Judge Bill



Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Message Board 
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

The Slide Cycle

Short Answer:

-Once a permanent's ability has been placed on the stack, doing anything to that permanent will not affect the ability. Abilities on the stack exist independently of the permanents that generated them.


Q: First of all, if I have 2 Astral Slides out, and I cycle 1 card, can I remove 2 creatures until end of turn? Basically, do multiple Slides stack?


A: Yes, and yes.


Q: If I cycle Slice and Dice, and elect to have it do 1 damage to all creatures, can I stack the Astral Slide effect so that I remove my 1-toughness creature before the Slice and Dice damage resolves?

A: Yes. You'll want to stack the Slide effect on top of the damage from the Slice and Dice to accomplish this.


Q: Also, when does the card draw for the cycling happen in this sequence - i.e., would I be able to use that card, if it is an instant or cycler, at any point during the resolution of these effects?

-Boris P.

A: The card draw is always on the bottom of the stack. So you won't get the card until the other abilities resolve.


Q: My Friend had a Wild Mongrel, and a Spirit Cairn on the table, with a Plains free. I had an Engineered Plague naming Spirit(to destroy any tokens). I then cast Chainer's Edict, obviously hell have to sac the Mongrel. He then discards a card, taps the plains, and puts into play a token. I state that the token automatically dies as soon as it is put into play, but he says he can use it as the Sacrifice to Chainer’s Edict. Who’s right?


A: You are. The Spirit will die immediately, long before the resolution of the Edict.



From last Thursday's (17 April) column:

>>>Q: If I play an Animate land on one of my opponents swamps turning it in to a 3/3 creature, then Eradicate it do they remove all swamps from play, there decks and in their hands from play?

-Chris G.

A: Yes. <<<

Correction: No/Yes/Yes. Eradicate doesn't affect multiples in play. Also, the player casting the Eradicate does the searching.


See you Monday.

-Bill Guerin

Ask Judge Bill A Question Here

DCI Level 2 Judge




Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.