Judge Bill



Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Message Board 
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

In a Bind

Well, sorry for the delay on my article that went up yesterday. It was posted on my page, the editors just forgot to put it on the front page. Anyway, on to today's questions ...


Q: I know that cycling itself is not counterable...

A: Actually, Cycling is a normal activated ability. Thus, it can be countered with cards like Bind or Interdict.


Q: What about the 'When you cycle THIS, you may ...' abilities, like Solar Blast or Choking Tethers? Those abilities stack, so can they be countered ? Or be a target of 'Bind'?

-Boris P.

A: These abilities are triggered abilities. There are currently no spells or abilities that let you counter triggered abilities. (Such a spell or ability would probably read something like "Counter target triggered ability.")


Q: I've never really been to a formal tournament, so before I consider going, I have two questions that involve any changes in informal vs. tournament play: First, How would you deal with an illegal action, say using Giant Growth on a Blastoderm, then realizing shortly later that he couldn't be targeted by such a spell?

A: Depends on when it is realized. If you realize it before anything significant happens, you back up. If not, the Blastoderm has been Giant Growthed. The player playing Giant Growth will receive a penalty for a Procedural Error, which may include losing the game (if it was a crucial enough error).


Q: Can accidently mixing up which steps of your turn are first penalize you of having to skip involuntary actions? I know on your untap phase all your permanents untap, but if one were to forget this until a later point in the turn, could they remember and untap their creatures after they've untapped their lands and used the mana?


A: I'll answer this question assuming it was accidentally forgotten. You can't "forget" to untap, so you untap all at one time. You will also receive a penalty for this too, for a Procedural Error (usually a caution in this case).


Q: My opponent activates Pernicious Deed and in response, I Interdict. Can he then, in response to Interdict, activate the deed again, since Interdict hasn't resolved yet, or is he unable to since Interdict says he can't?

A: The cost to activate Pernicious Deed includes sacrificing the Deed, so it's not around to be able to play the ability again. However, if a similar card read "{X}: Sacrifice ~this~. Destroy each artifact, enchantment, and creature with converted mana cost X or less," you could activate it again, because the limitation on replaying the ability has been removed.




Counter target activated ability of a permanent. #(Mana abilities can't be countered.)#

Draw a card.


Q: I have a similar question regarding regeneration. Say someone Fatal Blows my Spiritmonger. Can I, in response, place a regeneration shield on it, which then resolves and removes the damage on the Spiritmonger, countering the Fatal Blow on resolution?

-David K.

A: No. You only regenerate when a creature receives lethal damage. So the Spiritmonger won't regenerate, no matter how many shields you place on it, until it has actually taken lethal damage. So the Fatal Blow will make the Spiritmonger leave the board.


Q: One of my creatures has been removed by Faceless Butcher. If I play Upheaval does the removed creature come back into play, or does it return to my hand?


A: To play.


Q: Do token creatures that are put into play count as coming into play? For example, does Beast Attack trigger the ability of Wirewood Savage?

-Tam N.

A: Yes to both questions.


Q: Double Strike creatures deal their damage twice if they're unblocked. What happens if they kill the creature that blocked them in the First Strike step? Do they then deal the second part of their damage to the opponent, or does it fizzle?

A: Unless the creature has trample, it won't assign any damage in the normal damage dealing step. (Unless it has trample.)

310.1c A blocked creature will assign combat damage, divided as its controller chooses, to the creatures blocking it. If no creatures are currently blocking it (if, for example, they were destroyed or removed from combat), it will assign no combat damage.


Q: If I Slide a creature with Amplify, do I replay the Amplify ability when it returns to play?

-David R.

A: Yes.


Q: Could I cast Dance of Many, have its effect that creates a token go on the stack, then in response remove Dance of Many (Disenchant, Boomerang, etc.) in order to create a token that was not reliant on a Dance of Many being in play?


A: Yes, you can do this.


Q: My opponent has an Contested Cliffs in play. He activates the ability of the Contested Cliffs targeting his Phantom Nishoba and a 5/5 creature on my side. Will my opponent gain life because of the Phantom Nishoba’s ability? And would I gain life if I have an Spirit Link on my creature?


A: Yes to both questions.


Q: If my opponent plays Opalescence, what creature type do the enchantments become? Or do they not have a creature type?

A: They have no type, since Opalescence doesn't give them a type.


Q: If Opalescence doesn't give the enchantments a creature type, can I not use Extinction on them?


A: Correct. Since the enchantments have no creature type, you can't destroy them with Extinction.



>>>Q: If my opponent casts Roar of the Wurm, when it is put into his graveyard, can I use my Tormod's Crypt to remove it, or since the active player has priority, does he get to flash it back before I can announce using the Crypt?

A: The latter. <<<

Q: In this case, the Roar goes on the stack and the card is put into the graveyard. Before the Roar resolves, the opposing player can play abilities such as activating his crypt.

A: You have an incorrect perception of what happens here. A spell isn't placed into a graveyard until it has finished resolving.


Q: The second Roar cannot be played before it is removed since it is a sorcery. Or am I missing something?

-Jeff H.

A: Since the Roar doesn't go into the graveyard until it resolves, after the Roar has finished resolving, the active player receives priority to play spells and abilities. Since Roar is a sorcery, it is most likely the Roar player's turn, and so he can play the Roar from the grave before the opponent has a chance to remove it with Tormod's Crypt.

See you Friday.

Bill Guerin

Ask Judge Bill A Question

DCI Level 2 Judge




Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.