Judge Bill



Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Message Board 
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Bearer of Banding

Short Answers:

-Both players must pass in succession on an empty stack for the game to move to the next phase or step. (300.2)

-If 2 different abilities ask you to discard a card, you can't activate both abilities with only one discard. So, to answer the specific question, if you are required to discard to two Chains of Mephistopheles, you can't also make a token with Zombie Infestation.

-Regeneration does not cause creature to leave (and return to) play. It stays in play the entire time. So if you regenerate a Phage, none of its abilities trigger.


Q: If my Shield Bearer (has Banding) blocks a Fungal Shambler, can I choose to assign all of the Shambler's damage to the Bearer so my opponent doesn't draw and I don't discard?

-Ledian Warrior

A: Yes. Banding allows you to assign damage from the Shambler instead of your opponent assigning damage in this situation. So you can assign all 6 to the Bearer, and the Shambler won't trigger.


Q: An opponent attacks me with Drinker of Sorrow and a Symbiotic Beast. I block the Drinker of Sorrow with an Ardent Militia with an Improvised Armor on it, and I block the Symbiotic Beast with Valor. The question is, if he sacrifices the Symbiotic Beast for the Drinker of Sorrow's ability, does it still do the 4 points of damage to Valor?

-Art C.

A: Yes. You don't have to sacrifice a permanent for the Drinker until after its combat damage is dealt (and its triggered ability resolves). So the Symbiotic Beast will do its damage.


Q: If you use Astral Slide out a creature with tokens on it (like Kurgadon etc.), does it come back into play with tokens or no tokens?

A: The creature comes back in, basically like you just played it the first time. So Kurgadon wouldn't have any tokens.


Q: For Spurnmage Advocate, the only cost for its ability is to tap it right?

A: Cost, yes.


Q: You can still destroy a creature with its ability even if there aren't 2 cards in the opponent's graveyard right?

-Diewitt D.

A: Wrong. To play an ability, you have to pay costs AND DECLARE TARGETS. Spurnmage's ability has 3 targets - the creature you want to destroy and 2 cards in the graveyard. If you are unable to declare all 3 targets (for example, if your opponent doesn't have 2 cards in his or her graveyard), then you can't play Spurnmage's ability.


Tournament Report - FNM - Diamond Bar, CA

In my quest to play as many of the decks in the metagame as I can before the grinders, so I have a handle on them, so I can pick the best deck for the grinder, I'm playing MBC this week.

3 Chainer's Edict

4 Corrupt

3 Diabolic Tutor

4 Duress

1 Haunting Echoes

1 Innocent Blood

1 Mind Sludge

4 Mutilate

1 Riptide Replicator

3 Skeletal Scrying

4 Smother

4 Undead Gladiator

2 Visara the Dreadful

23 Swamp

3 Cabal Coffers


2 Cabal Therapy

1 Chainer's Edict

2 Engineered Plague

4 Nantuko Shade

2 Persecute

1 Visara the Dreadful

2 Swamp (see first round for why ...)

24 players, so 5 rounds before the cut to top 4...

Round 1 - Harrison - U/G/w madness

Game 1 - I mulligan once. I only see blue and white from him this game. He gets the Rootwalla/Dog/Wurm draw, but I Mutilate, drop Visara, and keep his side of the board clear until I can Corrupt him out.

Sideboard - I go digging in my sideboard, and put aside 4 Nantuko Shade, 2 Engineered Plague, 1 Chainer's Edict, and 1 Visara to go in. I count the remaining cards in my sideboard, and since there are 5 left, I have to take 10 cards out, right? So I set aside 4 Undead Gladiator, 3 Skeletal Scrying, 1 Diabolic Tutor, and 2 other cards. I then count the pile of cards to sideboard in ... only 8? I put them back in the sideboard, and count 13. =\ I inform Harrison he's just won the second game, but he tells me to just put a couple basic lands in instead and play it.

Game 2 - I Duress him turn 1, and all he has is a Roar =\. He gets the perfect draw again, and I stall on 3 Swamp and a Coffers for a turn. That's enough, along with him holding 3 cards in hand to avoid the Mutilate. I Mutilate, and the Dog hits the graveyard. He plays a random creature, and I scoop, since I was planning on Blooding the next turn, and don't have another creature.

Game 3 - I get a turn 2 Shade, and remove all his creatures as he plays them. He has 3 Bursts, but I leave 2 mana open each time so I can replay it. He eventually runs out of Bursts and dies.

Games: 2-1, Matches: 1-0.

Round 2 - Robert - Elves!

