Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Message Board 
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Vesuvan Doppelganger - A Jack Of All Trades

Q: I have a question about the interactions between Vesuvan Doppelganger and its interaction with legendary creatures. The oracle text to Vesuvan Doppelganger reads:

As Vesuvan Doppelganger comes into play, you may choose a creature in play. If you do, Vesuvan Doppelganger comes into play as a copy of that creature except for its color and gains "At the beginning of your upkeep, you may have this creature become a copy of target creature except for its color. If you do, this creature gains this ability."

If Vesuvan Doppelganger copies a Legend when it comes into play, does the Vesuvan count as the same creature and henceforth die?

A: Yes. Vesuvan Doppelganger copies all the characteristics of the card it is copying, including name and creature type (503.2). Therefore, Vesuvan Doppelganger will be put into the graveyard, since it has the same name as another legend, and it has been a legend by that name less time than the other creature it was copying

Vesuvan Doppelganger - A Jack of All Trades


I'd like to start off a set of examples here, since some of my other readers may be confused by these questions.

Let's say there is a Reya Dawnbringer in play.

Reya Dawnbringer
Creature -- Angel Legend
At the beginning of your upkeep, you may return target creature card from your graveyard to play.

You cast Vesuvan Doppelganger, and choose to copy the Reya. The Vesuvan-Reya will then be put into the graveyard due to the Legend rule, since the Vesuvan-Reya has the name "Reya Dawnbringer" and is a legend, and has been "Reya Dawnbringer" less time than the other Reya Dawnbringer.


Q: If a second Vesuvan Doppelganger comes into play and copies a Legend, would the first Vesuvan cause the second one to die, even if it does not copy the same Legend?

A: No. The first Vesuvan will have a completely separate name.

Continuing the examples, let's say there are two creatures out on the board - Reya Dawnbringer, and Serra Angel.

Serra Angel
Creature -- Angel
Attacking doesn't cause Serra Angel to tap.

You cast the first Vesuvan Doppelganger, and have it copy the Serra Angel. Then you cast the second Vesuvan Doppelganger, and have it copy Reya Dawnbringer. Only the second Vesuvan Doppelganger will be put into the graveyard, as it has the name "Reya Dawnbringer," while the first Vesuvan Doppelganger has the name "Serra Angel."


Q: If a Vesuvan Doppelganger already in play changes forms and copies a Legend, does the Vesuvan still live since the Vesuvan doesn't come into play forcing it to check for if there is another Legend with the same name in play?

Thank you for your time,

A: The Vesuvan Doppelganger will be put into the graveyard due to the legend rule, as it will be the legend with the same name that has been a legend a shorter time than the other legend.

Final example: Serra Angel and Reya Dawnbringer in play. Vesuvan Doppelganger is cast and copies the Serra Angel. Later, Vesuvan Doppelganger changes forms and copies the Reya Dawnbringer.

The game now sees that there are two cards named "Reya Dawnbringer" in play. The game asks, "Which of you has been Reya Dawnbringer the longest?" The original card Reya Dawnbringer claims that status, and the game then sends all other cards named "Reya Dawnbringer" to the graveyard, which means the Vesuvan-Reya is sent to the graveyard.


Q: I have been told that when one card in Magic says that you CAN do something and another card says that you CANNOT do something that the CANNOT wins out. So my question is: Why is it that Rolling Stones can allow my Sunweb to attack, when "Walls cannot attack?" Shouldn't the wall's creature type have to be changed in order for it to attack?

-Andrew Cole

A: The "Walls can't attack" text on cards is what we call reminder text, meaning it reminds us of a game rule. It reminds us that one of the characteristics of walls is that they can't attack.

Rolling Stones is a good example of the Magic Golden Rule: Whenever a card's text directly contradicts the rules, the card takes precedence. The card overrides only the rule that applies to that specific situation (103.1).

So this is how your Sunweb can attack with a Rolling Stones out.


Q: My opponent has a Manabarbs out in play. He also has a Circle of Protection: Red in play. If he taps say 6 lands for mana then taps 1 other land for use the COP: Red does that prevent all the damage dealt by the 6 other lands?

I say no because each damage dealt by the Manabarbs is a separate 1 damage and COP: Red only prevents the next damage from a source. He says COP: Red will prevent all of it because all the damage is coming from Manabarbs. So who's right?


A: You are correct.


Q: I was recently in a tournament at a local store, and I had a Necra Sanctuary out, a Quirion Elves w/Armadillo Cloak, and a Spiritmonger out.

I was told that the Armadillo Cloak could only be counted as either green or white, and not both, and that I could count the Spiritmonger as green. Now I was reading Inquest or something, and it said if you had Necra Sanctuary and Sterling Grove out at the same time, it would deal the 3 damage.

So which one is it? Would you need 2 Permanents, 1 you can count for each color, or can you have a gold spell that is White and Green?

-Carl Stroup

A: You can have one permanent that is both white and green satisfy the requirement for the "target player loses 3 life" part of Necra Sanctuary. (Jeff Jordan, Netrep reply 629, 8 July 2001)


Q: I would just like to have a clarification about Fact or Fiction. Why is it such a great card if the opponent can choose to give you only 1 card when he sorts the piles into 4 and 1 piles? I hear the 5-0 pile is legal too. Please enlighten me. It would be really a great help.


A: Fact or Fiction
Reveal the top five cards of your library. An opponent separates those cards into two face-up piles. Put one pile into your hand and the other into your graveyard.

The opponent of the person who cast Fact or Fiction splits the cards, and the person who cast Fact or Fiction chooses which pile to take.


Q: I was recently looking through the list of all the rules (I was really bored), and I came across a rule:

Rule 502.9d: Ignore this rule.

I figured that was in the rulebook because they had an old rule there and they couldn't remove it altogether, because then the numbering would be screwed up....

Anyway, my question is: what did Rule 502.9d say before they deleted it from the rules?

-Paul Reisinger

A: OLD RULE ALERT - this is an old rule. None of you reading this should take this as any more than a history lesson, as the situation that the rule was covering has been fixed.

OLD 502.9d - An attacking creature with trample ignores any blocking creatures that can't have damage assigned to them.

That rule was there to cover Gaseous Form type effects. Gaseous Form (and effects like it) used to read something like "This creature can't have combat damage assigned to it. It also can't assign combat damage." Now Gaseous Form reads, "Prevent all combat damage that would be dealt to and dealt by enchanted creature."

Since they fixed the situation, they no longer required the rule. Thus, the rule was taken out, and you correctly presume that they put "ignore this rule" in the rulebook because it would screw up the numbering.

Again, this has been a discussion of OLD RULES. I don't want any of you quoting any part of this discussion in any of your present day games as rule.

We now return to our present day rules…



In my last column, I wrote,

>>> A: When Mutilate resolves, it gives each creature that is currently in play -1/-1 until end of turn, and then is put in the graveyard.<<<

Chad Chavez wrote in and reminded me that a Mutilate for -1/-1 wouldn't be enough to kill the Reborn Hero, which is 2/2. I should have written…

A: When Mutilate resolves, it gives each creature that is currently in play -1/-1 _for each swamp Mutilate's caster controls_ until end of turn, and then is put in the graveyard.

-Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge




Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.