Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Message Board 
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews



Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Q: Pretty stupid question but do you need to bury Ball of Lightning the turn it comes into play or as the card says (except for The Dark Version) can you bury the card at the end of any turn?


A: You have to bury Ball Lightning once you reach an end phase. If you manage to get it into play during an end step (ie Sneak Attack), he'll stay around until the next turn. But once you reach an end phase, it gets sacrificed.

Q: Goblin War Drums states that to block one of my attacking creatures, my opponent needs to use two or more of his/her own creatures to do so. Familiar Ground says that only one opponent creature may block one of my attacking creatures. Both are enchantments, and I'm wondering if i play both, are my creatures unblockable, or does the first or second one completely nullify the other? Thanks for the help.


A: Your opponents end up not being able to declare any creatures as blockers, as they can't block a creature with both more than one and only one creature at the same time. When two or more effects govern how you can attack or block, you have to follow both of them as well as you can. (This type of thing originally happened with Juggernaut and Invisibility back in the day.)

Q: First off, I want to say this is my new favorite section on pojo and the handiest thing around, and thank you for answering all my questions.(These are my 3rd and 4th.)

Ok, if I have a spiritmonger with an armadillo cloak on it, and I attack, and my opponent plays humble on it, is it a 0/1 with no abilities or a 0/1 with armadillo cloak enchanting it to make it a 2/3 with trample and the gain life ability?

A: Glad to be able to help!

Humble would make the Spiritmonger 0/1 with no abilities until end of turn. (Hint: put a few regeneration shields on Spiritmonger before Humble resolves, so he'll stay alive until the end of the turn.)

Q: Also, can enchant creatures can't be played on creatures that can't be the target of spells or abilities, right?


A: Enchant Creature cards can't be cast on creatures that can't be the target of spells or abilities; however, if you Replenish an Enchant Creature card out or find some other way to put an Enchant Creature card into play without casting it, you can put it on an untargetable creature.

Keep those questions coming!!

Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 judge




Copyright 2001 Pojo.com


Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.