Judge Bill



Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Message Board 
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Redirected Furnace

Short Answers:

3 of them, for THE LAST TIME:

-There exists a space between the time blockers are declared and combat damage is on the stack. Both players get the chance to play something at this time.

-Attackers and blockers only need to be untapped WHEN THEY ARE DECLARED ATTACKERS AND BLOCKERS. The game doesn't care if they become tapped or untapped after this time.

-Once a creature has been declared an attacker or blocker, TAPPING OR UNTAPPING IT DOES NOT REMOVE IT FROM COMBAT.


Q: If my opponent has Furnace of Rath out, and uses Flamewave Invoker, and it gets doubled to 10, then if I use Glarecaster to redirect the damage, would that then be doubled, because a new creature is dealing the previously doubled 10?

-Carlos G.

A: No. Furnace of Rath can only double the damage once. Since the Glarecaster redirects the damage, it is never dealt to you - it is only dealt to your opponent (419.5). It is then doubled to 10, which is how much is dealt to your opponent.


Q: I am wondering about the card Glacial Chasm it says

Cumulative Upkeep: 2 life

When Chasm comes into play, sacrifice a land.

You cannot attack.

All damage dealt to you is reduced to 0.

Do I get 2 life every turn, and do I have to sacrifice a land each time to get that 2 life?

-Mr. Stupid

A: First, let's look at the Oracle wording:

Glacial Chasm


Cumulative upkeep -- Pay 2 life

If Glacial Chasm would come into play, sacrifice a land instead. If you do, put Glacial Chasm into play. If you don't, put it into its owner's graveyard.

Skip your combat phase.

Prevent all damage that would be dealt to you.

This should almost answer your questions right there.

Cumulative Upkeep means "At the beginning of your upkeep, put an Age counter on ~this~, then sacrifice ~this~ unless you pay the cumulative upkeep cost for each Age counter on ~this~."

So the first upkeep after you bring this out, you will have to pay 2 life to keep it around. The second upkeep, you will have to pay 4 life, the third 6, and so on.

As to your other question, it should be pretty clear that you only sacrifice a land once - when the Chasm would first come into play.


Q: If I use Floating Shield on Ironfist Crusher, and give it protection from black, Can it block all non-flying black creature, and not have any damage done to it?

A: Yes. Protection only prevents a blocker being declared to an attacker with the prevention. If the blocker has protection, it will still block.


Q: Also, can I use multiple Floating Shields along with a "Serra's Embrace" (before I use floating shield, protection from white) to block all creatures attacking me?

A: All non-white creatures. If you play a Floating Shield on the Crusher, naming white, the Embrace will fall off.


Q: If I play out Rorix Bladewing (Dragon legend), is it only dragons I play out after, or any dragons at all played out that go straight to the graveyard?


A: It is all cards named "Rorix Bladewing" that are played by either player after the first that are put into their owners' graveyards. The Legend rule looks at the name of the card.


Q: Say it is my opponents 3rd turn in OLS booster draft, he casts a morph and I have only lands on the table, since the morphs cost is 0 can I Dispersal Shield it?


A: Yes.

See you Monday.

Bill Guerin

DCI Level 2 Judge


Ask Judge Bill A Question



Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.