'  

Home

Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Community
Message Board 
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Q: A question occurred to me about the legend rule and Twilight's Call. According to the Legend rule, there cannot be more than 1 of the same legend out in play. So, say I have two Braids, Cabal Minion (a legend) in my grave and a player plays Twilight's Call. What happens next?

A: The rules can answer that one:

420.5e If two or more Legends or legendary permanents with the same name are in play, all except the one that has been a Legend or legendary permanent with that name the longest are put into their owners' graveyards. This is called 'the Legend rule.' In the event of a tie, each Legend or legendary permanent with the same name is put into its owner's graveyard. (If two permanents have the same name but only one is a Legend or is legendary, this rule doesn't apply.)

So they would both go back to the graveyard, as they have been out the exact same amount of time.

---

Q: If I have Braids, Cabal Minion and Imaginary Pet out, can I satisfy Braids' ability by getting rid of the Pet or will the Pet not be there?

-JM

A: Imaginary Pet
{1}{U}
Creature -- Illusion
4/4
At the beginning of your upkeep, if you have a card in hand, return Imaginary Pet to its owner's hand.

So both Braids' ability and Imaginary Pet's ability are triggered abilities, controlled by you. Thus, you can put them on the stack however you wish. If you want to be able to sac the Pet, put the Pet's ability on the stack first, then Braids'. Braids' ability will resolve first, and you sac the Pet. Then the Pet's ability will resolve, but, since it is no longer in play, it won't return to your hand.

---

Q: I have a question about legends and legendary cards. This question arose after reading the section you just did on legends. The last line in one of your answers said, "If two permanents have the same name but only one is a legend or legendary, this rule doesn't apply." I was thinking how you could get a permanent with the same name without the same summon and two of my favorite cards popped into my head, Vesuvan Doppelganger and Clone. When you Clone or Vesuvan a legend does that use the rule stated above, so nether of them are discarded or is there really a use for that rule?

A: Clone
{3}{U}
Creature -- Clone
0/0
As Clone comes into play, you may choose a creature in play. If you do, Clone comes into play as a copy of that creature.

Vesuvan Doppelganger
{3}{U}{U}
Creature -- Doppelganger
0/0
As Vesuvan Doppelganger comes into play, you may choose a creature in play. If you do, Vesuvan Doppelganger comes into play as a copy of that creature except for its color and gains "At the beginning of your upkeep, you may have this creature become a copy of target creature except for its color. If you do, this creature gains this ability."

503.2. When copying a permanent, the copy acquires the printed values of the name, mana cost, color, type and subtype, expansion symbol, rules text, power, and toughness of the permanent being copied. Also, if the copied permanent was printed as legendary or as an enchant world, this is copied as well. Effects (including type-changing effects) and counters are not copied. (The exception is that copy effects are themselves copied; see rule 503.3.)

503.3. The copied information becomes the printed values for the copy, replacing its originally printed values. Cards that copy the copy will use the new printed values.

So if you copied a Lin Sivvi with Clone, for example, the Clone copy would be buried, as it acquires the name "Lin Sivvi, Defiant Hero" as part of the copy effect.

The only real effect that the sentence you quoted would have would be with something like Unnatural Selection:

Unnatural Selection
{1}{U}
Enchantment
{1}: Choose a creature type other than Wall. Target creature's type becomes that type until end of turn.

Say your opponent has a Lin Sivvi out. You play the Unnatural Selection effect to change her Lin Sivvi into a penguin until end of turn. Then you play your own Lin Sivvi. Since your Lin Sivvi is a legend and your opponent's isn't, they will both stay on the board until end of turn.

(In the cleanup step, her Lin Sivvi will become a Legend again, and, since your Lin Sivvi has been a Legend the longest, her Lin Sivvi will be put into the graveyard due to the Legend rule.)

---

Q: I've got 2 questions about Simulacrum. Can you target your creatures that an opponent as taking control of via Control Magic, Treachery, Bribery etc.? It doesn't say creature you control it just says one of you creatures, I assume meaning one you own.

A: On your set of questions, I would suggest you get the Oracle. You are quoting straight from the card, which has outdated wording. The Oracle has the wording of the cards as they would be worded under today's rules. The Oracle can be found at http://www.wizards.com/dci/main.asp?x=oracle.

For example, here is Simulacrum's wording, which should answer this question all by itself:

Simulacrum
{1}{B}
Instant
You gain life equal to the damage dealt to you this turn. Simulacrum deals to target creature you control damage equal to the damage dealt to you this turn.

---

Q: Another question, can you use Simulacrum or Reverse Damage on creatures with protection from black or white, respectively?

A: The answer is very different depending on the card and the part of the effect you are taking about. You can't target your creature for the Simulacrum, as protection doesn't allow the creature to be targeted. The creature(s) dealing you damage, however, will have their damage prevented, since they are not targeted.

Reverse Damage
{1}{W}{W}
Instant
The next time a source of your choice would deal damage to you this turn, prevent that damage. You gain life equal to the damage prevented this way.

Here, we see that Reverse Damage doesn't target the creature you are preventing the damage from. So you can prevent damage from a creature with protection from white just fine.

---

Q: My friend and I were arguing over a card that keeps contradicting itself, Remove Enchantments from Legends.

A: I've snipped the rest of this question, because again, I believe the Oracle text sorts it all out for you

Remove Enchantments
{W}
Instant
Return all enchantments you own and control to your hand. Destroy all other enchantments enchanting permanents you control and/or enchanting attacking creatures.

