Judge Bill



Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Message Board 
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Flaming Bunnies

Short Answers:

-Double Strike creatures do their damage twice. So if you don't block, it will do its damage to you twice.

-Medallions reduce the total play cost of a spell.

-If you don't cast Phage, you will lose when she comes into play. There is no way around this.


Long Answers:

Q: If I cast Goblin Pyromancer, and change 'Goblin' to 'Rabbit' with the Evolution, obviously all Rabbits get +3/+0 then die at end of turn. But if I let the Goblin come into play, can I get my +3/+0 for my Goblins and then use the Evolution to kill all Rabbits and save my Goblins?

-Andy S.

A: Yes.


Q: If multiple Archers (such as Heavy Ballista or D'Avenant Archer) shoot at a single phantom, does the phantom lose one counter, or one for each archer hit?

A: Phantoms lose one counter each time they would take damage, and the damage is prevented.


Q: For example, if I declare that I'm attacking with a Phantom Tiger, can an opponent ping it with a Heavy Ballista, wait until that ability has resolved, then ping it with a Daru Stinger (for example) to take off a second counter and thus kill it?

A: Yes.


Q: On a similar theme, is it possible to block with a creature that has an archer ability, then use its ability? For example, could I block a creature with a Heavy Ballista, then tap the Ballista to deal it (or something else in the combat) an additional 2 damage?

A: Yes, and yes.


Q: Is it possible to interrupt a sacrifice ability and thus prevent it from happening? I'm sure you can't but a friend of mine insists that he can, in particular by trying to burn off my Ravenous Baloths after combat damage has been dealt, so that I can't sac. them for life.

A: No. Once the card has been sacrificed, it is no longer there, and it can't be targeted.


Q: What is the difference between 'playing' and 'putting into play'?

A: Play = either cast, in the cast of a spell; playing an ability; or, in the case of playing a land, using your special action during your main phase that allows you to play a land.

Many cards instruct you to "put (this card) into play." This is not playing that card, and things that trigger off playing a spell won't trigger off this.


Q: On a related note, do creatures that are put into play, for example by Cryptic Gateway or Zombify, trigger comes into play abilities that they or other creatures in play possess?

-David R.

A: As long as they trigger off a creature coming into play, and not a creature being played, then yes.


Q: Can I sac an wizard to the Voidmage Prodigy to counter an spell and then tap the Riptide Laboratory to save the wizard?

-Markus B.

A: No. Once you sacrifice it, it is no longer in play, and can't be targeted.


Q: If I play an Animate land on one of my opponents swamps turning it in to a 3/3 creature, then Eradicate it do they remove all swamps from play, there decks and in their hands from play?

-Chris G.

A: Yes.

See you Monday.

-Bill Guerin

Ask Judge Bill A Question

DCI Level 2 Judge




Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.