Game 1 - I mulligan a hand of 4 Swamp, Duress, 2x Smother into a hand of 4x Swamp, Innocent Blood, and Diabolic Tutor. He's stuck on 2 land, and I Mutilate the team when he plays 2 Llanowar Elves. I Sludge him, followed by an Edict to clear his board, and then Echoes him. I take out most of his creatures, and Corrupt him out.

Sideboard: In: 2 Engineered Plague, 1 Chainer's Edict, 1 Visara. Out: 4 Undead Gladiator.

Game 2 - I mulligan a 4 Swamp, Coffers, Edict, Smother hand into a 5 Swamp, Mind Sludge into a 4 Swamp, Edict hand. My draws are, Mutilate, Mutilate, Swamp, Visara, Scrying, Swamp, Echoes, so I turn out ok. He plays turn 2 Steely Resolve. I Mutilate his team once, and he gets a Caller, but not enough mana to cast it the same turn. I get a Visara, and he is intent to gain life. I play a Tutor to get the Replicator, and choose to make 4/4 green elves for some reason. Not good when your opponent has 2 Wellwishers and a Hivemaster out. (I just saw the Resolve, and though Elves might be good for some reason. Derf, I guess.) He gets up to 58 with the Wellwishers, and then taps down to 2 mana to play a Chandelier. I ask him, "How many mana do you have available (knowing full well the answer). He says, "Lots," pointing to the Chandelier. I tell him the Chandelier is sick and ask again. He answers correctly this time, "2." I Mutilate, safe from the Caller, then I Sludge and Echoes him again. My 4/4 Bill Guerin elves go all the way. (I have about 20 Bill Guerin hockey cards I use as tokens.)

Games: 4-1, Matches: 2-0

Round 3 - Sugrim - Land Destruction

Well, I knew it would come down to this. Unfortunately, I probably have more chance of winning the lottery than I do of winning this match.

Game 1 - He wins the roll, and is able to keep my mana down. He then plays a Magnivore, I Edict it the next turn, and he plays one 2 turns later.

Sideboard - In: 4 Nantuko Shade, 2 Cabal Therapy, 2 Persecute, 1 Visara, 1 Haunting Echoes. Out: 4 Mutilate, 4 Smother, 1 Corrupt, 1 Skeletal Scrying.

As I am sideboarding, I turn to Marshall, who is behind us, and ask, "What's a better matchup for LD than Wake (what Marshall's playing)?" He answers, "MBC and Astral Slide." I then tell him I'm playing MBC.)

Game 2 - I play, and am able to keep my mana for most of the match, with a couple early Duresses. I play the Replicator (for 2/2 black Phelddagrifs. He drops a Braids, I Corrupt it. He drops a Magnivore, I block, and then take. I Edict it, and he drops another Magnivore. Somewhere in there, I Echoesed him twice, for his LD and Edicts, but it didn't help.

Games: 4-3, Matches: 2-1

After the match, Sugrim graciously gives me a deck list and goes through it, so I can have it for the grinders.

Round 4 - Sean C. - W/R Slide

Game 1 - I win my first die roll, but have to ship back a hand of Coffers, 3xDuress, Smother, Scrying, and Visara into a hand of 2xSwamp, Duress, Corrupt, Mutilate, and Smother. I only draw a Coffers for mana in the next 4 turns, and after I Duress him a second time, leaving only 1 black open, he correctly drops the morphed Angel and Slides it immediately, avoiding my Smother. I get a Visara out, but try to hold the Corrupt for too long, and he Blessings the Angel, and Rifts twice while I am at 8.

Sideboard: In: 4 Nantuko Shade, 2 Cabal Therapy, 2 Persecute, Visara. Out: 4 Mutilate, 4 Smother, Riptide Replicator.

Game 2 - He gets three Rifts by the end of the game, and they all avoid my Duresses. I get Visara out, and have 2 Gladiators in the grave, which I don't recur for too long. I finally tap a Coffers for 6, and bring back a Gladiator, and am about to cycle it when I realize he has 2 Rifts out at the time and that wouldn't be the best play. So I get the other Gladiator out, and burn for 2. I am 1 turn off from killing him, when he drops the third Rift and kills me.

Games: 4-5, Matches: 2-2.

Let's see, how can I finish my night off? Oh yeah, I can play the other ...

Round 5 - Alex V. - Land Destruction

This is the first time he's played this.

Game 1 - I get mana screwed, and he gets 2 Magnivores. I probably could go into a little more depth on this, but MBC's chance to win a match against LD is something like 0.002%. I concede the match after we play the first game.

Games: 4-7, Matches: 2-3

See you Thursday.

Bill Guerin

DCI Level 2 Judge

Ask Judge Bill A Question



Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.