---

Q: I was wondering if paying life for cards, Martyrs Tomb for example, is considered losing life or damage?

-Dusty

A: Paying life is considered a loss of life. It is not damage, so things like Worship, Solitary Confinement, or Ali from Cairo would not affect it.

---

Q: I have a question regarding creatures with an ability that has "tapping" as an activation cost (Razorfin Hunter for example). Let's say I'm playing against my friend's red-blue deck and he plays a Hunter. Then on my turn can he tap it to deal 1 damage to one of my creatures? He says that since it's been in play under his control since the beginning of the turn it is no longer affected by summoning sickness, but I think he has to wait. Who's
right?

A: You are correct. You can easily gauge if a creature has summoning sickness by answering the following question: Was this creature in play under my control the last time I untapped? If yes, the creature does not have summoning sickness.

---

Q: My friend and I are playing a game. I attack with a bunch of creatures with trample from Centaur Chieftain and flying from Wonder. He has 2 Trap Runners out and he uses them to block 2 of my guys when I attack. Would the creatures deal trample damage, or does the damage all get absorbed by the "blockers" created by the trap runners?

-DKRaiblu

A: This is easily answered by the Mercadian Masques FAQ:

A creature with "blocked" by Trap Runner's ability is treated as though it had been blocked by a 0/0 creature. If the "blocked" creature has trample, therefore, the attacking player can assign all the trample damage to the defending player.

---

Q: Suppose I discard a Fiery Temper and remove it from the game using Madness. Then in response to the Madness trigger going on the stack, I play Cunning Wish, to bring the Fiery Temper back into my hand. When the Madness trigger resolves, would I still get to play the Temper for it's Madness cost?

-Bernard Ng

A: No. The Fiery Temper has changed zones; therefore, the madness trigger will no longer be able to find it to play it.

---

Q: My opponent had a Blastoderm in his graveyard, and I had a Chainer, Dementia Master. I used Chainer's ability to get Blastoderm back under my control, but my opponent said that I couldn't target it because Blastoderm had "can't be target of spells and abilities." Is he correct?

-Aaron W.

A: No. Creature abilities only work when the creature is in play, unless the card says otherwise.

402.8. Abilities function only while the permanent with the ability is in play unless the ability states otherwise or unless the ability can only work, trigger, or be played in a zone other than the in-play zone.

---

Q: How exactly does Meddling Mage work?

Meddling Mage
{W}{U}
Creature - Wizard
2/2
As Meddling Mage comes into play, name a nonland card.
The named card can't be played.

So when Meddling Mage comes out, you name a card. As long as that Meddling Mage is out, that card can't be played (cast).

So, for example, say you play a Meddling Mage, and you name Dead Ringers. Dead Ringers can no longer be played.

---

Q: When a card refers to "Basic land card(s)," what do they mean?

A: They mean cards with the name Mountain, Forest, Island, Plains, or Swamp. (Or the Snow-Covered lands of the same type.)

---

Q: I have out 4 mountains, tap 2 to pay for Tribal Flames, targeting the opponent. Will Tribal Flames do 4 or 1 damage to him?

-Dustin

A: Tribal Flames
{1}{R}
Sorcery
Tribal Flames deals X damage to target creature or player, where X is the number of basic land types among lands you control.

Since you control one basic land type (Mountain), Tribal Flames will deal 1 damage to your opponent.

---

Q: If I have a Grindstone out and I activate it, what happens if two lands are flipped together (would it repeat) and what would happen with two artifacts?

A: Grindstone
{1}
Artifact
{3}, {T}: Put the top two cards of target player's library into that player's graveyard. If both cards share a color, repeat this process.

Both artifacts and lands have no color, thus, they don't share a color. So Grindstone's effect will stop.

---

Q: If my opponent has The Abyss out and I have a Morphling (my only creature), during my upkeep can I make the Morphling untargetable so that I don't have to sacrifice it?

-Eva

A: The Abyss
{3}{B}
Enchant World
At the beginning of each player's upkeep, destroy target nonartifact creature that player controls of his or her choice. It can't be regenerated.

This card has changed several times. Under the current wording, yes, you can make Morphling untargetable and cause The Abyss's ability to be countered on resolution.

---

Q: I've seen a lot written about the Worldgorger Dragon/Animate Dead/ Stroke of Genius combo. However, I don have one question. When does the Stroke have time to resolve if you keep the combo going? How do you stop the combo so that you can get to play the Stroke?

-Kenny D.

A: The combo has two triggered effects, both as a result of the Dragon coming into or leaving play. You can name a number of times you want the loop to go on, and then say you have something to play in response to either one of the triggered abilities. That is when you play the Stroke.

---

Correction:

Six of you wrote in to comment on the following boneheaded answer:

>>>Q: If a Kamahl, Pit Fighter has the Regenerate on it, and your opponent shocks Kamahl and you regenerate it. Then you are tapped out and your opponent has a Jeska, Warrior Adept. They tap it to deal 1 damage to Kamahl, Pit Fighter. Then I tap it to deal 3 damage to Jeska. Will Kamahl die, Jeska die or will they both die?

A: They both die.<<<

And all six of you correctly commented that, after Kamahl used his regeneration shield, he would be tapped; thus, he would not be able to use his ability to kill Jeska, as he is already tapped when she comes into play. So only Kamahl would die.

-Bill Guerin
PojoMagicJudge@hotmail.com
DCI Level 2 Judge

 

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 2001 Pojo.com

   

Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.