Judge Bill



Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Message Board 
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Illusionary Triggers

Q: I have an Illusionary Mask in play, and play a Volrath's Shapeshifter face down with the Mask. If the top card of my library is a creature with a morph trigger, say Nantuko Vigilante, will I be able to destroy an artifact or enchantment?


A: Yes. It also doesn't matter which ability you use to turn the Shapeshifting Vigilante face up. Turning it up via either the Mask or the Shapeshifting Vigilante's ability will both trigger its ability.


Q: If I gain control of my opponent's Parallel Thoughts, can I draw cards from his pile?

A: Parallel Thoughts



When Parallel Thoughts comes into play, search your library for seven cards, remove them from the game in a face-down pile, and shuffle that pile. Then shuffle your library.

If you would draw a card, you may instead put the top card of the pile you removed into your hand.

Note in the second ability, it says "... the pile _you removed_...." Since you did not remove those cards, you can't get them. (Thanks to Are^ of #mtgjudge on EFNet for pointing this out to me.)


Q: Also, if I bounce my opponent's Parallel Thoughts to his hand, and then he plays it again, does he get to draw from his original pile or the new one only?


A: Only the new one. When the Thoughts gets bounced, it loses track of the first pile.


Q: Can Nefashu give a single creature -5/-5?

-Nick D.

A: No. You can't choose the same target more than once. So one Nefashu can only give a specific creature -1/-1 when he attacks.


Q: I have an Unnatural Selection and a face-down creature in play. My opponent has a face-down creature in play. If I make my face-down creature a Legend, then make my opponent's face-down creature a Legend, does my opponent's creature go to the graveyard?

A: No. They don't have the same name, so both will stay in play. You can't match what you don't have.


Q: I have an Imagecrafter, and a face Raven Guild Initiate in play. As a combat trick, can I put damage on the stack, make my face-down creature a Bird, then return this same card to my hand to pay for the Raven Guild Initiate's Morph cost?


A: Yes. It doesn't matter that the Initiate will no longer be there when it comes time to resolve the morph ability. All you need to do to announce the ability is to pay costs and choose targets. You show the morph costs, then pay it by returning it (which is currently a bird) back to your hand.


Q: When creatures are played from the hand, are they counted as spells and can they be countered?

-Josef S.

A: Yes.


Q: Blastoderm cannot be the target of spells or abilities. Therefore, is he uncounterable?


A: No. His ability only works in play. If he was supposed to be uncounterable, they would have written, "Blastoderm can't be countered" on the card.


Q: If an opponent gets to search my deck for cards for some reason, how much time are they allowed to take for this action?


A: From the tournament rules, section 24,

"A reasonable time limit will be allowed for all shuffling and deck-searching that occurs during a game. In general, most simple searches should be allowed thirty seconds, but more complicated searches may be allowed more time at the judge’s discretion."

If the opponent was instructed to remove one card, it _might_ be a simple search. Anything more than one card though (for example, Supreme Inquisitor or Haunting Echoes) would not be a simple search in my opinion. For Supreme Inquisitor, for example, a search time of 2 minutes would not be excessive in my opinion. And for a Haunting Echoes with a graveyard of 7+ unique non-basic land cards, I would probably allow a bit longer.

(On a side note, do you want to know one of the quickest ways to get a penalty while I'm judging? Calling me over, saying, "My opponent did [insert bad thing here], so he should get [insert penalty]." Pointing out that your opponent did [insert bad thing here] is fine. It's when you start telling me that I have to/should give a specific penalty that it crosses the line. While I'm judging, that will garner you at least a warning for Unsporting Conduct from me.)

See you Monday.

Bill Guerin

DCI Level 2 Judge

Ask Judge Bill A Question



Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.