Judge Bill



Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Message Board 
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Creature Lands

Q: I have a question about lands that become creatures. For example, I have a Kamahl, Fist of Krosa in play and I use his ability. My land then becomes a 1/1 creature that's STILL a land. What does that signify? Does that mean that when my land-creature is dealt 1 damage, it is destroyed and goes to the graveyard? Or does it just stop being a creature? Are there things that I can do with normal creatures that I can't do with land-creatures and vice-versa?

A: Right now, this is an easy one to answer. For example, if you make an Island a creature, it would be a "Creature Land" (Note these are both types, so the Creature Land won't have a creature type), and it would have a power and toughness of 1. So if it is dealt 1 damage, it is destroyed and put into the graveyard.


Q: My friend and I were playing one time. I had a Diligent Farmhand out, and my opponent played a Faceless Butcher, targeting my Diligent Farmhand to be removed from the game. I respond by using Diligent Farmhand's ability to go get a land. So when the stack resolves, the Faceless Butcher can't remove the Diligent Farmhand from play since it is already in the graveyard. What happens to the Faceless Butcher?

A: It stays in play, and its ability is countered.


Q: I have a face-down Krosan Cloudscraper. I play a Wormfang Drake and remove it from the game. Later on, my Wormfang Drake is destroyed, and the Cloudscraper returns into play. My friend says that when it comes back into the game, it turns face up. Is that true?

A: Yes. If a face down creature moves to any zone other than the stack or in play zones, it is turned face up.


Q: Last question: If the Cloudscraper was enchanted with a Regeneration, and the Wormfang Drake removes it from the game, does the enchantment get removed from the game along with the Cloudscraper and is still attached to it, or does it go to the graveyard?


A: Unless the card says otherwise, it only removes the creature, and not any enchantments on it. So when the Drake removes the Cloudscraper, Regeneration will be put into its owner's graveyard (since it is no longer enchanting a creature).


Q: I have Natural Emergence out. My friend activates Mageta the Lion's ability. What happens to the lands?


A: They are destroyed, since they are creatures.


Q: When exactly are the lands destroyed with Desolation Angel?

-bahamut o.

A: When Desolation Angel comes into play, its triggered ability (to destroy lands) is put on the stack. When that resolves, the appropriate lands are destroyed.


Q: Player1 has a Thrashing Wumpus, and is at three life; and Player2 is at four life. Player1 wants to tap his four swamps and activate the Wumpus's ability for four points of damage. What will happen and why?

a) Both players will die and the game will be a draw.

b) Player1 will die first and Player2 will win.

c) It all depends on how Player1 says he is playing the Wumpus' ability. He can draw the game if he puts all four points of damage on the stack without letting them resolve.

d) Player1 is not allowed to do four points of damage as the third point will kill the Wumpus.

A: B is the closest choice to correct. You can't activate the Wumpus for 4 points of damage - you activate it 4 times, for one point of damage each. So when the third ability resolves, it will kill Palyer1 (since he is at 0 life), and Player2 will win (since he is at 1 life).


Q: Player1 casts Battle Screech and his opponent Player2 controls a Crypt creeper. Does Player2 have a window of opportunity to remove Battle Screech before Player1 has the chance to flashback it?

A: No. Spell cards (for instants and sorceries) are put into the graveyard as the final part of the spell's resolution, and then the active player receives priority. Since that's Player1, he can flashback the Battle Screech before Player2 has the chance to target it.


Q: Player 1 starts his first turn by playing a Swamp and playing Duress targeting his opponent, player 2. player 2 responds by removing a blue card in her hand from the game to play Misdirection targeting the Duress. Is this a legal play?

-Shawn T.

A: Is this a legal play? Yes, since Duress is a spell with a single target. Can you then Misdirect the Duress back to Player1? No, Since Player1 is not an opponent of Player1, he is not a legal target for Duress. So unless you are in a game with more than 2 players, when Misdirection resolves, it will fail to do anything. (It won't be countered, since its target (Duress) is still legal.)


Q: I control both Web of Inertia and Planar Void. Can an opponent play an instant or sorcery at the beginning of his combat phase; and then remove it to allow him to attack, prior to it being removed from the game by the Planar Void?

-Bret M.

A: No. Web of Inertia and Planar Void both have triggered abilities, which use the stack. Since you will never get to the resolution of Web of Inertia's ability with any cards in your opponent's graveyard, he will be unable to remove a card, and thus, he can't attack.


Q: If I cycle a Gempalm Polluter, does the card go into the graveyard before I draw? If so, can I use an Unholy Grotto to put it back on top of my deck and then draw it again from the initial cycle?


A: Yes to both questions.


Q: Hello, I have been wondering about the effect of Infest. It gives all creatures -2/-2 until the end of turn. If I use this to kill my opponent's Rotlung Reanimator, will it also kill the zombies that Rotlung produces?

-Ben W.

A: No. Infest will only give -2/-2 to the creatures that are out when Infest resolves. Since the tokens aren't created until much later, they won't be affected.


Q: Can madness be countered?

A: Madness itself can't be countered, but the spell you play using the madness ability can.


Q: After playing an instant using madness will the card go to its owner's graveyard or out of the game?

A: It, like any other normal spell, will be put into its owner's graveyard.


Q: what happens if somebody attacks me with 2 Taunting Elves at the same time. Who should I block?

-Miguel L.

A: For each creature, since it must block 2 attackers, you can choose which elf to block.


Q: I've got another question about Beacon of Destiny: If I redirect damage to it, will that damage still be the same color so I can protect my Beacon with things like Mother of Runes?


A: Yes. Redirected damage retains all of its properties (including color).


Q: My opponent attacked with a few slivers at a time. All the slivers had provoke, and due to Ward Sliver, had protection from white. He provoked one of my morph creatures, which in response, I unmorphed, showing him a white creature. What happens in this case, since theoretically I was not allowed to block?


A: Here's the definition of Provoke:

502.29a Provoke is a triggered ability. "Provoke" means "Whenever this creature attacks, you may choose to have target creature defending player controls block this creature this combat if able. If you do, untap that creature."

Since the white creature isn't able to block the sliver, it doesn't have to block it, and can block another creature (that it can legally block, of course).


Q: If I Astral Slide out a creature that is enchanted by (example) Exoskeletal Armor, will the creature still keep the enchantment when it returns to play?

-Logan W.

A: No. Only the creature is removed, so the enchantment is then put into its owner's graveyard.


Q: One of my friends, at end of turn of the player before him, tapped Callous Oppressor to take control of another (not the active players) Dominating Licid. then during his own turn, he activated Dominating Licid, taking control of a Wellwisher (not as stupid as it sound, 3 of 7 were mono green elf decks on this day). Now the person who owned the Licid, said that once the controlling player tapped and took control of the Elf, that the Licid was an enchantment (which we will all agree that it is) and he now gained control of both it and the Wellwisher. The other player says that this should fall under the tap and hold ruling and that since there is no check on the Oppressor card that he retains control... what happens?

-Scott B.

A: The Oppressor only cares that the Licid is a creature when its ability resolves. After that, it doesn't matter if it is a creature or not. So, the Callous Oppressor player will have control of the Wellwisher (and the Licid, of course).


Q: Question about Astral Slide and Nantuko Monastery ... If I would Slide the Monastery when it's a creature, would it be able to come back into play? Since Slide says return creature, but wouldn't the game see that the card is no longer a creature and not return it to play?

-Peter L.

A: Once again, it only cares that it is a creature when it removes it. It will come back at end of turn.

See you Monday.

Bill Guerin

Ask Judge Bill A Question 

DCI Level 2 Judge




Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.