracle.

-The Mirrodin FAQ has been released. If you are going to a Prerelease tournament this weekend, it would be a good idea to read it so you are familiar with what the cards do when you get in a tough spot. The Mirrodin FAQ is available at http://oracle.wizards.com/scripts/wa.exe?A2=ind0309c&L=dcijudge-l&F=&S=&P=2574.

-Remember, if you have ANY problems or questions at your prerelease this weekend, don't be afraid to call over a judge. That's what we're here for. (This applies for all tournaments, but is a good reminder for prereleases, as a lot of new players play at them.)


Q: If a non-trampling creature with Double Strike and power 2 or greater becomes blocked by a 2/2 creature with no relevant abilities, the Double Strike creature deals at least 2 damage to the 2/2 creature and thus destroys it. Am I correct in assuming that no damage is dealt to the controller of the 2/2 creature?

A: Correct. No creatures are blocking it when regular damage is assigned, therefore, it assigns no damage. (310.2c)


Q: Also, if somehow manages to gain Double Strike after first strike combat damage resolves, the creature only gets to deal damage once this turn, correct?

-Ledian W.

A: Correct. You only check for First and Double Strike right before damage is assigned. Since the creature did not have Double Strike when First Strike damage was assigned, the game will not "go back" and allow it to assign damage anyway. (310.5)


Q: Can 2 monsters (monsters a & b) block 1 opponent's monster (monster c) and add their power together to kill the attacking monster?

A: Yes. If multiple creatures block an attacker, each will deal its power in damage to the attacker.


Q: So, if I attack with a Grizzly Bears and my opponent blocks with both of his Goblin Grapplers, what would happen?

-James P.

A: Assuming no spells are played to change the power and toughness of the creatures, and assuming the controller of the Grizzly Bears assigns damage optimally (one point to each of the Grapplers), all 3 creatures will die.


Q: Can you Stifle Phage, the Untouchable's ability (when it comes into play from someplace other than your hand)?

-Chris R.

A: Yes. The ability starts with "When," and thus is a triggered ability and is a legal target for Stifle.


Q: Thrive



Put a +1/+1 counter on each of X target creatures.

If you play this with X=10, can you put ten counters on one creature, or do you have to put ten counters on ten creatures?


A: Whenever a spell asks for multiple targets, the same target can't be chosen more than once (409.1c). So if you play Thrive with X=10, you have to choose 10 separate creatures, each of which (assuming they are all still legal targets when Thrive resolves) will get one +1/+1 counter.


Q: I play Jinxed Idol, every turn it deals me 2 damage. I pay the cost of its ability, sacrificing a creature, and the card says "Target opponent gains control of Jinxed Idol permanently." Does that mean target opponent cannot destroy Jinxed Idol? Or does it act as if it was the target opponent's permanent. Meaning any player can destroy it? Normally cards would say target player card's control, however the word "permanently" make me suspicious of its meaning.


A: As I noted in the short answer above, if you are unsure of a card's wording, you should first check the Oracle to see what its current wording is. The current wording for Jinxed Idol is:

Jinxed Idol



At the beginning of your upkeep, Jinxed Idol deals 2 damage to you.

Sacrifice a creature: Target opponent gains control of Jinxed Idol. (This effect doesn't end at end of turn.)

Since your opponent now has control of Jinxed Idol, she can play its abilities. Therefore, she can sacrifice a creature to give Jinxed Idol back to you.


Q: Fanning the Flames



Buyback {3} (If you pay an additional {3} as you play this spell, put it into your hand instead of your graveyard as part of the spell's resolution.)

Fanning the Flames deals X damage to target creature or player.

My question is.. it has buyback not flashback... and most flashback cards say "After flashback, then remove this card from the game entirely." But buyback cards do not say that. So does that mean if I pay an additional 3 mana every time I cast the spell I can put it back into my hand as many times as I want?


A: Correct.


If you're in the San Diego area, I'll see you at the prerelease on Saturday. Otherwise, I'll be back Monday. See you then.

Bill Guerin

DCI Level 2 Judge


Ask Judge Bill A Question



Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.