Pojo's Magic The Gathering news, tips, strategies and more!

Pojo's MTG
MTG Home
Message Board
News & Archives
Deck Garage
BMoor Dolf BeJoSe

Paul's Perspective
Jeff Zandi
DeQuan Watson
Jordon Kronick
Aburame Shino
Rare Hunter
Tim Stoltzfus
Judge Bill's Corner

Trading Card

Card of the Day
Guide for Newbies
Decks to Beat
Featured Articles
Peasant Magic
Fan Tips
Tourney Reports

Color Chart
Book Reviews
Online Play
MTG Links

This Space
For Rent

Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Card of the Day

Daily Since November 2001!

Diregraf Captain
Image from Wizards.com

Diregraf Captain
Dark Ascension

Reviewed February 29, 2012

Constructed: 4.17
Casual: 4.17
Limited: 4.00
Multiplayer: 3.50

Ratings are based on a 1 to 5 scale
1 being the worst.  3 ... average.  
5 is the highest rating

Click here to see all of our 
Card of the Day Reviews 

David Fanany

Player since 1995

Diregraf Captain

This card would be powerful even if it just had the first two lines of rules text, and indeed there are decks out there that will gladly play it just for those two lines. Once you start looking into ways to exploit that third line, it gets even better - zombies, ironically, are good at dying in Magic, and killing someone with a Carrion Feeder enchanted with Pacifism is nothing short of hilarious. (Not to mention how the captain adds the line "You lose 4 life" to Day of Judgment.) Just goes to show the benefits of reading all the way to the end (yes, even the flavor text). 
Constructed: 4/5
Casual: 4/5
Limited: 4/5
Multiplayer: 3/5
Michael "Maikeruu" Pierno

Today's card of the day is Diregraf Captain which is a three mana Blue and Black 2/2 with Deathtouch that gives other zombies you control +1/+1 and whenever another zombie you control dies target opponent loses one life.  Zombies have no shortage of choices for the lord role, but this one requires two colors of mana and benefits the sacrifice theme more than a typical swarm build.  The Deathtouch is a fairly minor attribute as you won't often want to put a lord in harm's way, so the value of this card overall is really situational.  In the right build it can be fairly dangerous which may have it see some play in place of or alongside some of the other Standard zombie lords.
For Limited the number of zombies in a pool will often be small and two colors out of three mana is somewhat restrictive.  The Deathtouch is probably the most useful aspect of the card in this format as it can keep an opponent from attacking with major threats.  In Sealed if you are already running both colors or have a supply of zombies finding room for this should be a strong consideration.  In Booster unless you happen to be drafting into both colors it is relatively safe to pass, but might be a big help to someone else at the table if they are drawing enough zombies.
Constructed: 3.5
Casual: 3.5
Limited: 3.0
Multiplayer: 3.5


       Welcome to the Pojo.com card of the day. Today we are looking at the Diregraf Captain from Dark Ascension. Diregraf Captain is an uncommon creature zombie soldier that costs one generic, one blue, and one black mana for a 2/2. Diregraf Captain says that other zombies you control get +1/+1 and whenever another zombie you control dies, target opponent loses one life. Diregraf Captain also has Deathtouch.

      I love the cycle of Captains that Dark Ascension produced, but none were more broken than the Diregraf Captain. Sure the cannot transform is great from Immerwolf, and first striking vamps are nice, and sure Shroud seems great, but when it comes to straight out comboing a player to death, none compare to the Diregraf Captain.

      First, let’s look at this is simple terms, he beefs up zombies, and should they die it is almost as good as getting through, so cards that produce tokens are sure to be in good use for this guy. And since he himself has Deathtouch, he is good for a nice take down himself if need should arise.

      In the broad spectrum though, I have seen the truest potential of the Diregraf Captain. He combos with some other zombie based cards from this block to produce an almost guranteed win. My good friend Erik Wright and I are responsible for combining ideas to form this combo, and Erik unleashes this combo regularly, and now I will share it with those of you who may not know it yet. So the combo requires at least one Diregraf Captain, Rooftop Storm, Gravecrawler, and any creature that requires a sacrifice, for this example, we will use Grimgrin. So, how does it work? You sacrifice the Gravecrawler to Grimgrin, target player loses a life from the Captain, and since you can cast Gravecrawler from your graveyard as long as you control a zombie, his casting cost would be zero. Lather, rinse, repeat. Of course there are ways of interrupting the combo, and pray you can, or the Diregraf Captain will add another to his grisly crew…
Limited: 5/5
Casual: 5/5
Constructed: 5/5
Multiplayer: 4/5

Copyrightę 1998-2012 pojo.com
This site is not sponsored, endorsed, or otherwise affiliated with any of the companies or products featured on this site. This is not an Official Site.